We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Authentic and tasty!”

Rheinblick German Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 105 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Webster, NY
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Authentic and tasty!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We tried Rheinblick for the first time last week and we were pleasantly surprised. It's a cute little restaurant and the food was very good. I am not a German food expert but I liked that I ordered. We were very pleased with their dessert too. And, we got very courteous service. Hope to return again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinahawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    115
    38
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best German restaurant we have ever been to”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love this restaurant so much we had our rehearsal dinner here -- and the staff went above and beyond to make that a wonderful experience!

We stop at Rheinblick every time we are in the area. In fact on our most recent trip we stayed an extra day in Canandaigua just so we would have plenty of time to eat here.

I truly cannot say enough about this wonderful restaurant!

Be sure to make reservations, though. It's not a terribly large restaurant, and you never know if they will be filled to capacity.

Try the... everything. I've never had a meal here that was less than excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Rheinblick is unique and very popular. Try the beirgarten on warm day. So many authentic dishes and beverages to choose from, you will want to return and find your personal favorite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaidCanandaiguaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing else like it in the Rochester area”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have been here 5 times in the past year and every meal was absolutely spot on. On one visit brought my sister-in-law who lived in Germany for almost 10 years and she gave it the stamp of authenticity. She said it reminded her of the meals she got when living there.
A few recommendations. The potato pancake appetizer is amazing (kartopelpuffer) - crispy and a little oily and served with homemade apple sauce. Incredible french onion soup made with rye bread instead of croutons. The saurbratan, schweinbratan, rouladen, and goulash are all excellent. As are the homemade spatzle and a wonderful red cabbage.
We have yet to try the schnitzel's but have seen them at bordering tables and they look great.
I don't know where you get good German food in this area, let alone food this authentic. I do not consider this pricey given the quality of food and service and the portion sizes (you will likely bring home a box for tomorrow's lunch).
Highly recommended if you like this cuisine or want to try something different from chicken french or garbage plates (our claim to fame??).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tkfromroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lots of good food and the servers are very helpful in making a choice when you aren't sure what you woul dlike.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rheinblick German Restaurant also viewed

 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rheinblick German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing