We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miami Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2009

This was a great way to start our vacation. We stayed here as a halfway point to Montreal from Ohio. The room looked freshly decorated and was very clean and quiet.. You can sit at the table and chairs outside each room.
The owners are friendly and provided breakfast with great coffee. In addition to fruit and biscotti, there were mini muffins, bagels and cream cheese.
The tropical theme is fun, including the retro neon Miami motel sign.
After check-in we explored the town, and none of the other accomodations looked as nice as Miami Motel.
I would like to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

When we needed to be in the Finger Lakes region for a model rocket meet during the first week of July, I was having a very difficult time booking any hotel because of the July 4th long weekend. As it turned out, I was able to book at this hotel for our whole stay. I was made aware of the outside stature of the place (renovations haven't been completed yet) but was assured by speaking to the proprietor (Valerie) and doing a bit more research, that the renovated interior was more than sufficient.
When we arrived, we were immediately greeted by our very warm and smilely hostess, Valerie. She walked us to our suite, showed us where everything was, made sure we knew that she was available to help out with whatever we needed and left us to get settled in.
The suite was fantastic. A full kitchen, small dining area, two of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in, two closests, a full bathroom, beautiful bed linens and towels and all exceptionally clean. Just outside our door was our very own little patio, complete with 4 andirondak chairs and a table...right next to our very own covered car port....sweet!
Right down the street from the Miami Motel is tons of shopping, a Wegman's grocery store (we got some food to prepare and eat in our room) and a variety of restaurants to choose from. The Roseland Water Park is also just 2 minutes down the street, which was fantastic....much better than a pool in the motel.
The only negative was the sound of the traffic in the early morning but it isn't that much of a detraction...especially if you can sport a pair of earplugs. Then the problem is solved.
All in all, our stay at the Miami was one of the best stays at a hotel that I have experienced. We will definitely be back and I would highly recommend this place as a wonderful, comfortable, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojoasalock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My husband and I travel to Canandaigua a couples times a year with friends and for the last four years we have stayed at the Miami Motel. Valerie and Dennis Calkins, the owners, have been re-modeling the motel room-by-room and they have done a fantastic job. Each room has its own character, charm and warmth - some even have a jacuzzi. While it is nice to have an updated room, it is more important to me that the rooms are clean and the rooms at the Miami Motel are immaculate -as the saying goes, "you could eat off the floors".

When we e-mail Valerie that we are coming, she is gracious and prompt in her reply. She does everything possible to accomodate all of our requests and she does it with a smile and "can't wait to see you".

In the morning, Val has fresh coffe and tea in the office along with friut and pastry.

The Miami Motel is centrally located on a main raod, but it is back from the road far enough to give you a quiet night's sleep. You can sit at one of the tables located outside and have a relaxing conversation with family or friends, then head to one of the excellent restaurants located nearby.

There are maps and brochures for guests looking to explore the area.

My husband and I look forward to our stays at the Miami Motel.

We'll be back !!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMILES99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We found this motel online while searching for an overnite after attending the CSN concert on June 10. Great location for the concerts, rooms are exceptionally clean and the decor is very unique for each room. Beds & linens were also exceptional & the staff very pleasant. Don't let the outside renovations sway your decision for staying here, the rooms are great & we will certainly return to stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We (2x couple) stood there one night as we found this motel on Tripadvisor. The good rating is totally right. The rooms are really nice, perfectly clean. Personell was extremely nice. Small breakfast (fruits/coffee) was included. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BXL-FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We spent the Memorial Day weekend at Miami Motel, and we loved it. Each room has different color theme and we really appreciate the uniqueness. The room is extra clean, bed is comfortable and microwave/refragirator came in very handy. The location is great too because there is a major shopping plaza with Walmart, etc. less than 2 mins from where we stayed. About 5 mins to beautiful Canandaigua downtown/lake resort area.
The owners are very nice too, and we will definitely stay there again during our next trip to Fingers Lake region.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLtravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed here on our way to Cooperstown based on the online reviews. We were very worried when we drove up because it looks so sad on the outside but we were not disappointed. The room was great! Everyone must stay in room #5 because we did too. Very spacious and clean. The owner is such a total sweetie! Even though you are very close to the road, the road noise was very minimal - no problem at all for sleeping. Very close to town too. My only disappointment was no coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
2.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
12.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Farmington - Victor
17.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
228 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Resort Motel

Address: 4126 State Route 5 and 20, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9509
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range: $96 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing family-affordable vacation lodging in a quiet setting just outside the city limits of Canandaigua yet within minutes of excellent dining and lakefront activities in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Miami Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Hotel Canandaigua
Miami Motel Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing