We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outside does not do inside justice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miami Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canandaigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miami Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outside does not do inside justice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the most fun place that I have stayed at in years!! I could not say enough about it. The outside does not do the inside justice. Driving by most people would not even stop because of the work being done but the inside is just super. The rooms were spotless..decorated just beautifully and the owners are so friendly and helpful. Breakfast is as much coffee as you want, donuts, muffins, variety of fruit and it is out there until noon...not put away at 9:00 like big chain motels. We will be going back anytime that we are in that area and are already planning on next years stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgypsy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    78
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
205
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklinville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Miami Resort Motel for our anniversary. We arrived after 10 PM and Valerie was waiting to check us in and show us to our room. The motel was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub after a day spent at the NYS fair. When we returned from the fair we were looking for a good place to have dinner. My husband asked Dennis for a recommendation. He suggested the Casa de Pasta, a place that he had heard good reports about, though he had not been there himself. We took his recommendation and were not disappointed. The breakfast at the motel was not fancy but certainly adequate. We would recommend the Miami to anyone who would like to stay at a non-cookie cutter place. The owners are very pleasant and accommodating and the decor is fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
181 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I selected this newly renovated motel in large part because of the reviews already here. They were right! This is a fun place to stay and at a reasonable price. The accommodations are spacious, the beds comfortable, the bathroom modern. Parking is right outside each room which sure makes unloading easy. Breakfast is often a complaint of mine at the chain hotels, however, this motel had a huge bowl of many types of fresh fruit (including pears & plums), donuts, muffins, bagels, and really good coffee. The owner is friendly and very helpful and wants to ensure her guests have a good time. I would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 beds have a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Miami Hotel for a long weekend.
I cannot say enough good about the place.
Do not be scared by the outside appearnce of the hotel!
The rooms were basic but very clean and confortable.
The owners were great to deal with and handled every request that I had quickly and efficiently.
If you are looking for a good clean place with a nice cold breakfast this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newcomm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I typically go to Watkins Glen for the Vintage GP in Sept. and this year decided to stay in delightful Canandaigua - just an hour or so from "The Glen". This place reviewed well and very reasonably priced so gave it a try.

Points:
- not your average motel
- owner operated and it shows
- spacious and comfortable room
- room decorated nicely and any room with B&W pics of Stewart, Dietrich, and Hepburn can't be bad!
- good breakfast - not cooked and no cereals
- table and chairs outside room
- old and small TV but with extensive channels
- handy parking

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Miami Motel for four nights in July while visiting family in the area. We found it on trip advisor and decided to try something different than the standard chains. We were both very pleasantly surprised. The owners were wonderful, and the rooms were clean, confortable and had a touch of the old motor in charm. The owners are continuing to work on the facility to restore it back to it's original charm. It was enjoyable talking to them and seeing some of the historic photos. The ultimate testimony for this establishment is the fact that we have booked to stay there again in Decmeber when we visit family again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at the Miami Resort Motel over Labor Day for one night. I booked it solely on the advise of other Trip Advisors. The bed in room 4 was awesome, with 4 pillows and a comforter in a duvet. Several towels in the bathroom, also.
However, one wall was concrete block, there was no headboard, tv was small, tub drain was open (no plug), previous guest left a washcloth on the shower curtain rack which I discovered when I took a shower, no grab bar to enter or exit the tub, and there was rust under the tub and the tile (circa 1968) needed regrouting. The carpeting is industrial, and very thin. Room is small, but adequate.

That all being said, I would definitely stay there again, but you should realize it is not the spotless, homogenous Microtel experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gretag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
2.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
12.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Farmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Canandaigua
Super 8 Canandaigua
#5 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Resort Motel

Property: Miami Resort Motel
Address: 4126 State Route 5 and 20, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9509
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing family-affordable vacation lodging in a quiet setting just outside the city limits of Canandaigua yet within minutes of excellent dining and lakefront activities in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miami Hotel Canandaigua
Miami Motel Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing