We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local place.”
Review of Backwater Grille

Backwater Grille
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Canaan
Price range: $2 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant sits along beautiful Queechy Lake, you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail or craft beer from our extensive selection and a delicious lunch or dinner entree while dinning on our docks. Our cozy tavern and quaint dinning room is always welcoming and during cooler months we always have our fireplaces glowing! On weekends we offer live music in our tavern.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good local place.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Warm welcome, great food, nice atmosphere. Great view of the inlet and boats while we were eating. We chose to eat indoors because it was a little humid outdoors. They do offer quite a few outdoor seats though.

I got the Chicken Parmesan quesadilla (who knew?) and it was delicious. Mom got chicken tenders and fries that she enjoyed.

Waitress did seem to forget we were there at the end, it took a really long time to get our check (longer than to get the food) but no major complaints.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmg617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Food Not So Much”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great seating inside or out at Queechy Lake. We ordered eggplant parmesan and small mixed salad. The salad was generous and delicious with no iceberg lettuce. However the eggplant parmessan was disappointing! Frozen precooked breaded eggplant wasn't even left in the fryer long enough to crisp rendering it mushy. Worse, the marinara sauce was not even homemade! At a $16.99 pricetag for the eggplant parmessan I expect much better than frozen or canned ingredients!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juandalust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place on a road trip!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stopped here for lunch on a road trip. It doesn't look like much by the side of the road, but we had a great lunch. Food was good and the service was even better - very pleasant. Plan to go back next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stopped by the Backwater Grille on a Saturday afternoon for lunch. We had baked stuffed haddock that was delicious. The salmon was fantastic also. Apps of scallops wrapped in bacon and bruschetta were cooked to perfection. Wait staff very attentive friendly and efficient. After our wonderful lunch management offered a complimentary Pontoon boat ride on the lake. An absolutely great afternoon. Will be back with all our friends every Saturday at 1:00!!!!!!!

; )

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and so much character!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a great spot! We made a detour off the highway for an early lunch at this charming restaurant/bar in a very rural location! The waitress was so friendly, but not overly attentive. We had a fantastic view of the water while we waited for our lunch. I had a fantastic grilled chicken sandwich and my daughter had one of their massive burgers. I loved my chicken sandwich, but that burger sure did look yummy. The dining room had the feel the comfortable feel of a place that has been there a very long time. We were imagining it is very popular at dinner time, so cozy and inviting. The bar had a wall of of bookshelves jammed with books; a very nice touch.
My only complaint was the ladies room was very outdated, clean, but in dire need of an upgrade.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backwater Grille also viewed

 

Been to Backwater Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing