We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burger and beer by the frozen lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Backwater Grille

Backwater Grille
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Canaan
Price range: $2 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant sits along beautiful Queechy Lake, you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail or craft beer from our extensive selection and a delicious lunch or dinner entree while dinning on our docks. Our cozy tavern and quaint dinning room is always welcoming and during cooler months we always have our fireplaces glowing! On weekends we offer live music in our tavern.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Burger and beer by the frozen lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stopped in one night for dinner and sat at the bar. Lots of friendly locals. Had a great burger and some local beer. Must be nice in the summer as they have tables outside on a deck. There is a good size dining room also. Parking seems to be an issue

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucky2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Place, Worth Stopping For!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our second of many to come visits, our first visit was during Labor Day weekend and we were so impressed that we stopped for lunch on our way to our second home in the Catskill Mountains. Both times we were seated promptly and our server came over and introduced herself to us. On both visits our food had good presentation, temp. was perfect and our selections tasted great. Everything from our salads on up was fresh, prepared the way we the customer had ordered and was plenty. On this last visit I noticed on the menu they had eggplant fries, something I had never had so I ordered them with my burger. Our server said that since my burger came with fries she would upgrade me to the eggplant fries. Wow is all I can say, they were not greasy and tasted great, I would of gotten another order of them if my wife had not been with me. Atmosphere, nice, we actually could hold a conversation and hear each other, as far as being clean, table ware was fine, I did not notice anything amiss on the floor and I did observe tables being cleared and reset soon afterward the occupants had departed. The restroom was clean on both visits. About the only slight negative I could say is parking on both sides of the restaurant, next time I will back into a space. Pulling out can be an issue as some cars come whipping by just when it looks clear to back out of the space. Guess folks are in a hurry to get to the stop sign down the road. I only wish I had learned of this place earlier as we frequently travel the mass & ny pike to the Catskills, and this is a 5 or so minute drive off exit B? and ny rt-22.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Laid back place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stopped by here for lunch just to relax on the lake. It's just that relaxing. Most people come here to drink as well so the atmosphere is mellow and friendly. You can sit outside at picnic tables right on the lake with drinks or food or eat inside in a rustic atmosphere that is complete with nostalgic memorabilia. I love antiques so, this was a nice look around. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was good to above average for some selections. I tried the cuban panini which was the special of the day. While is a good I was surprised it was not something more. The burgers are also very good and you can have them anyway you like. The specialty sandwiches are very good and they also have quesadillas. Try it for lunch, stay and have a cocktail and just enjoy some time in this location. Watch the kayaks go by or take out a pontoon boat nearby. Even if you are not on vacation, you will feel relaxed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch on the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here last week and were happily surprised. We had eaten here a couple of years ago (once for lunch and another time, dinner) and decided not to go back. However, armed with a $10 Restaurant.com coupon and a desire to lunch al fresco, on an absolutely beautiful day, we headed to the Backwater Grille for some basic grub.
The setting, on the little lake was perfect. The beers ice cold and only $3 a pint. We had hot wings and the French Dip sandwich. The wings were plump and perfectly done and the spice was very good. The French Dip was by far the best we've ever had. The Roast Beef was perfectly done, rare and tender and delicious. We substituted Onion Rings instead of fries and they were a great compliment to the sandwich. They split the sandwich for us and it was plentiful for the two of us (especially, as we had each had two of the ten wing serving as an appetizer).
The waitress was very pleasant and we also met the owner who was also very attentive.
We'll be back - I'm looking forward to a bowl of chili while enjoying the autumn-colored trees reflecting on the lake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seyhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“.. a pleasant little surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had not been to the restaurant for quite some time (let's not say why), but now under new ownership, when some friends asked to go for lunch, we figured we'd give it a go. Location has never been an issue, right on the lake, most all tables have a very good view. And the food is good, above average good, and reasonably priced, with service that is friendly and efficient. It's a welcome addition to the very small grouping of Canaan eateries.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backwater Grille also viewed

 

Been to Backwater Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing