We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Dancing in the Catskills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dirty Dancing in the Catskills”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I love the movie Dirty Dancing and this resort seemed the closest I have seen to the resort in that film. Grand old main building and dining hall. Gorgeous scenery. Golf. Lots of city folk visiting for the week. But as in the film when the owner said the days have gone by and the kids all want to go to Europe now, I think he is right.
The resort is in a very isolated area. Lots of cute quaint villages nearby but very challenging rural hilly roads for driving. Went to Woodbury outlets and hat was great. Went on our own. Resort also offers day trips including one to NYC. $60
Tons of activities on the resort. The daily event listing talked about cruising on land and the list do activities were similar to a cruise ship with sports challenges, games, exercise, movies, entertainment, etc. Golf course is right there. Ski hill for winter. Big pool for summer but with the size of the resort I think it would be packed. Bowling, tennis courts etc on resort so lots to do.
What I did not like was the timeshare apartment. It was just ugly. Old kitchen. Mirrored closet doors in bedroom. Old tv. Tiny bathtub/shower. Ugly carpet. Ugly carpet. Ugly carpet. Very ugly carpet. Wire coat hangers - 7 total for a unit for six people? No laundry facilities in room. Tiny balcony but no deck chairs. I think we were in oLder unit - building 4 - which was close to main hall etc but I would have preferred to be further away and In a nice unit. My understanding is there are more renovated units or newer units... So why would we not have been placed thereof. I don't think the resort was full. Mathis is a huge resort but you could drive and also there is a shuttle and a large parking lot by the main sports centre. So the timeshare was a bust but the area and the other resort amenities brought the score up. Renovate those units. Get rid of ugly carpet old kitchen mirrored doors and tiny bathtub and buy some hangers. Plus get a nice tv.... Unit in bedroom was ancient

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. But you should not have to since they should just modernize the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your review with us!

Villa Roma Resort is a full service year round resort that caters to many groups, individuals, organizations, and our local community. There are certain times of year as other resorts where we are not in a peak time, and it is generally a little slower.

We appreciate you recognizing the wealth of activities and amenities we have at Villa Roma. Being a destination resort, we try to ensure that there is something for everyone to do, and also eat! With several restaurants and a deli on site, you will surely never go hungry!

We are a little puzzled by the conditions you have stated in your room in building 4. We recently had another review where another guest was in that particular building and loved it! Every single timeshare building has its own laundry room. Depending on the unit, the room is either on the first or second floor. We are extremely sorry you did not feel your unit was up to an excellent standard, but please be assure, we maintain and upgrade these units on a continuous basis.

Thank you again for taking the time and sharing your vacation experience with us. We hope have the opportunity to provide an excellent vacation for you and your family in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    253
    145
    86
    97
See reviews for
484
179
7
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Every year we visit Villa Roma with 80 adults with developmental disabilities. It's a quick one night overngiht vacation. The employees at the resort are fantastic with our population; kind, approachable and patient. We take advantage of the pool, game area, horse back riding and salon while others walk the property to take in the beauty of the place. Meals are served in courses with enough choices for everyone to be satisfied. Generous portions and everything tasted good. Rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The evening entertainment was our favorite female singer. A super talent with a huge heart that allows our girls and guys to get in on the stage action for a song or two. All my guests ask before we leave... "Can we come back next year?!?!?!" It's a nice place to spend some relaxing time with friends and family. Highly reccommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite and you'll have two bedrooms and a small kitchenette area. Whatever your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RecCoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent a week here in the summer of 2011, it was a pretty good time, there wasn't many people there, everyone was over 65 or so it seemed. The grounds were well kept and the pools were nice. The restaurant was well priced and the food was average. We took the day trip to NYC on the tour bus, I received a $250 seatbelt fine the moment we entered NYC, instant buzz kill! We may actually head back to Villla Roma this summer, as we have a 3 year old daughter now and the resort seemed well geared towards children.
The rooms and buildings were dated and in need of reno's.

Room Tip: They all seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us.

The Villa Roma Resort caters to every type of guest! Whether you are 2 or 92, we have something to do for everyone. Quite often, we have senior groups stay over to enjoy themselves with one of our specially designed packages. In the summertime however, our crowds are certainly more along the lines of families with many, many kids. At any given time throughout the summer we can have around 300-500 kids between our timeshare and hotel rooms.

We do hope you take the opportunity to come back with your family. Your 3 year old will certainly love just some of the amenities we have to offer such as our Inflatable Bounce Land and our kids splash pad!

Once again, thank you for sharing your review with us and we do look forward to your return visit this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just wanted to share a quick note about the service and staff at the Villa Roma. I travel there at least 5 times a year with my daughter and an older gentleman that I take care of that lives in my building. Each and every time we are greeted with a smile and excellent service from the time we arrive until the time we depart. I have worked in the hospitality field for over 20 years and still find myself impressed by the people at Villa Roma. Special thanks to John (bellhop), Chef Ron, Carina, Linda, and the pretty young lady with the long black hair at the Mezzanine Bar, Bill in activities, Stefanie and Maza in the Dining Room, and Abby in the salon. My apologies to anyone I have forgotten. See you soon for the Italian Weekend!!! Thanks Again,
Jennifer Vario

Room Tip: We always stay in the two room suite in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifervario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank your taking the time and sharing such a wonderful review with us, Jennifer.

Villa Roma strives to ensure that each and every one of our employees greet our guests in a positive and uplifting manner and to ensure that their stay is as comfortable, fun or relaxing as possible. Recognition means a lot with our employees, and we will be sure to pass along your kind comments to them.

Obviously, you are one of our repeat guests that frequents our property, and we are happy that to see that you have made Villa Roma your choice vacation destination. We are always looking to update & expand, and we are excited for what we have planned for in the future and look forward to you being a part of it!

Thank you again for sharing such a wonderful review. We look forward to your return stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We are timeshare guests, have been coming for over 30 years. Winter and summer every year. Each year it gets worse and worse. Rooms are always awful. Beds uncomfortable, toilet clogged twice this time. Went to bring my son's skiing and was told there were no skiis or ttubing available!!! What place runs out of skiis? Good luck waiting for the transportation to take you around. We waited 30 minutes Bc raining . Place is a dump. We are done.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank speechpath72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your vacation experience with us at Villa Roma.

We are very disheartened to hear about your negative experiences here at our resort. Villa Roma is a large friendly family resort that caters to countless guests each and every year. During the peak times of the year, some of our amenities do get a bit crowded causing wait times and lines occasionally. We are very sorry to hear that you had to wait for skis to become available when you were here, but trust us, it was busy! This last week especially, was as busy as we were all winter long!

Our shuttle service provides transportation to and from different areas of the resort, ski chalet, and privately owned condos on property. During the past week, we had put on additional drivers to accommodate the influx of guests that we were expected on having. Unfortunately, whether winter or summer, when bad weather arrives, it causes additional demand for the shuttle. Our shuttles always run at a maximum of a 15 minute wait time depending on weather and the amount of guests they are serving. Depending on the weather, as you have experienced, it would seem they take forever, but let us assure you, that is not the case!

We value our repeat guests that come year after year, and we are sorry that you feel Villa Roma is no longer a good fit for you and your family. We always want to do right by our guests and ensure they want to come back. We are always looking at our comments and suggestions to find ways to better improve our service, staff, and amenities, and we appreciate you taking the time in reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Always have the best time, this weeks entertainment has been the best yet - 10 out of 10 for fun and activities & timeshare building 22 - small old section needs to be updated but doesn't stop the fun- great place to build family memories

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us! We really appreciate it!

Suzanne, first off, we would like you to take the opportunity to reach out to us and let us know what part of your unit you think may need updating. We are always in the process of updating and renovating our timeshare villas, so we do appreciate any input you may have. You can send your comments to acarlucci@villaroma.com

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed the entertainment during your week. Depending on the ages of the crowds, we try to find entertainment that is appealing for everyone or at least has something to offer everyone at some point during the week. We will make sure to pass along to our booking agent about the wonderful job they did during your week!

Villa Roma is a great place to build memories and make lifelong friends. We are happy to see that you are repeat guests, and are glad that you are part of the Villa Roma family!

Thank you again for sharing your review with us. We look forward to your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Upon arrival the guaranteed check-in at 4 pm was not honored. Subsequently, there was a power outage several days later that closed down all activities and postponed the family olympics to Friday, we missed it as we departed before that event.

Snow tubes were not fully inflated which caused kids to drag them down the hill.

Some staffers not that helpful, others were.

Facility cold especially around the indoor pool, heater was not working. The ceiling in the activity center was leaking from melting snow on roof and hallways smelled musty.

Wait staff Robert and Gus, excellent service. Food of
acceptable quality but too much, a lot of waste.

Soda $2.50 per bottle from the machine. Take a ride to Jeffersonville, about 2 miles away. There is a Post Office, gas station, liquor and grocery store. You can pick-up some beverages and snacks for the room.

Activities: Ice skating, snow tubing, bocce ball, shuffle board, pool, ping pong, bowling, volley ball, basketball, indoor pool, Bingo and other forms of gambling.

Entertainerment: Magic show, Comedy show, and Singer. All good.

Guest talent night-not so good.
Cell phone reception spotty
WiFi service weak

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Middlevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
266 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
414 reviews
18.1 mi away
Inn at Lake Joseph
Inn at Lake Joseph
#1 of 2 in Forestburgh
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Callicoon, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing