We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We used an extra timeshare week at my wife's insistence and I expected to be bored all week. Boy, was I surprised. I went horseback riding, rode a Segway, played indoor tennis and hiked around the area. There was (wooden) horse racing & turtle (real) racing. We played Pictionery and charades. My wife (not me) enjoyed bingo daily. Nightly entertainment was good. Food was only OK which is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 4. We ate dinner in town 3 nights; the 1906 Restaurant being the best of a good selection. There was a Murder Mystery Weekend our last 3 days. It was lots of fun. Kudos to Doc Holiday, the entertainment director for making the week interesting. We are actually considering going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Villa Roma!

We are glad you were able to experience some of our great activities like horseback riding and segway riding! There are always lots of activities going on at the Villa Roma from early in the morning to late at night!

We have a variety of places to eat on site at the Villa Roma. There is the Roman Garden Café, Ronnie’s Deli, The Clubhouse, The Dining Room, and The Beachwood’s Grill. Each dining area has many options and are different ranging from large 5 course meals or just a bite of pizza! We apologize that your dining experience was not a positive one.


We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Murder Mystery Weekend! This is one of our most popular weekends. It has fun filled activities all weekend and keeps you in suspense and wanting more! We will give your positive review to Doc Holiday! He is a great asset to the Villa Roma and keeps all our guests entertained year round.

Thank you again for your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,028)
There are newer reviews for Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

It is the second year I visit this resort and can't be happier.
The resort is really great. Installation are updated and service is excellent.
My unit was part of a timeshare exchange and I choose a two bedroom/two bath unit because I was expecting another traveler that cancelled plans at the last minute.
The unit is fantastic, very comfortable and peaceful.
The views are great as it is all the Catskill area.
The amenities are excellent too. From a nice size pool, Jacuzzi, sauna room, game center, to good restaurants and bars, to the impressive lobby with good oldies playing in the sound system..
But what is most important is the feeling of being welcomed and appreciated that result from the great staff that make your stay a fantastic experience.
I will be back. .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are glad you had a great time!

We are constantly updating our resort from our timeshare rooms to our WIFI. There is always something we are looking to make better for our guests!

There are plenty of activities to do at the Villa Roma. We have lots of facilities to interest all of our guests whether they are children, families, couples, or elders.
We take pride in our resort and want to make sure all guests feel welcomed and have that sense of the Villa Roma being their “home away from home”. We are glad we were able to make you feel that way!

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I was here for a conference a few weeks ago, and had a wonderful time. I'll start with the few minor things that didn't bother me at all, but that I could see some other people worrying about.

- The place is gorgeous, but severely dated. They get a lot of senior groups going through there, and it shows by how they've kept the decor (if you want to be kind, call it "retro"). if you like modern and sleek, this is not the place for you.

- The surrounding area outside the resort doesn't hold much in the way of things to do, particularly in the colder seasons. If you're the type who wants to go away and then go out and about to explore, and you don't like nature/scenic byways, then this isn't the place for you. There is a large variety of things to do right on the resort though, even for free/cheap. Still, you need to come in with the right attitude otherwise you're better off somewhere else.

- Certain things are a bit on the pricey side. They have package deals that includes a variety of stuff, but if you pay as you go, it can hurt the wallet a bit. It's to be expected a little bit considering A. Most resorts are, and B. There is little in the area to give competition to this place, so they have little incentive to lower their prices. I've seen worse, just be aware before you go or it may surprise you a bit.

-Be ready to walk... a LOT. it's a big resort, with a sprawling layout, built around nature. This means a lot of walking, and a lot of ups and downs with inclined hallways throughout. It seemed like there were certain rooms that simply could not be reached without going up/down at least a small flight of stairs, so if that's an issue for you, be sure to work that out with them when you make your reservation.

If you can handle those things, you should have an excellent time. All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful. And I was particularly impressed with their cleaning staff. On the first day of our conference the lobby was an absolute disaster area (our fault, not theirs) and in just a couple of hours a crew of what I think was only 2, maybe 3 people (there could have been more i didn't see though) had that place looking like no one had been there. Then, later on, someone had dropped a jar of honey on the floor/carpet...which if you've never cleaned spilled honey, is NOT fun to clean... and the gentleman and woman responsible for cleaning did so quickly, with a smile on their face and friendly comment/explanation for all the curious onlookers streaming by on their way to the show in the night club. If it was me, I would not have been happy, and I'm sure they probably weren't, but it never showed.

That's the kind of service that was all around the resort, which makes a huge difference in whether your trip is a success or not. Mine was a success, and I would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100s and 200s are closer to the variety of amenities they have like the night club, poo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

It was haven of tranquility, beautiful food, good service. Rooms are sparsely furnished. Rooms were very clean and air conditioned. Good location for the important historical sights and the national parks. It has a beautiful swimming pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Villa Roma with us!

At the Villa Roma we have many places to dine on site. There is The Roman Garden Café, Dining Room, Ronnie’s, Beachwood’s Grill, and The Clubhouse. There are always a variety of meals to chose from ranging from if you want a 5 course meal or just a snack!

Even though there are many activities and facilities to visit on site at the Villa Roma, the area is a beautiful place to visit! There are many local sites to visit including Bethel Woods, Monticello Raceway and Casino, Lander’s River trips, wineries, farms, Fort Delaware, and much more!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we love to hear from our guests! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My first time at Villa Roma gave me an experience which will be with me for the rest of my life. The place, the people, the food,and the surrending beauty that Nature offers, make it a place gifted by God.The games, the entertainment, and the fun make Villa Roma unique, for a single person, a married couple with children, and a group of friends this is the ideal place.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Hi Nick! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Villa Roma!

The Villa Roma is truly a place for anyone! We have themed weekends that apply to special interest, families, or couples! Anytime is a great time to spend at the Villa Roma. There are things to do for all age groups from bingo to the bouncy house, horseback riding, indoor and outdoor pools, tennis center, bowling ally, turtle races and much more! There is never a dull moment while spending time at the Villa Roma.

Thank you again for your review! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a great time. Enjoyed the skits and shows, laughed a lot. Food was good and staff friendly. I have already booked a return Murder Mystery for March. This time I will stay in the newer area and have a 2 bedroom suite, which I booked before I left and got a 10% discount.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! We are glad to hear about your vacation experience!

After a long day of fun filled activities, the shows at Marty’s and the Forum Night Club are a great way to kick back, relax, and have a great time. There is always a variety of shows from bands to comedians to Villa Roma’s Got Talent.

It’s great to hear you will be visiting us again! The Murder Mystery Weekend is one of our most popular themed weekends. It is an activity filled weekend that will leave you on the edge of your seats!

We thank you again for your review and are looking forward to seeing you in March!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Villa Roma Resort is the best kept secret in timeshares! Just came back from the best week ever in the Catskill Mts. Obviously the foliage was gorgeous but the resort was fantastic ! The villas are newly remodeled and they are huge. The two bedrooms are on opposite sides of the great room and there is a full kitchen with separate eating area, very spacious and comfortable for 6 people. The resort has "everything!". There is a sports complex with a bowling alley, tennis courts, racquetball courts, and basketball courts. There's a mini car racing track, a shooting range, bocci courts, indoor, outdoor pools, golf course, hill for snow skiing and tubing and so much more for kids and families. They have a nightclub with evening entertainment and an adult lounge with music and drinks. The newly remodeled dining room offers a diverse menu and there is a café and ice cream shop as well. On Thurs. nights you can experience Caesar's Night with a 7 course Roman Feast along with the staff dressed in Roman garb, so much fun! The staff bends over backwards to accommodate your every need, they certainly aim to please. I have exchanged into timeshares in many places, but no other timeshare has provided so many amenities and most are included in your stay. They even have free shuttle service to take you anywhere on the property. I can't recommend this place more, it is a marvelous experience for both adults and families with kids. Will definitely go back !

Room Tip: All the villas are beautiful. Recommend the ones outside the main bldg.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadway225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your vacation experience with us! We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time and positive experience.

The fall is a great time to join us at The Villa Roma! The Villa Roma is a year round resort that has beautiful scenery and new activities to try year round! Each season is a new experience!

Along with the facilities on site, we have a great activities director, Doc Holiday, who hosts a variety of activities for all ages throughout the day. If one of those activities do not interest you, there is always our bowling ally, tennis and racquetball courts, ski hill, pools, and other facilities to keep you entertained! There are plenty of things to do at the Villa Roma!

Thank you for such a great review, we are glad you had a good time! We have themed weekends throughout the year which are tons of fun! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
301 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
461 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kenoza Lake View Manor
Kenoza Lake View Manor
#1 of 1 in Kenoza Lake
10 reviews
19.4 mi away
Schrute Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range: $233 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Callicoon, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing