We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family winter getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just got back & I had a better time than the last! In just a few days we (husband, me, kids 5 & 7) did: swimming, bowling, bingo, snow tubing, skiing, horse racing, indoor volleyball, Wii bowling tournament, line dancing, & made REAL s'mores with REAL branches in a REAL bonfire. Loved it. Our unit is a bit dated, but VERY clean & spacious. ...can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We really appreciate it!

It is music to our ears that you enjoyed yourself here at our resort. This is what Villa Roma is all about. We strive to make sure that there is something to do for all ages, and are always creating ways to alter and change our social activity program to suit the needs of our guests. We appreciate you taking note of the various activities we have to offer and that you enjoyed. We are also happy to hear you were able to enjoy the bonfire. This is one of our most popular activities!

We once again, appreciate you writing such a great review and look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

my wife and I just spent a wonderful weekend at the Villa Roma. It was our first time away from home in about 2 years and, after just moving to a new house we NEEDED a break.The facilities were wonderful, the staff was wonderful, the food was just what I wanted-although my wife said I certainly could have gotten by with a lot less than I ate. On the way home my wife called all our children and asked them to find a time that works for everyone because it is the perfect place for the whole gang (15 including us, three kids, their spouses and seven grandchildren) to spend some relaxing and fun time together.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulgaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and sharing such a great review with us!

First off, congratulations on your new home! We here at the Villa Roma wish you nothing but happiness and success in your new home.

We are so happy you were able to enjoy the activities we have to offer in the winter season. We have many things to do for all ages, whether your a youngster or a grandparent, there is something to do for everyone. We highly recommend when you come back, to try us in the summer time. This is our peak season, and during this time all of our outdoor facilities are open, including fun park, pools, snack bar, golf, our ever evolving social and activity programs and so much more.

If you want more information on the summer, please contact me at acarlucci@villaroma.com. We are looking forward to your return visit, and welcome you to the Villa Roma family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Love taking my family here, there's always something for everyone to do! My daughter loves the ice cream parlor and the go carts, I love the golf course, and my wife can't get enough of the piano bar! We love vacations here!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattSmithWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your wonderful review with us!

We are thrilled to hear your family enjoy their favorite parts of our resort! Our PGA Certified Golf Course is certainly a challenge to any seasoned golfer. Our fun park including go karts, has something for just about anyone, and of course, our Gelato Bar is one of our most popular outlets to grab a snack! The Mezzanine Bar (Where the piano is located) is a great area to get together with friends, relax, catch a sports event, or just hang out. If you are up to it, we would be more than happy to let you play the piano if you want!

Thank you again for sharing such a great review with us, and we truly look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you for being a part of the Villa Roma Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just got back from a trip to Villa Roma a few days ago, the resort seemed to be poorly organized. We went up to go skiing and tubing but we were told that it wasn't cold enough to blow snow. There seemed to be different story told by almost everyone at the front desk. Then finally on our last day there the tubing was open, we wanted to book the 12:15 session and were directed to go up to the chalet in order to do so, then when getting on the shuttle to get to the chalet, the driver refused to go up because he was too busy with the timeshare guests. By the time we got our car out of valet and up to the chalet the session was booked. What a waste of time! On the positive side, the dining plan was excellent and the wait staff was overly friendly and accommodating. The rooms were terribly outdated but clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rayraymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your review with us.

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, our area had experienced an unusually warm and rainy December. When you have these types of conditions, it is extremely difficult, if not impossible, to make snow. We have a dedicated snow crew that wait until the proper temperatures to blow snow for our ski hill. However, during the month of December, mother nature had a different plan. Once the weather got to be appropriate to make snow, our team was out there, treating our hills, blowing the snow, and doing whatever it took, to make sure we were open.

We thank you for noticing the cleanliness of your rooms. We have a dedicated housekeeping and maintenance team, that ensures all rooms are clean and in working order. All of our guest rooms are on a renovation cycle, so although you still may have a room that has not been renovated, you can be assured it will be clean and ready for your arrival.

When you have a chance, please email me at acarlucci@villaroma.com so we can go over your stay a little further.

Once again, thank you for sharing your review with us, and hope you take the opportunity to contact us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom time share unit in September of 2012. The kids were off from school for Rosh Hashannah. The weather was nice. We were able to use the really nice outdoor pool, which was still open, thank God, cause nothing else was. There were other families there with their children & we all were looking forward to the activities offered, such as Go Carts, Paint ball, & other scheduled family fun. Finally, after many complaints about not having the above opened (as advertised), the Villa Roma had one of their employees open & operate the go carts & paint ball all by himself.
My hat off to "Cody", cause he was the nicest young man. He was so pleasant & all ways smiling while running back & fourth from one thing to another. Making sure all was going smooth & all were having fun. I hope the Villa Roma recongizes what a great employee Cody is!
Villa Roma's food was lacking & the units were o.k. They were clean, which is very important to us, but the mattresses could have been better. Over all it was so-so, good thing it was a short stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the most updated unit available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us!

We have many activities and a social program that open and run all year long. Most of our outdoor activities are seasonal and based on other factors, which is noted on our website. When our guests do inquire about certain activities that may be closed for the season, we will do what we can to open that activity or amenity. We appreciate you recognizing Cody. He is a long standing employee of ours and an asset to the Social Recreation Department. We will pass along your kind comments to him.

One of the best things about Villa Roma is our food. We have a different menu every night in our Grand Main Dining Room, and we also have different areas on our resort where you can enjoy a great meal. Whether is in the Main Dining Room, Roman Garden Cafe, Ronnie's Deli or our seasonal Clubhouse, Clubhouse Grill Room, and Pool Snack Bar, there is something for everyone. We are sorry to hear you did not find your meals more satisfying.

Cleanliness is not just important, but expected. Our housekeepers are ready to serve our guests on a daily basis to ensure all public areas and guests rooms are clean and comfortable. Thank you for recognizing their hard work, and we will be sure to pass these comments along to them!

We strive to make every guests stay enjoyable and memorable. When you have a chance, please email acarlucci@villaroma.com so we can go over your stay in a little more detail.

Thank you again for sharing your review, we look forward to hearing from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pros:
- Rooms are up to date, kitchen and bathrooms are comfortable.
- They have plenty of activities if you plan to stay on the resort the whole time. My daughter loved the playgrounds.
- They offer complimentary housekeeping which is rare on resorts

Cons:
- Rooms were not properly cleaned. We found an eye-glass and a men shoe under the bed. Aside that it was ok.
- The WIFI never worked. Called a few times and they only replied that they have it through a 3rd party company (Time-Warner). I reluctantly stopped calling.
- We stayed until the end of December, but the ski and snow tubing never opened. We saw plenty of snow and the weather was below 32 degrees, but they claimed there was no proper weather to make snow. We had to travel 1.5 hours to Belleayre ski resort in order to have some skiing. Not acceptable.
- Location is terrible. Aside for the Jeffersonville village, everything is at least 25 miles away.
- Customer service almost never handled our requests properly. On top of the WIFI and the skiing issues, we asked for a skillet and it never arrived. We asked about a sled and they told us the plan to open the tubing on the weekend, but we were leaving already.

We stayed two years ago and it was not bad. This was our second stay and after a very disappointing experience, we will not plan to return.

Room Tip: Previously stayed on the building IV and it was in great shape. We stayed in Building XII and it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laoreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We made a last-minute decision to come up to Villa Roma during four days surrounding Christmas, based on some research a friend did and the fantastic price. We are a family of four -- me, my husband, and my daughters (ages 6 and 8), and the price of our room and the included meals for three nights came to around $1100, which involved one kid being free. We went for it with our expectations fairly low because of the cheap price.

We were certainly not disappointed! First of all, we made a point of ensuring that we received a recently renovated room. Our room had two queen beds, a desk, a cube refrigerator, a dresser with flat-screen TV, a night table between the beds, two wing chairs with a round table between them, and a bathroom with double sink and full bathtub. The room was very clean, and while the desk had no chair upon arrival, one was brought for us right away upon request. There is secured Wi-Fi access. The room was equipped with a heating/air conditioning wall unit that worked fine; in fact, the heat worked so well that typically, after having it on in the evening the room was so warm that we simply turned the unit on to "fan" and used that at night while we were sleeping. The only disadvantage to the room was that it adjoined the room next to it with a door, and you could hear EVERYTHING -- every word. Running the fan at night allowed us to sleep undisturbed, but I think that was partly because the family in the adjoining room were friends of ours and tried to keep quiet. I can only imagine how horrible it could be if it was a noisier, less cognizant group of people next door. Our bed was very comfortable, and while one of the other families we had traveled with had issues with their bed being noisy, the staff replaced it upon their request and they had no problems with it thereafter.

The breakfasts were probably the highlight of the food experience. We had Robert as our waiter the whole time we were there, and he was absolutely outstanding. Gratuities are included in your price, but we made sure we left him more from our three families. All together, we were a party of 13 people -- six adults and seven children (ranging in ages from 3 to 12), and he handled us with seamless professionalism. We all agreed that while the dinner fare was fine, it was mediocre if you compare it to fine dining experiences in regular restaurants. But it was certainly edible, and some of the dinner highlights were the chicken and wild rice soup, and the chicken with the tomato-wine sauce. We enjoyed the Caesar night on Christmas Eve, and there was live keyboard music by a talented fellow.

The best thing about this resort was the variety of activities, many of which involved no added cost. Our kids enjoyed the "horse racing" the evening we arrived, which involved someone rolling dice and the kids as "jockeys" moving numbered wooden horses over a tarp marked with duct-tape lines. Adults enjoyed betting on which numbered horse would win based on the dice throws. After dinner we checked out the area near the game room, which had a ball pit/climbing area for kids, as well as indoor shuffleboard and bocci. The first night there was a magician/juggler/comic in the lounge that was enjoyed by kids and adults alike. The next day, which was Christmas Eve Day, we went over to the building with the fitness center after breakfast, where there is a "fun place" with a bounce house, "spider climb" with inflatable slide, and a rock wall. Both kids and adults enjoyed the rock wall. Some of our group went for a tennis clinic for all ages next door, for which I was told the instructor was outstanding. After lunch, which we enjoyed at the on-property Ronnie's Pizza and Deli, we put the kids in the free Kids Camp for a little while, where they enjoyed crafts and decorating holiday cookies, while the adults hung out in the mezzanine lounge. Later we got the kids and took them to the turtle racing, which they enjoyed immensely, putting numbered live turtles in the center of a circular tarp and watching to see which one ran to the edge first as the adults rooted for the turtle they placed bets on. That day we also took our girls ice skating, which was the first activity we paid anything extra for ($15 with a skate rental for 90 minutes). While the rink is very small, it was not crowded at all, which was perfect for my little fledgling skaters. As it was near the end of the day, though, the ice was very choppy,and they don't use a zamboni to smooth the ice, but only a couple of shovels. But I wouldn't say this was a real problem. While we were skating, my husband and the other two men went off to play racquetball, for which they had brought their own racquets. Racquets are available for rental for raquetball and tennis, and you can either bring your own balls or purchase them there. The racquetball and tennis courts are available for a $16 fee for 90 minutes. After the Caesar dinner, we went to the mezzanine lounge and enjoyed listening to Doc Holiday and the pianist from dinner perform Christmas tunes. Santa was on hand giving out candy canes to the kids. Then as it serendipitously began to snow, we went across the road to the lawn, where there was a bonfire and free s'mores making before we called it a night.

The next day (Christmas Day) after breakfast, we went to the indoor pool. The kids loved the tube slide there, and my husband and I enjoyed the whirlpool. He also went for the sauna. There are massages available too, for a fee, of course. We then went for lunch at the Roman Garden Cafe, where the soup was delicious and the kids' mac-n-cheese was served in a dinosaur character souvenir bowl. After lunch, we put our girls in the kids camp, where aside from typical games and crafts, they would be making jewelry for a $6 per child fee. While our kids were in the camp, my husband and I went horseback riding (also a fee, of $40 per person for an hour). It was beautiful, with the light dusting of snow from the night before, and we saw lots and lots of groups of deer along the trail. We then played Bingo in the lounge, which was fun for adults and kids alike. Christmas dinner was served family style, and since we had some dietary concerns, the staff was extremely accommodating, serving a platter of fish instead of ham. The sweet potatoes were terrific, as was the mashed cauliflower with cheese. The turkey and fish were mediocre. After dinner, one kid in each of our families was in the "Kids Say the Darndest Things," run by Doc Holiday and his wife, Joy. He was wonderful in asking the kids questions, whose answers delighted the crowd. We then put the kids in the Night Camp, which was only $5 per kid from 9-12 pm, while the adults went to see Brad Zimmerman, the comedian. He was hysterical, and as we were chatting after the show and he was on his way out, he stopped and chatted with us for a bit.

The day we left, some of us went back to the rock wall area, while my older daughter and I went bowling. There was a nominal fee for this, and after playing two games plus shoe rentals, the bowling cost me about $12. I actually enjoyed the fact that I had to keep score the old-fashioned way, with a pencil and paper. The alley also had bumpers for the kids. We then went ice skating with the kids again before heading on the road for home.

One of the most outstanding features of this resort was Doc Holiday. The free entertainment throughout our stay was enjoyable and varied, and he had a wonderful personality and made us all feel truly welcome. His wife was lovely, too. Even though the weather conditions did not allow for sledding, tubing, or skiing, we still had enough to do for the amount of time we were there.

The only negatives were the frigid hallways, which also had a slightly unpleasant sort of dirty-sock odor. Not sure why, since it appeared new-ish, and was very clean. I think that this place was originally designed as a summer-only resort, so that there is no heat in the halls. It was slightly unpleasant to walk from warm rooms and lounges into such cold hallways. But it didn't really impact our overall enjoyment of our stay. I did not get to use the fitness center, partly because its location in a separate building made me less inclined to drag myself out of bed to work out.

If you are looking for a fun-filled family vacation for a reasonable price that's not too far from home (if you live in downstate New York or Long Island, as we do), then I highly recommend Villa Roma. There aren't too many Catskills resorts like this left with quality family entertainment. We're thinking of making Villa Roma an annual family tradition for this time of year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheJodester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
319 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fosterdale Motor Lodge(Closest To Bethel Woods)
2.2 mi away
Kenoza Lake View Manor
Kenoza Lake View Manor
#1 of 1 in Kenoza Lake
34 reviews
19.4 mi away
Schrute Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range: $219 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Callicoon, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing