We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
CT
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dump”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Really old and run down. I went for a conference, otherwise this is a place I would never waste my money on. Looks like it hasn't been updated since 1980. Dirty, rude staff, no bellboys, broken vending machines. The food was good. The room was sub-average and cost $250 a night. Quite frankly it was a $75 room. Two thumbs down.

Room Tip: Get the top floor so you don't hear the tv from the people upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JShilohT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us.

We are sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant experience here at Villa Roma. We do pride ourselves in all of our guests having a good time.

Upon check in, we have a full valet services and guest services staff ready to assist you. There is on occasion, on a large check in, that some of the staff may be busy, but they are always here, and when they are done assisting another guest, they are ready to help the next!

Our resort is continuously updated. Each room gets a remodel approximately every five years. During this time, each room is maintained to the highest of standards, and if something needs to be changed before that time, it is. Our hotel main lobby, bars, cafe, and dining room, have all been rebuilt since our devastating fire.

Our staff take hospitality training courses throughout the year to ensure every guest they interact with , are treated with respect and dignity. With all due respect, this is your vacation, so we want to make sure that your interactions with our staff are pleasant!

We are sorry you were not able to enjoy your stay. If you would like, please contact acarlucci@villaroma.com to talk about this further.

We hope you and your family enjoy the upcoming holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    259
    147
    89
    99
See reviews for
492
185
7
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My organization has had their annual NYS Convention for the last two years here and everything has been great. The food, the rooms, and the overall service we have received is more than anyone can expect. I am looking forward to our next Convention there in July, 2013,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katz190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us!

We are so happy to hear you were able to enjoy our resort and your convention. Repeat conventions and guests, are a testament to what we stand for, and why our guests return.

Not only do we cater to convention groups, but we also welcome reunions, senior groups, national meetings, local events, county events, state events, associations, families, and so much more! We are able to cater to each individual or group need, which sets us apart from others!

Thank you again for sharing your wonderful review with us. We hope you enjoy the upcoming holiday season, and look forward to seeing you in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We accompanied family, who are timeshare owners. We were in a suite with a kitchen, living room and bedroom. The property is large with buildings scattered about. The suite was definitely was in need of updating, the building smelled musty. The kitchen was clean with updated appliances, but the rest of the suite was fairly awful. Bathroom was dark with an odd shaped tub, coarse towels. Bedroom linens were very dated, and the bed uncomfortable. We had one late meal at the restaurant...while service was great, the food was sub-par. I can see how Villa Roma could be a great place for families during the summer...especially for those wanting to get away from the city. There seems to be plenty of activities for kids and enough to do without leaving. As a couple traveling without kids, I would have preferred something smaller and quainter with a little bit more local flavor. Fortunately, we just used the hotel as a base and spent most of our time on the road. It is definitely beautiful country, with a working farm just down the road that you can visit, plenty of wonderful drives with fantastic architecture - not to mention the Bethel Music/woodstock museum. Depending on the time of the year you go, you could be hard pressed to find places open. I recommend Matthews on Main and Brandenburg Pastry Shop if you can find them open.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deardiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farm
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Really great staff. The suite we stayed at was a bit overdue for an upgrade. Staff was friendly. Restaurant was serving mostly reheated frozen entrees. We stayed in the off-season, so maybe it is better when busy. Was with another couple where we used the sleeper-couch - or maybe better called the sleeper-OUCH.

Room Tip: No suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review.

We appreciate you taking the time and recognizing our staff. Our staff number one priority is to serve our guests and make them feel at home. Our staff take hospitality training classes all year long, to help reinforce the overall guest experience at our resort.

All of our restaurants serve fresh food items. We have deliveries every day of meat, fruits, and vegetables. We have seasoned chefs here that love to make their own specials, and know how to prepare the food so it as the most enjoyable. There are many, many years of experience behind those kitchen lines!

All of our rooms are maintained to the highest of standards prior to their eventual renovation. If there is ever a problem or an issue in a room, our maintenance and housekeeping staff stand ready to help fix the issue. We apologize to hear you had a negative experience with your couch.

Thank you again for sharing your review with us, we hope you come back and give us a try again! Wishing you and your family a happy and healthy holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I went here for 2 days to view the foliage and relax. The scenery here and on the way is beautiful. We were upgraded to a suite without requesting it so that was pretty nice. The place is kept spotless except for the rec room. Our suite was very comfortable with a full kitchen and 2 tv's. The food is pretty good and plentiful.It did have a mostly senior crowd, but they seem to get more families and younger people in the summer. There was a good singer one night and a comerian the next. The staff is very nice and the restaurant service was quick and excellent. I don't know why someone on Trip Advisor complained about waiting long to get served. There aren't many of these resorts left in the Catskills, this is a nice one.

Room Tip: We were in the Capri wing, very quiet and no shuttle required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We came in October to see some of the fall foliage. The resort has a lot of activities but we are not really the bingo/shuffleboard-type so there was not much to do. They were actually bussing in some senior citizens for some of the activities and shows, which I think would be great for them. However, we are not seniors and we found that a lot of the attractions in the surrounding area had already closed for the season or had limited operating hours, so we did a lot of sitting around. This place would be great for families in the summer as there were a lot of kid friendly areas....pools, paintball, go carts etc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Timeshare owners, put your worries at rest about exchanging into Villa Roma! After thoroughly reading ALL the reviews (yes, I really did read ALL the reviews and yes, I am anal) on tripadvisor.com and travel.yahoo with mixed reviews from timeshare owners, I was VERY hesitant about exchanging into Villa Roma. I was especially hesitant as a timeshare owner of multiple 3 bedroom units at premium/gold rated timeshare resorts during the Christmas and New Year's weeks, who has ONLY exchanged into other premium/gold rated timeshare resorts due to our great power to trade our weeks.

Villa Roma truly has all around top-rate staff. Carol Ann Cook, timeshare manager, was very personable and understanding about my concerns about trading into Villa Roma with its mixed reviews and extremely prompt and accommodating in addressing ALL my concerns PRIOR to arriving at Villa Roma - THANK YOU, Carol Ann!!! Check-in was very quick and welcoming and I am assuming that check-out will be just as quick this Sunday. Jean in housekeeping is terrific --- our entire unit is IMMACULATE -- if you are a complete germaphobe like I am or have dust allergies, this resort really takes cleanliness seriously! When we reported in the inventory list a very minor issue of a slightly loose upper kitchen cabinet lock, which we were not even using, the maintenance department was very quick and professional in responding and fixing the lock, which was not even an issue for us.

Thanks to Carol Ann's personal attention to our concerns about our timeshare exchange, our family is here at Villa Roma in a spacious 2 bedroom timeshare unit (Building IX, units 813 and 815 during Oct 7th-14th week) which has all newly updated kitchen appliances, granite kitchen countertops, newly renovated bathrooms, 2 flat screen TVs and 1 regular tube TV which I understand will also be updated to a flat screen in the near future, and VERY comfortable beds --I REALLY mean COMFORTABLE beds and this is coming from a person with a chronic back problem from motor vehicle accident. This timeshare INCLUDES daily maid service with new towels, trash removal, wipe down and on Wednesday, change of sheets as well! :) This resort also INCLUDES FREE Wifi to connect to the internet! This resort has shuttle van service within the resort that seemed to run quite frequently. We saw these shuttle vans almost every time we were walking to or from our timeshare building--running empty most of the time.

Villa Roma property is in an excellent location to enjoy the fall foliage without even leaving the resort (e.g., from the porch of the timeshare unit)! But, if you have access to a car, venturing out a little will take you to BREATHTAKING fall foliage scenes with beautiful lakes and Monet painting-like fall foliage mountain back drops with great hiking trails for all fitness levels. A drive to Lake Minnewaska at a state park and a day trip to Mohonk Mountain are DEFINITELY well worth the money and time - they are both about one hour drive from the resort and located near each other, but you could easily spend a full day at each place.

Villa Roma has full schedule of activities from morning until late night to occupy kids, teens to adults. Having exchanged into ONLY premium/gold resorts prior to this exchange, I was very pleasantly surprised by the full daily schedule of events at this resort which rival, if not exceed, some of the premium/gold resorts.

In sum, although some of the facilities (e.g., fitness room with towel service, game room, bowling alley, swimming pool with towel service, sauna - which by the way are all free except bowling) are not quite premium/gold level resort quality, they ARE well maintained. The overall quality of the timeshare unit/resort location, combined especially with the quality of all the staff at all different levels from timeshare manager, housekeeping, maintenance to front desk check-in make this timeshare feel like a home away from home. Our family would not hesitate to exchange into Villa Roma again next year to enjoy the fall foliage!

Room Tip: No elevators in the timeshare units. Building VI 2nd floor is reportedly known for excellent housek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BucksCounty_PA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
289 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
452 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kenoza Lake View Manor
Kenoza Lake View Manor
#1 of 1 in Kenoza Lake
8 reviews
19.4 mi away
Schrute Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Callicoon, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing