We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Villa Roma Resort

Villa Roma Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Callicoon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
163 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Been coming here since I was little. Keep coming back. I eventually bought a condo here. Great location. New pool area and hot tub. New lobby and entrance. Spending more money on renovations this year. Great family place. Service is good. Facilities are good. Food is very good. Weekend nightly shows are alot of fun.

Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    24
    17
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hortonville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great resort”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Been here for years one of the last few origional resorts of Sullivan county, ny also used to be known as the Borcht belt. Great for dinner, weddings, all occations

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hideous”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

First, don't be alarmed if when you call, they force you into an early time slot by saying, "no, we have no room, we have to get you in earlier," only to be one of 3 seated tables.
Second, don't expect them to explain there is one bill for eating and another for drinking. Just expect them to ask for a cc in the middle.
Third, don't expect the food or wine to be good. It's not.

Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another Catskill Kitchen”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Roma timeshare which was a horrible experience. We ate 4 times at both the Villa Roma main restaurant and the Roman Garden Cafe. The breakfast special was actually one of the better eating experiences! Our waitress, Cathy, was very nice always smiling and very helpful. We tried the BBQ in the Cafe as well and it was okay. Dinners in the main dining room are just fair. They are priced well at $25-$35 pp. On Thursday night they give you plenty to eat at the Julius Ceasar night! Basically all the waiter takes is the entree for your order and everything comes automatically. I was a little disappointed that we weren't told that if you wanted certain appetizers you had to request them separately.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best of the Catskills”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you are fortunate enough to get to the Callicoon area and stay in the Villa Roma Resort, you will have some great dining experiences. I've been coming here since the early 1980s and have seen the dining room in the hotel go from good to okay to excellent. The Clubhouse on the golf course was a regular staple of mine but they have cut back on their hours because of under bookings and the poor economy. That's too bad because it had the best view in the area looking out over the mountains and golf course. The dining room in the hotel offers dining like you heard your grandma talk about when she was a kid - numerous courses and good quality - served by wait staff who quickly learn your name, remember your favorites and aim to please. Several years ago a terrible fire destroyed most of the hotel's main building and dining room. The new dining room is grand, very large and similar to what you may expect in a NYC ballroom, only more Italian in design. Try a Ceasar's Night for the royal works and a seven course meal. Just make sure you leave room for dessert - there's plenty of that too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Roma Resort also viewed

Callicoon, Catskill Region
Callicoon, Catskill Region
 
Callicoon, Catskill Region
 

Been to Villa Roma Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing