We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Caledonia
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rochester New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were seated right away and ordered drinks. The food took a little while coming out but when the food did the plates were very nicely prepared. The food tasted good and we all were very surprised that a small town had such a nice restaurant. Definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    11
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, Great Food, Quality Place”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Once again I requested a night out at the Caledonia Village Inn for a special event in my life. This time I ordered the New York Strip Steak, french onion soup and house salad which was all spectacular. It was hard to fit in after the warm bread comes to the table encrusted in herbs and parmesan cheese. We decided not to order dessert and were treated with "Grandma's cookies", two iced sugar cookies given on the house to give you a sweet ending to your meal.
It's all the little things they do there, like fold your napkin and leave it on your chair if you excuse yourself to go to the restroom and write a message of thanks on your take home box. Oh, and don't forget to check out the trophy case of chef and ice carving awards hidden by the bathroom. The beautiful 100 year old inn is a perfect setting. Do yourself a favor and check this place out for a casual night (in the bar) or a big night out (in the dining room).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familytrip831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Easter Eve Dinner”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a party of 12 for Easter Eve dinner. We all made the drive from Rochester out to Caledonia to the Caledonia Village Inn. The staff was exceptional, and the food was outstanding! Lisa does a great job greeting and making you feel like you are the only people in the restaurant. This was the first visit for many in our party and we are sure there will be many trips back to the Caledonia Village Inn!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbarnes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
225 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quality of food has gone down”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I have been going to the Village Inn for quite some time. We decided to take my son and daughter-in-law and my daughter there for dinner over the Christmas holidays. The service, as always, was very good, BUT the quality of food was not that great. It was also quite cold inside and my wife and daughter kept their coats over their shoulders while we were there.My wife had always loved their Lobster Bisque, so she and my son and daughter-in-law ordered it. The color had always been pinkish, but this time it was almost a dark pink, and it tasted as though it had been cooked too long and actually had a burnt taste to it. My daughter-in-laws fish was mushy and my scallop dinner had very few scallops in the cream sauce. Overall, it was a disappointment in our children's first experience there. We are not sure if we will continue to go there for a good meal. Quite a let down.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retirement Party”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We recently celebrated a retirement party for one of my employees. Lisa was great in assisting me to set it up. We had a total of 29 people and they were able to accomodate out request for individual meals. The food and the service were great. Made for a very nice memorable party. Thank you to Lisa & Jeff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Caledonia, Finger Lakes
 
Caledonia, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing