We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were happy”
Review of Motel 6 Calcium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Calcium
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcium
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed this past weekend for my birthday trip to Bolt castle. The staff was very helpful. The hotel was clean, carpets clean, no stains, had no off smell at all. The room was a decent size, after all we are sleeping there not having a party! The room was very clean from floor to ceiling. Bed was comfortable, and there was an extra pillow and blanket, which is nice to not have to ask for it should you want it. The bench seat by the window was a real nice touch. Even though it was a smoking room it had no bad smell and we smoke.
Bathroom was very clean, no mold or dirt in shower area, shower drained well, toilet required holding the handle down, but not a big deal. Fridge and microwave were clean. Free Wi-Fi was fast, we could hear other guests a bit and traffic but nothing to hinder our sleep. The only thing I could have a comment on improving is the coffee it sucked. If you’re giving a free breakfast that’s awesome, but please, invest in better coffee?

Room Tip: stay in the back side of the hotel to avoid traffic noise, if that bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 541 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I can't believe they have a "SMOKING" lobby. The first thing we noticed when we entered was the smoke filled lobby. Not sure if it was staff or traveler related, but not a good way to start. The rest of the stay was just OK. It is a basic older Microtel with small, but clean rooms and paper thin walls. You can hear a normal level conversation next door, word for word.
I guess we can’t complain, since it worked for one night and it is just outside the gates of a major military base (Fort Drum), but I don’t think we will be back.

Room Tip: Back side if hotel, away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpmcblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed one night as a stopover. The room had 2 queen beds, a microwave, fridge and window seat. We were on the first floor and some guests were very loud during the night in the lobby. The staff asked them to keep their voices down but could do little else to make that happen. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was a basic continental type. Having McDonald's right next door and being able to walk there was nice. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. This is not a luxury place to stay, but the cheaper price than the other hotels in the area make it a good choice for one or two nights.

Room Tip: 2 queen room was spacious enough for 3 people, stay away from the front lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Pros: Very clean rooms with a nice, firm comfortable bed, good and modern looking furniture. A small resting space / window couch that can be used so as not to disturb someone sleeping on the bed. Free Wifi and friendly, helpful staff. Good, clean linens. Quiet.

Cons: Bed was queen size, not a king size. Room is not large. CRT (not flat screen) TV.

Other things: Free continental breakfast is adequate though nothing special. Internal corridors though second floor is a walk up (no elevator.)

Overall, we slept well and had a good, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanevoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Well, it was okay. Tiny room. Dirty toilet. No hair dryer in the room. Rumor was you could go down and ask for one at the front. I travel with my wife, guess what? No hair dryer in the room is a deal breaker. Find another way to make it work. Whoever thought that up should be horse whipped. Lol A nothing breakfast. Just not great. We'll spend a few bucks more and hi to LaQuinta.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

When I say "your money", I mean it's YOUR MONEY and I would not spend it here! I stayed here while on business in the area. I normally stay elsewhere but all were filled. Overall this place was a large disappointment. I have stayed at other Microtel facilities and they were far better. Check in was not so friendly, and the room was dirty. Bed was barely made which prompted me to pull bedcovers back to check for sighns of the beds being slept in. Nothing found. The bathroom was a different story. Hair in the shower stall, an unflushed toilet and the towels had a bad smell to them, not a fresh laundered smell at all. The continental breakfast was lame. Frozen english muffins and weak orange juice was enough for me. Had enough with this one and never again.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room away from where the rooms that pets are allowed in. Walls are paper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senchey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for a girls softball tournament in Watertown. The rooms are very basic but clean. They have a small continental breakfast. Bring your own hair dryer. No pool. Mcdonald's is located next door. All in all its ok to stay here. Just don't expect anything extra. Its a Microtel.

Room Tip: Request a double bed suite. Other rooms are to small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcium
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Evans Mills/Fort Drum
11.6 mi away
Pleasant Night Inn - Fort Drum
5.5 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Watertown Fort Drum
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
356 reviews
6.1 mi away
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#9 of 14 in Watertown
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Calcium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Calcium

Address: 8000 Virginia Smith Drive, Calcium, NY 13616
Location: United States > New York > Calcium
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcium
Price Range: $45 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Calcium 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Microtel Inns & Suites Watertown (Calcium, NY) is conveniently located to major transportation routes, shopping, and tourist destinations in the 1000 Islands region of New York State. The property features one-bedroom, two-bedrooms, and suite rooms, many of which feature mini refrigerators and microwaves. Our friendly staff is ready to make your stay a comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Calcium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Calcium Hotel Calcium
Microtel Calcium
Calcium Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing