We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy”
Review of Motel 6 Calcium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Calcium
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcium
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for a girls softball tournament in Watertown. The rooms are very basic but clean. They have a small continental breakfast. Bring your own hair dryer. No pool. Mcdonald's is located next door. All in all its ok to stay here. Just don't expect anything extra. Its a Microtel.

Room Tip: Request a double bed suite. Other rooms are to small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 541 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Fort Drum/Calcium NY Microtel 29 Jun thru 1 Jul while visiting friends in Black River. We chose the Microtel for the great nightly rate and promiximity to our friend's house (probably a 5 minute drive, really convenient for us!) For point of reference, we are in late 20's, early 30's.

We booked a room with Queen-size bed and, based on reviews here, I didn't set my expectations too high. However, upon seeing our room for the first time, we were both very pleased. These are nice rooms! Updates are apparent. Our room featured a comfy Queen-size bed with nice linens (the white sateen stripe kind) and light-weight down comforter. A nice unique touch was the padded window seat, which served as a great spot to keep our bags and everything at a nice height to go through without bending. The AC worked very well; we actually turned it down upon entering, as the room was cold (on 90+ degree day), but it adjusted perfectly.

Additional features included mini-fridge, microwave, wardrobe with hangers and luggage rack, wall length mirror behind bed and small desk with another mirror above it. Outlets to both sides of the bed and mutliple light switches to work the three different sets of lights in the room. Lighting was a bit dim when curtains are drawn, but was quite bright in the bathroom. The mirror behind the bed helps reflect light, making the room feel bigger than it is, and we really enjoyed it. Bathroom had granite counter top and curved shower curtain rod. Shower pressue was good, and water was plenty hot. Bathroom also had a warming light on a timer, which I thought was a nice feature, as the ice cold AC left the bathroom very cold.

A couple "cons": Pillows were overly soft/flat and the first night I woke with a stuff neck, but not the second night. The toilet didn't always flush fully and tissue would get left in the bowl. The bathroom showed the hotel's true age, but I will say it was well kept and did not feel dirty, just a bit run down. We had one nice plush towel, and one nubbier one, but that didn't really matter to us. On the first floor, you can hear upstairs guest moving around, but at no point were we aware of our neighbors on either side, and the upstairs noise was fairly muffled. AC kicking on in the middle of the night did begin with a loud startling screechy noice, but only happened once each night, in the early morning.

The staff of this hotel were super friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was very nice - served 0630-0930, included yogurt, oatmeal, cereals, english muffins and toast, packaged muffins, fruit, coffee, tea and juices. There may have been other items, but I don't recall, we only went once. All public/common areas of the htoel were very nice, clean and updated. Fresh flowers set out on the breakfast tables was another nice touch.

Be advised, this is a pet--friendly hotel. This fact had zero effect on our stay, other than enjoying seeing other guests walking their cute dogs (and cleaning up after them.) Pets were not loud, and our room was not soiled in anyway, and it smelled fresh.

Our friends are moving from NY, but we may stay at this hotel again in the future, using as a base for our exploring of Alex Bay and Sacket's Harbor (both about 30 minute drive from this hotel - which is very centrally located and near to 81.) Great place!

Room Tip: Staying on the second floor would elminate the overhead noise from guests you get in the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Where do I begin? I stayed in the hotel for two days. Floor carpet dirty and old. AC had cobwebs and dirt. Room smelled like old musky mold. The last morning I got up I had a spider crawling all over me in bed. Internet service is fast. Breakfast is avg.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaggeddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed here at the last minute during a shopping trip to Syracuse/Watertown.
Check-in was quick and the room was clean and quiet.
Continental breakfast was your typical bagel, toaster waffle, cereal and coffee type.
There is a Wal-Mart Superstore and a couple of eateries just down the road for convenience.
The price was one of the best in the Watertown area as well.
We've stayed here before, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We wanted to stop in Watertown, on our way to Montreal, but most hotels were full and/or overpriced. The hotel was just OK, had a fridge & microwave, quite large room on higher floor, but despite the fact I have a Wyndham card that allows for discounts, I did not regard it as the best value for money. The room was clean, bathroom could be cleaner, the staircase was a bit dirty.
Close to the road, next to McDonalds, no trees or ambiance.

Room Tip: Call direct to get a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My boyfriend is stationed at Fort Drum so I visit him quite often. This hotel is very close to the gate, and extremely affordable. You get what you paid for, nothing fancy. The rooms are simple but they are clean. The staff is very friendly. The complimentary coffee is delicious. I've stayed here several times and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acart3rrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Recently I spent two nights and the better part of three days at this location, we had asked for an early arrival, no problem. While there staff could not have been any more friendly or accommodating. We already ask about next year before we left. Definitely would reccomend it.

Room Tip: All rooms have easy access to outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcium
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Evans Mills/Fort Drum
11.6 mi away
Pleasant Night Inn - Fort Drum
5.5 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Watertown Fort Drum
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
356 reviews
6.1 mi away
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#9 of 14 in Watertown
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Calcium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Calcium

Address: 8000 Virginia Smith Drive, Calcium, NY 13616
Location: United States > New York > Calcium
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcium
Price Range: $45 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Calcium 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Microtel Inns & Suites Watertown (Calcium, NY) is conveniently located to major transportation routes, shopping, and tourist destinations in the 1000 Islands region of New York State. The property features one-bedroom, two-bedrooms, and suite rooms, many of which feature mini refrigerators and microwaves. Our friendly staff is ready to make your stay a comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Calcium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Calcium Hotel Calcium
Microtel Calcium
Calcium Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing