We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Finger Lakes B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burdett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Burdett B&B and Inns
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice Finger Lakes B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We picked Sunset on Seneca based on good Trip Advisor reviews, and it lived up to its reputation. Donna and Frank are thoughtful, friendly, helpful hosts. Breakfast was excellent, with many good choices. We had a large, comfortable second-floor room with a view of the lake. The location is good for visiting the Finger Lakes area, hiking at Watkins Glen, wine tasting, and so forth. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saratoga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our hosts, Donna and Frank, were so pleasant and made our stay so enjoyable. We were in the Blue Room which has a wonderful view of the lake. They were willing to accommodate our requests and were a step ahead of us most of the time. Food was excellent. Being on the shoreline of Seneca lake makes it unique among the B&Bs. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetonSeneca, Owner at Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We would like to get in touch with you to determine what interfered with your sleep quality. If it's something we can fix, we need to know what it was. Please email us when you have a moment. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasure to travel to Watkinsglen for 2 days and have such a lovely place to call our home away from home! This B&B and the hosts are a treasure for Seneca Lake visits. We make several trips a year to Isabella spa at Belhurst and look forward to landing at Sunset on Seneca at the end of the day as well as the beautiful "breakfast with a view" each morning! Our only regret is that we have not tried this B&B sooner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

TripAdvisor reviews have gained importance in determining where to stay or eat. We saw the review of SenecaonSunset while making plans to visit Seneca Lake this past August, 2013. Frank and Donna run this B&B; both are retired from the military. The venue is in a perfect location at the Southern most end of the lake. That way you can either visit wineries on the west side or east side. The venue is even within walking distance of Watkins Glen. A full breakfast is available; eating Frank's zucchini bread is worth the stay by itself. The sleeping rooms are spotless. The B&B is located right on Seneca Lake with gorgeous views. If you are looking to stay in Seneca Lake, this B&B is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaaaveep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a gorgeous B&B on the shore of the Seneca Lake- lovely rooms, delicious food and most of all- wonderful hosts. Donna and Frank live there, attend to your every need, discuss local activities and provide everything you could need. This as a terrific place to stay - please book it soon to truly enjoy this upper New York vacation area.

Room Tip: You can overlook the Lake form a front bedroom or enjoy peace and quiet in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRN1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first time staying at Sunset on Seneca, and it won’t be our last. We arrived on Friday afternoon, and we were greeted by Donna, with a big smile and welcome. After going over what was were she helped us with different places to eat. And what is a good time to go to Watkins Glen race track for the races on Saturday and Sunday.
The room was very big, bright and felt like home. Everything you could think of and needed was in the room and bathroom. We had a great view looking out at the lake, and the deck.
Donna and Frank take care of everything you could possible ask for. In the morning the sweet smell of fresh baked buns and fresh fruit fill the house. Oh yea and the fresh ground coffee too. Breakfast will carry you until dinner time, lookout for Frank he has a small dish after your finish eating he likes to call the temptation dish, for that one more slice of cake or extra dish of fruit.
At night you can sit out on the deck and enjoy a great sunset, we sat one afternoon with a nice breeze coming off the lake with a bottle of wine and just enjoyed the day.
We are looking forward to our next trip up and spending time at Sunset on Seneca. Hope fully it will be for more than 5 days
Kathy & Mike

Room Tip: very easy to get to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyMike89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

On our trip to the Seneca Lake Wine and Food Festival my wife an I stayed here. The location was super-right around the corner from the park and a 3 minutes walk. The building is very nice and that is overshadowed by the owners-Frank and Donna-as well as Frank's cousin who stepped in as a surrogate Donna for one morning. The room was very nice-just a bit small. However if you go places and plan on stating in the room all the time you might want to consider staying home. It was very comfortable with a sleep number bed. The waterfall shower was fun to try but impractical to use more that once. It is very impressive to see. The breakfasts were super! No pressure. Simply tell them the night before what time you might want breakfast the next day. You have several choices all were great. The deck was great. I used it to "veg" and lighten the cooler I brought of the adult beverages during the afternoon. It was very calming and the view was great. I hate cats. I knew they would be there. They didn't bother me at all. Don't hesitate to book and stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burdett
1.0 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
12.1 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#6 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3221 State Route 414, Located Just Outside of Watkins Glen, NY, Burdett, NY 14818-9674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Burdett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burdett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three room B&B located on the water at the South East corner of Seneca Lake, just outside of Watkins Glen. Our rooms all have 1 queen Select Comfort (Sleep Number) bed and Private Bath. Included in the room rate: WI-Fi, Satellite TV, Individually Controlled Air conditioning, Robes, Hairdryers, Irons and Ironing Boards. Guests have full use of the Deck, Dock and Hot Tub located on the deck. A full breakfast is served on your schedule and is cooked to order. All rooms are on the second floor, accessible by stairs. We are perfectly placed to enjoy the wineries on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail and Watkins Glen State Park (The Gorge) as well as, of course, Seneca Lake. Open year round, as are the local wineries. Your resident Innkeepers look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset On Seneca Bed & Breakfast Finger Lakes, NY - Burdett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing