We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place to get away and relax”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burdett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red House Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Burdett B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible place to get away and relax”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My stay at the Red House was the best weekend away. The Innkeepers are friendly compassionate individuals. My room was wonderful with warm flannel sheets as it was November. Beanie the Chef made an incredible breakfast and had cofffee on all day Saturday for us as we sat back and relaxed for the day. There are great places to go for a walk. Upon arrival they did ask that no one park on the grass....but there is ample space to park. Keep in mind you are in the country so you dont always know where a septic tank or gas lines are buried. As far as other comments about paper towels or no bath mats. I did not see paper towels but honestly would have prefered to have them as you share a bathroom with others so you arent all using the same hand towel. They provided plenty of towels so you could use one as a bath mat. Everything was very clean. It was fun to browse through the store and see a variety of gift ideas. Overall I had a wonderful stay at the Red House. It was like going to my grandparents farm as a kid. I lool forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaydababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

. . . THIS B & B has made us decide to use only hotels or motels in the future. On our recent vacation, we visited two motels (both great) and two B & B's (one great . . . the other was the Red House). If you read earlier reviews about the musty smell . . . BELIEVE THEM. The Red House smells mustier even than its century-and-a-half (it definitely SMELLS like the oldest B&B in Schuyler County!). Our room (Red Room) was cramped. No place to put anything . . . the only dresser was stuffed with sheets and other linens. Upon arrival, we were immediately told to "never park on the grass" (we hadn't) and "never let in Bill the cat". Otherwise, not a word about where we were from, how our trip was going; in short, no hospitality at all. It wasn't the innkeeper's fault that the other family visiting was noisy, intrusive and urinated all over the toilets. That's just the risk of using a B&B with shared bathrooms (which, by the way, have no shelves, no hooks, no anything to put one's clothes or toiletries). But the close and cramped proximity of everything . . . plus the all-pervasive smell . . . made us go to bed as early as possible, get up and leave as early as possible, and swear off B&Bs for good. Oh, and don't come when it's getting dark . . . you'll have to stop your car on the road just to make sure it's really the Red House. It's poorly marked. We may return to the Seneca Lake area one day, but we'll favor another innkeeper with our business. If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay on vacation, I beg you . . . look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Foliageguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at the Red House Country Inn back in November. We are a family of four ( 2 children) and the innkeepers had us stay in a family room which had a queen size bed, full size bed and one single, dressers and plenty of space. We had an opportunity to see other guest rooms as well, and they were all clean and nicely decorated staying with the decor through out the house. The bathrooms are shared, clean and well stocked.

Once you walk into the inn, there is a long enclosed porch with a small gift shop filled with country gifts and artwork. There is a guest kitchen, which is thoughtful, so that you can bring your own snacks or drinks to store during your stay. There is also a guest dining area and living room with lots of comfortable sofas, chairs, television and fireplace. During our stay, it was cold outside/snowing, but the inside was toasty warm and I felt like we were staying at a family members house all cozy and comfy. The owners have their own wing in the house, so the stay was very comfortable and semi private. The innkeeper, Beanie, an executive chef, had a wonderful breakfast ready for us each morning.

The innkeepers are very sweet, and make you feel at home, welcoming you with a smile and a hug (along with their adorable puppies). The inn is quiet and serene, located in the Finger Lakes Region and the Finger Lakes National Forest. And believe me you ARE in the forest, absolutely breathtaking. Nearby, there is a small town with some shopping and restaurants. We did not venture out much, but there are wineries close by, as well as summer lake and winter activities. The innkeepers provide quite a few services at the inn that you can check out on their website www.redhousecountryinn.com.

All in all, we had a nice relaxing time and enjoyed our stay very much. A previous reviewer commented how there was no wifi, but to be honest with you, if you need wifi, you best not be staying at a B&B. B&B's are meant for rest and relaxation, with the warm comfortable feeling of staying with friends or family, which is exactly what we got :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
595 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We and another couple spent three nights at the Little Red and both of us would go back again in a heartbeat. True, they don't have a hot tub and you won't feel pampered in luxury, but you won't be paying $200 a night for your room, either. Did any of you complainers look at his website? If you didn't then your problem is the size of your own expectations, not something promised and not delivered.

Here's what you get at the Little Red: a quaint, clean, comfortable room in a 150 year old farmhouse spectacularly well situated for the best restuarants and wineries on Lake Seneca with a great breakfast prepared for you by a very friendly host, Beanie. You will have a living room and a dining room at your disposal during your stay, as Beanie and his wife live in an addition to the original home. There are horses to pet and dogs to visit (yes one barks, a large fluffy not-scary-at-all white Pyrenees who wags his tail nonstop, that's his job, he watches out for the horses), and you're surrounded by otherwise quiet countryside.

Musty smelling as one person complained? Nope. Paper towels in the bathroom as another said? Nope. Ignore those reviews--they're very unfair. THIS is the only one you need.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UnrepentantFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We've stayed at a lot of B&B's and they've varied in quality but we've never been this disappointed before. The inn could be charming, but lacks severely in amenities. In addition to the lack of bath mats and the paper towels the other reviewer mentioned, the house was musty smelling and not very clean. While the owner bills himself as a chef, the breakfasts were mediocre -- rubbery scrambled eggs and box mix pancakes. He seems to be more interested in his horses than in his customers.

The inn features a lovely porch -- a great place to have a glass of wine -- but there were no wine glasses. Good thing we brought our own. And WiFi? Forget it. Or as the owner told us when we iinquired -- "Get over it."

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthbyNorthwest_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We would rate this B & B as average because it lacked some of the amenities that we have had in other B & B stays. The breakfasts were average. Unfortunately, the bathrooms were shared using paper towels and no bathmat to step out on. There were no drinking glasses supplied. Our room was also average.

  • Liked — Out in the country
  • Disliked — Shared bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burdett
6.6 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
96 reviews
4.4 mi away
Single Island Shores
Single Island Shores
#1 of 2 in Hector
8 reviews
7.7 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Burdett House Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Grist Iron
The Inn at Grist Iron
#1 of 4 in Burdett
198 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Country Inn

Property: Red House Country Inn
Address: 4586 Picnic Area Rd, Burdett, NY 14818-9716
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Burdett
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burdett
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Burdett Country Inn
Red House Country Inn Finger Lakes, NY - Burdett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing