We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic - but comfortable - great waterfall!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this motel on our way to Cooperstown. I chose it because it was on the lake and also had a waterfall on the property. Our party was grandma, grandpa, son and grandsons ages 9 & 10. The boys loved it! The place was clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a bland chain hotel, keep on driving. The rate was reasonable and it was close enough to town to get some dinner and breakfast. It seems they are gradually updating the motel and I would love to come back and stay in a cabin after renovations are complete. Nice people to deal with, too.
They also had chairs and tables placed outside so you could eat out. I'm pretty fussy but I enjoyed the experience. I'm giving the property a " very good" rating because the view was spectacular, the waterfall was great and my grandsons loved it!! I would probably give it an "average" if it were just for the rooms. But that king-sized bed gets a huge thumbs up!!

Room Tip: Room 34 a most comfortable king-sized bed ever and a flat screen TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sommerfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed in motel 1st week in July, 2012. (home base for our self-guided bike tour of the area) Brutally hot weather, but room A/C was perfect. Initially had trouble with wifi, but owners addressed this immediately. Location was beautiful, esp for watching sunsets off the balcony. Even if you don't take out the canoe, make sure to hike down to the edge of the lake. Hector Falls is lovely and part of it is right on the property. Convenient to Watkins Glen (3 mile drive) for meals, although several other eateries along wine trail. (Room does have refrig, so I had cereal and milk a couple mornings.) The property and rooms are somewhat rustic, but we felt it added to the charm of the place. The price was very reasonable for this area.

Room Tip: corner rooms seem larger. Motel is 3 stories---recc level 2 or 3. Cabins also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort in mid-June 2012. We had originally booked a cabin (#7) but was called a few weeks in advance to let us know that the cabins were being renovated and that they needed to move us to the motel. We were disappointed because we liked the idea of the privacy that a cabin afforded, but in the end, we were happy with the move. The cabins were really run down and definitely in need of renovations. The motel was in ok shape and since we were only 1 of 2 guests staying there that weekend, we had privacy anyway. The beds in our motel room were comfortable and the bathroom seemed to have some updates. We had a lake-view room, but were disappointed to find that the window overlooking the lake didn't have a screen, so we couldn't leave it open without letting in a swarm of bugs.

Even though we thought the accommodations were only average, the waterfall that is located on the property made it totally worth it. We never even saw the people staying in the other occupied room so we literally had the waterfall to ourselves the entire time. We took some drinks down there, relaxed, climbed to the upper part of the falls and walked down to the lake. The waterfall is beautiful and we just couldn't get enough of it. There is a highway that runs just over it, but it really didn't bother us.

If you're into nature and waterfalls and ok with basic room accommodations then this place is truly a great find. It wasn't crowded, is located close to Watkins Glen, and the property has more ambiance than you'll find anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisamdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

OK , I just spent the columbus day weekend here , at first glance it looks like a place i would bypass until we checked in and gave it a chance . We stayed in Cabin 4 so im not sure what the hotel was like but the cabin was a typical camping cabin but had a lot of pluses like a private bathroom with shower , a TV , a very comfortable bed and a fridge ......ive stayed in many camp cabins that had no ammenities at all . the big PLUS was the view from out deck !!!! The sweeping views of Seneca lake was worth the price of the stay in itself ....and theres a short walking trail to an incredible waterfall ...... the only negative aspects i noticed it thats its outdated and there is some traffic noise from the road at the top of the hill

the bottom line ........ this place was Clean , comfortable , has great views , is a 5 minute drive to watkins glen state park ( which is absolutley stunning !!!!!) and dozens of wineries , breweries , vineyards , and even a distillery .........if you can get past the 70s decor and light traffic noise this is an ideal location to stay if you want to see seneca lakes attractions .....feel free to email me if you need further info on this place or seneca lakes attractions ....---------

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jaytf1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I was recenty in the finger lakes and on my way passed this resort I saw the resort was reopend, so we wanted to stop by and meet the new owners and see the place ( I run trips to the Finger Lakes for large Groups and a few years ago stayed here and loved it , then it was closed for a couple of years). When I pulled in I was on my way to the office and was greeted by a very RUDE Young man who said this was private property and we had to get off . We informed him that we stayed here before and would like to look around to see whats been done to the place. he said we were taking up his parking lot and to get off . there wasn't a car in the lot , the place was dead and i can understand why if you treat all your cusomers like that.I Wonder why he teated us like that? It was like he was hiding something. we left right away . I run groups of 10 to 20 couples a few times a year to this area and make lodging reservations for all of them . I DEFINITELY KNOW WHARE THEY WONT BE STAYING!!!! I Know alot of people on the lakes and Never Have Been Treated So Rudey ... THEY WILL ALL HERE HOW IGNERENT YOU ARE!!!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
7  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

These visitors pulled in driving a large class-A motorhome pulling a trailer loaded with 2 jet skis. They blocked the entire entrance to our facility with their rig, fortunately most guests were out for the day though, we did have some parked on the lower parking lot. The manager asked how he could help them. They said they had stayed here years ago and wanted to take a walk on the property to visit the waterfalls and take pictures. They never inquired about accomodations, availability or pricing, let alone that they were tour guides looking for a place for a large group to stay. They only wanted to visit the waterfall.Our manager told them the property was for guests use only and asked if they would please move their vehicle as it was blocking our only entrance. They began to call him names and swear. Again, if they had inquired about accomodations, he would have been more than happy to have given them a tour after they moved their rig to a more appropriate parking location. He wasn't hiding anything, just protecting the privacy of the guests who do stay here.This property is a private facility, the grounds are for guest use ONLY. I have no idea why these visitors beleived that they had a right to block the only entrance to this facility and leave the vehicle there while they wander the grounds to their hearts' content, swear at the owners' for asking them to move, then continue this inconsideration by placing a review like this on tripadvisor.I find it very interesting that they now,claim to be tour guides, when they were obviously camping during this stay and this is their first review on tripadvisor. Needless to say, if you choose to stay with us, you can rest assured that we do protect both your privacy while staying at our facility as well as your accessibility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I made a reservation at the Waterfall resort with a little trepidation. There was scant information about it on the web and their website is pretty basic. But once we got there we could not have been happier!

Now let me set some expectations. This is not a fancy resort. In fact, it is very BASIC. The new owners are gradually improving the property. Here is what you will find--extremely clean rooms, bedding and towels that are 4 star quality, helpful and happy owners on site, an extremely convenient location and finally a setting that needs to be seen to be believed.

There are both cabins and motel rooms on the property. Virtually everyone of them has a front-on view of Lake Seneca. But what makes this place so great is the private waterfall. Only guest of the resort have access to a spectacular three-tier waterfall called Hector Falls. The falls are visible driving by on the road but this resort owns the land on both sides of the waterfall. Depending on your cabin you can see and hear the falls from your room. Everyone has access to a flat-rock sitting area next to the falls. You can even take your morning shower in the falls! I doubt there is a better setting in the region.

Being the middle of the week we had the falls almost completely to ourselves--making a bonfire, enjoying wine and soaking in the sunset overlooking the lake with the falls rushing by. Truly an evening that we will never forget!

Finally, the owners also have lake access at the bottom of the hill. You are free to sit by the lakeshore or take out their canoes.

If you are OK with basic, rustic accommodations this is must-stay in the Watkins Glen area!

Room Tip: Choose the two cabins closest to the waterfall or a room directly facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank bhtpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burdett
1.7 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
122 reviews
2.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,265 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Local
The Local
#6 of 7 in Watkins Glen
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Glen Motor Inn
Glen Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Watkins Glen
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort

Address: 3835 State Road 414, Burdett, NY 14818
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Burdett
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Burdett
Price Range: $162 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort NY - Burdett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing