We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Painters'

Painters'
Reserve with OpenTable
Painters' is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Brookhaven
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montauk Hwy
Transit: Bellport train station on the LIRR.
Description: Off of the southern state at exit 57 south, PAINTERS' RESTAURANT, 10,000sq. ft of fun & the avant garde of restaurants. The walls are packed with art from ceiling to floor with the work of local and NYC artists; all for sale. The menu rivals the creativity on the walls with offerings from the "GENIUS" burgers (everybody loves the "andy warhol burger" even though its not a burger) to chef Luis Marin's latin twist on the san francisco seafood classic "cioppino" or seseme crusted ahi tuna. The menu is eclectic to say the least. We have our own version of "tapas" we call YUM with ASIAGO GARLIC BREAD, 5 KINDS OF NACHOS, SUSHI TUNA, FRENCH ONION SOUP...it goes on. We also offer a SAT AND SUN BRUNCH 11-4 (tip: THE CAJUN BAYOU BREAKFAST has eggs shrimp and grits). But its our atmosphere of art (lots of our local artists are often inhabiting the bar), community and fun that makes PAINTERS' the suffolk county place to be.
Brookhaven, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I happen to like painters originally their menu was extremely difficult to read they have corrected that. Their food is good the atmosphere is good drinks are good service is good talking is good I really do not have anything bad to say about painters.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    26
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Mom & Sons favorite place over the years...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Painters has been a special place for my sons and I over the years. Now that one son is in college and another out of the house, I am very nostalgic and lonely for the times we spent together, just the three of us. Painters was the place we'd go to for birthdays. The desserts were really good (warm gooey brownie with hot fudge and ice cream). I also liked drawing on the brown paper bag table cloths and so did they--I'd take part of the paper off the table, dated it and brought it home for a keepsake. I would love to go there while my one son is home on Christmas break....but we'll see....I am very very happy that it has re-opened.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Has not been opened since the fire”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

As good as the food was at Painters the crowd was always crazy. If your dinner ran late it tended to get annoying with people there for the bar or bands would walk around the foods tables. Unfortunately there was a fire that closed the place down. They posted a sign staying it would reopen by summer. It's now Fall and I see no progress at all

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susieque052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have never had a bad meal at Painters. On the weekends at night they usually have live bands and a very big crowd so if you don't enjoy that type of thing avoid weekend visits.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Badrock27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eclectic decor, AND menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Fun place to go with friend or family. It's a bit pricey, but the food is very good - Chef uses a lot of local ingredients, and obviously gets creative doing it. Butternut squash rissotto with grilled shrimp was delicious, and my kids giggled over their pretty standard fried chicken strips - since they are billed as "Chicken Toes". Steak was done perfectly, and the local greens were a nice addition to the plate.

You'll spend a lot of time marveling over who designed this place - mismatched chairs and tables, and artwork from the beautiful to the bizzare cover almost every surface. Wish they would turn their eye to keeping the restaurant itself a bit cleaner, and updated. But you'll come back because it just feels comfortable.

Saturday night showed off a full dining room with a magician and an INCREDIBLY creative ballon artist. Yep - she deserves to be called an artist for what she does - don't expect a standard poddle or hat here - 4 foot tall road runners and octopuses are the rage!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMAJMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painters' also viewed

 
Brookhaven, Long Island
 

Been to Painters'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing