We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a good brunch”
Review of Scalini Osteria

Scalini Osteria
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Bronxville
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Briancon, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We had a good brunch”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We sent for brunch because it s close to home. Never been before and we enjoyed our food. We were on the little terrace in front. That s a good place. The wine list is big enough, Italian wines. Restroom is clean. We ll come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IsidoreProd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The food's a 5 but the service is disorganized.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've been here a few times, most recently, last week. Since it's so close, we've wondered why it isn't a regular place for us. It's been over a year since we've been here. The thing that keeps us from coming here more often is the service. The people working there are moving all the time but we had a difficult time getting their attention. Maybe you have to be a regular to get better service, maybe they're understaffed. Everyone was definitely working hard. We were seated for 15 minutes before anyone came to take a drink order and 30 before we had salads. There were tables that came in after us that had entrees before we had salads.

That said, the food is excellent. All the meals we've had there have been delicious from salads, to pastas, to meat and fish. The wine list is mostly Italian but the selections pair really well with the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had our worst restaurant experience in decades at Scalini, and will never return. Having booked a table for 4 for dinner with a couple of our out-of-town friends, we called ahead to say we'd be 10 minutes late, and were told 'no problem'. When we arrived, less than 10 minutes late, our table had been given away but we were told another would be available in 5 minutes. For the next 50 minutes, the four of us huddled standing in the cramped entrance, asking the maitre d' about our table every 15 minutes or so and being repeatedly told it would be ready 'very shortly'. No apology, no glass of wine, nothing, to cpmensate for the wait. Nor was any apology (or glass of wine) forthcoming when, after 50 minutes of standing waiting, we finally told the maitre d' we were moving on. Thinking this experience must have been an aberration and that the owner would want to know how badly 4 customers had been treated, we wrote very politely to him to describe our experience, and received no response -- apparently he didn't care any more than the maitre d' had done. Never again...........I generally only write reviews of places I've liked....but this merited making an exception!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tuscan Interlude”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A visit to scalini is like a trip back in time, with its enclosed courtyard down the small stairs, as the name mentions. It is the place to go in the warm weather, so relaxing in their outdoor area.
Not to mention the great Italian meal and friendly service you would get.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We've been here many times and while it's expensive it's worth it. The food is always amazing and the service is wonderful. I love sitting outside in the back court yard on a warm summer day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LaceyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalini Osteria also viewed

Bronxville, Westchester County
Bronxville, Westchester County
 
Bronxville, Westchester County
Bronxville, Westchester County
 

Been to Scalini Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing