We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Access to Yankee Stadium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Bronx Near Stadium
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Friendly, Helpful, Great price.
Service was above what we were expecting. We arrived early they put us in our room with no problems. The room was clean and comfortable. Location was great for anyone wanting to go to Yankee Stadium. We walked to the Stadium. Free continental breakfast, everything was fresh and presented nicely.
Ozony and Pete were great help to us. They explained the easiest way to walk to the stadium and then suggested we take a cab back in the evening. After suggesting the cab, they then informed us of about how much we should pay for the quick ride back.
Thank to both gentlemen. On our next visit to the stadium, we will be using this Howard Johnson.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommawalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

I wanted an Inn that was convenient to Yankee Stadium for two adults and two children (12 and 9). Because we were driving up from Pennsylvania that morning and needed to be at the Stadum for the 1:40 pm tour, there was no need for anything other than a reasonably priced clean room, comfortable beds, and air conditioning that worked. We got all of that at the Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium including indoor parking. Phil the manager was great. He answered all of our questions including is it OK to walk to the Stadium which is less then 1 mile away (during the day yes, at night, probably better to take a cab). He even went so far as to suggest we only spend up to $15 for a cab ride, unfortunately, when the game was over, none of the "TAXI" operators would consider driving to the Inn for less than $30. We finally found one that would take the 4 of us for $25. The Continental breakfast was not fancy but offered enough choices that none of us left wishing we had gone someplace else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKleinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great Stay! Traveled with a large group (17 people) and the staff and accommodations were excellent! I strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coach1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I came here last weekend for the Yankees games. I must say this place is excellent for stay as it is very near(walkable) to Yankees Stadium). I came with my family and found good n bad comments about neighborhood but is not the problem of Howard Johnson Yankee stadiums problem. They have police station beside them so is safe. We like the room there. In all it's enjoyable staying there.
Kandarp Patel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandarp003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Although the hotel is in the Bronx, we had no problem walking through the neighborhood to get to Yankee Stadium (the hotel is next door to the police station.) It is about a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute ($8) cab ride to the stadium and the B and D subways to go downtown to Manhattan. The bed and pillows were SUPER comfortable and the rooms were a reasonable rate. A continental breakfast is available but was quite limited.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glamourgirlYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I went to the Cotto/Foreman fight this weekend with a my boyfriend and our best friends. The hotel isn't in a pretty area but it's isolated and next to a police station. The outside doesnt look that nice either. We came from VA and we able to check in really early (11:30am) the room we stayed in was nice and clean. It smelled nice and the manager was super helpful and a really nice guy. I would stay there again. We had a good experiance and we all liked it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I cant wait to go back to NY

Stayed: June 2010
Thank franscene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Every time I go to see a Yankee game...I stay here. Nice place. The staff is friendly and they keep the place clean. Isiah the guy working days at the front desk was especially helpful, and very friendly...GIVE THAT MAN A RAISE OR A PROMOTION! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay out that way including friends and family. Great place to visit. GO YANKEES

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank cubrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronx
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 14 in Bronx
67 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#80 of 473 in New York City
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Bronx Near Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Bronx Near Stadium

Address: 1300 Sedgwick Ave, Bronx, NY 10452-1417
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Bronx Near Stadium 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Bronx Near Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Hotel Bronx
Howard Johnson Yankee Stadium
Howard Johnson Bronx
Bronx Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing