We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lotsa seafood!”

The Original Crab Shanty
Ranked #22 of 1,227 Restaurants in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lotsa seafood!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We'd never visited City Island before and we wanted to go to one of the most authentic seafood restaurants we could find. The Crab Shanty offers large seafood dinners and specials at reasonable (city) prices. Our family of 5 had basically all the seafood we could eat and we only ordered 4 entrees. Between my wife's broiled scallops plate, my whole red snapper and my son's whole lobster with jumbo shrimp special, the calamari plate and chowder my daughters had, the bottomless garlic bread finished us off. I would have rated the restaurant more highly but even at 6PM on a Friday we were seated in a tight booth right across from the kitchen prep area and right next to the bathroom. The food was plentiful but tasted plain, not even a light butter sauce or a little herbs or salt to liven things up. We would probably return but likely want to try one of the other 30 or so seafood restaurants in City Island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    49
    26
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The next best thing to Artie's”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Arite's is across the street from the Crab Shanty. It is clearly the best restaurant in town. For slightly less money, you can go to the Crab Shanty. It's cozy. The food is good, not as good as Artie's, but good. The reason why I stress Artie's is because many people come to visit the Island and ask where's the best place to go. Artie's fills the bill. The Crab Shanty is your second choice and you'll have a good time there if you like the people you're with. I gave it a very good rating on the food. That's a little generous because sometimes some of the food is average, but, it's way better than many of the other restaurants that charge you way more. This is the safe bet when you don't want to go all out but still want to have a decent evening with friends.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank daytripperNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good seafood on City Island”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had lunch at the Crab Shanty on City Island. Food and service were excellent. I hadn't been there in years and the food is still first rate. There are many dining choices on City Island but you can't go wrong with the Crab Shanty. Great lunch with lots of choices; and it includes soup or salad, pasta or potato, coffee and dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EPH9810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of The Best”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been coming here off and on for over 30 years. The food is not only delicious but the portions are huge. The prices are affordable and the service is great. I Love the hot garlic bread and antipasto that's placed on the table before dinner. If you want a before dinner drink, try the Orange Creamcicle you will be surprised.

Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
“The food has changed”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had eaten here in the past and the food was excellent , Dont know what happen in the past few years but the food and service has gone down some grades from excellent to average.
Used to be my place of choice for good food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Crab Shanty also viewed

 

Been to The Original Crab Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing