We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel With Big Rooms”
Review of Opera House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opera House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel With Big Rooms”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a cute boutique hotel surrounded by retail stores, restaurants, and bodegas. It is a nice and affordable hotel near the 2 express train for quick access to the city (Manhattan). We blocked off several rooms for our wedding guests who were from out of town- they all loved it and overall felt safe. Staff is helpful, friendly, and went the extra mile for our odd ball requests. Rooms are very big in comparison to other hotels in the city. Breakfast is fine and will get you through the morning. If you are visiting New York City-this is the place to be!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a late night bite (after 12am) nearby there is a Deli with a nice variety of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    156
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
176
217
31
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

A block from the subway station this hotel is a DIAMOND in the rough, for sure! The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and met our every need. The rooms were very clean and spacious for NYC. The breakfast was minimal, but totally acceptable and tasty (hard boiled eggs, cereals, breakfast pastries and breads, yogurt). Plus you have access to the gym directly next door! Like other reviewers, the area surrounding the hotel seems a little sketchy (for example, I walked to the McDonalds one block away for an ice-cream sundae and it's window service only....), but I never felt unsafe. The best part is that the subway line near the hotel has a direct train into Time Square - super easy! If you're comfortable using the subway, stay here for sure. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had to go to a birthday party in Manhattan. However, we didn't want to pay Manhattan prices! The Opera House Hotel is charming and elegant. Who would have guessed that this little gem is right in the Bronx, surrounded by clothing stores and little restaurants? Husband thought I was insane to book here, but was pleasantly surprised, Very comfortable and quiet rooms with lots of framed prints from the Opera Houses's golden days.Breakfast is continental style and you will find lots of young hipsters there with you. Breakfast is ok-bagels, crereal and fruit. But it's included in your room price and was more than sufficient for us. There are only a couple (read:3) parking spaces associated with the hotel. So, you'll probably have to park in the lot down the street. Parking price was reasonable and attendants were helpful. Parking lot was not scary! Take a chance here. We loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed a week in June, to catch a few evening Yankees games and absolutely loved it! From Duke, checking us in and Andrew checking us out, we have nothing but wonderful things to say. Breakfast was good, the Housekeeping staff was always smiling and happy. Rooms were clean as was the rest of the hotel. Area wasn't too bad either. Subways were a block away and no one bothered you. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22M0E22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Needed to book a quick midweek stay. This place was clean, quiet and safe. Fresh fruit and yogurt on mid floor made this small place welcoming and cozy. Clean and modern. Parking on site is extremely limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulyln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bahama Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Opera House Hotel. Finding a parking slot for our rental car was not a problem at all since only few hotel guests seemed to had rental cars. The parking lot is gated and absolutely secure. The hotel is brandnew, very nicely decorated and the rooms are well equipped. Everything was really clean and nice. Hotel staff was very friendly and entertaining. Breakfast was good (basic, no continental breakfast), even though the breakfast room was freezing cold. No idea why they kept that room so cold. Better grab a sweater when you go to breakfast ;) Free hot drinks 24 hours where an extra plus. The only minus is probably the area. But it's not as rough as people probably think it is. Shops close in the evening and there is not much going on on the street except of some traffic (which you will have everyhwere in the city). Absolute Recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, NY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We attended a Yankees game and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The neighborhood is a little iffy but we never felt unsafe. The staff was wonderful. The room was clean and for NYC a nice size. We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bronx hotels
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott New York The Bronx at Metro Center Atrium
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Stadium
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 14 in Bronx
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Bronx Near Stadium
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
0.3 mi away
Umbrella Hotel
Umbrella Hotel
#9 of 14 in Bronx
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera House Hotel

Property: Opera House Hotel
Address: 436 E 149th St, Bronx, NY 10455-1304
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Opera House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera House Hotel is an intimate and inviting boutique hotel located in a lively neighborhood in the Bronx. Complete with 60 non-smoking guest rooms of varying sizes and styles, the Opera House Hotel provides amenities to meet the individual needs of each visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Opera House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing