We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the Bronx” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Opera House Hotel to your Saves list
Opera House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   436 East 149th Street, Bronx, NY 10455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the Bronx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We attended a Yankees game and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The neighborhood is a little iffy but we never felt unsafe. The staff was wonderful. The room was clean and for NYC a nice size. We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    122
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
141
182
27
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

One of the most wonderful hotels I've ever stayed at and the staff was amazing! We went on a girls trip with a couple of teenagers and we had a wonderful time! Even though I was concerned about staying in the Bronx initially but my fears were swept out the window after the first day! We were out past 1am a few nights and felt perfectly safe! The hotel was right down the block from the subway and the subway line took us straight to Times Square without a having to transfer. The hotel was clean, spacious and included a great complimentary breakfast! I would recommended this hotel to any of my family or friends! The Mexican restraunt right next down as fantastic and had authentic Mexican cuisine; so if you're expecting Taco Bell this is not the restraunt for you!

Room Tip: Sorry accidentally rated pool and fitness center and the Hotel has neither.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Wow was I surprise when I entered the hotel. The room's decor us just how it's posted on their website. The bed and pillows magnificent and the bathroom beautiful. Duke and Carlos at the front desk very pleasant. Door need a bolt for more security but other than highly recommended!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Zvony6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I live in the area and worked in the hospitality Industry for several years it seems the hotel it's pretty good since I always see tourist coming out of the subway station but it would be helpful if they can see a sing or something to indicate then were to go in order to find the hotel. They look so lost trying to figure out we're is north, south or east

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location is great being not to far from the subway. Smack in the middle of a shopping area. beautiful inside. Staff was great. I live in the Bronx and I actually forgot for a second that I was still in the Bronx. It was quite lovely ^_^

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leatha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was above and beyond our expectations for the location. We know that the community is making an effort to improve and are sure it will happen at some point, but the Hotel, the rooms, the venues and especially the staff make this place feel like you are in a midtown hotel and not in the Bronx.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is very nice. The rooms are fairly large and modern. The front desk staff is helpful. East 149th Street is a busy commercial street. A subway stop is only two blocks away.The area is somewhat seedy.
The odd name comes the fact that the building was originally a theatre at which operas and plays were performed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gouverneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronx
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn New York The Bronx at Metro Center Atrium
0.3 mi away
Umbrella Hotel
Umbrella Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bronx
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Bronx Near Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Bronx
Super 8 Bronx
#4 of 11 in Bronx
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#7 of 11 in Bronx
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#43 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera House Hotel

Property: Opera House Hotel
Address: 436 East 149th Street, Bronx, NY 10455
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Opera House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera House Hotel is an intimate and inviting boutique hotel located in a lively neighborhood in the Bronx. Complete with 60 non-smoking guest rooms of varying sizes and styles, the Opera House Hotel provides amenities to meet the individual needs of each visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Opera House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing