We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Opera House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opera House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here last weekend for a 50th birthday party in city island -- great hotel -- I cannot say enough great things about the staff! it was pouring rain out and the staff ran next door to give me cab vouchers for their service -- always smiling happy to help you -- great little Mexican place right next door -- amazing sangria!!!!!!!!!!!! -- the rooms are spotless -- very quiet and comfortable -- waterfall shower head -- def would have paid more but great deal! lots of history too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 652 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

All the positive reviews I read about the hotel are 100% true. The staff is welcoming, helpful and professional, and the rooms are just as in the photos: spacious, new and comfortable. Breakfast could be a bit more varied, but it did keep us fed until dinner time!
The hotel is situated a hundred meters from the subway station and it takes you around 20 minutes to get to Times Square. We had no safety concerns whatsoever.
If I go to NYC again I will definitely stay at this hotel as it is mroe than value for money, it is simply a great place to stay.
p.s. shower heads are attached to the wall, no shower hose. that is the only thing I would change.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuzlak73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

From a very warm welcome to arranging our cab ride at checkout—service couldn't've been better.
Beautiful, well appointed room, and a heavenly bed, self-serve breakfast with many choices, including espresso-based drinks.
Hope to be able to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was absolutely amazing! A group of friends and I were visiting from Boston and we had such a wonderful experience. Duke and Carlos from the front desk were beyond helpful and extremely pleasant. They made our stay that much better. No complaints at all!! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I like to visit and stay all over NYC and stumbled across this hotel in the Bronx. We've stayed in hotels that have cost 3x the price and weren't half as nice, had anywhere near as nice of a staff or the majority of the features of this hotel. Next door is an amazing restaurant as well. We were helped and greeted by Duke at the front and he was kind, funny, helpful and extremely considerate as we asked him a ton of questions about what's nearby and what more can we expect from the hotel. We loved the hotel so much we insisted to get updated on any possible rewards program they might have. Absolutely loved the hotel, although it may not be in the most desired area trust me when I say it's like an oasis in the desert. It's amazing. Please do yourself a favor and check out this beautiful, modern, spacious, comfortable and affordable hotel.


-Ashley&Shawn

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashleymacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After hours of reviewing NYC area hotels and reading countless reviews, we reserved the room at the Opera House Hotel for our getaway trip. I was more than pleased with that decision as soon as I arrived! I was greeted by two very friendly gentlemen at the front desk. They promptly processed me through, and although there was no parking available in their complimentary lot, they guided me to a lot across the street that charged only $12 for the full time we were there. Very helpful. The entire hotel, top to bottom is impeccably clean and beautifully decorated with clippings and photos of past Opera House events and actors. The double queen room was very large and very clean. The neighborhood is as safe as you can imagine for an NYC neighborhood. I never once felt unsafe, even with two preteen girls with me. The pizza shop one block up the hill has amazing pizza, and their staff was very friendly as well. The subway line is just a 5 minute walk up the hill, and a quick ride into the city. All around the hotel are various clothing, food and beauty shops for browsing and entertainment. All around I am very, very impressed with this place. My one recommendation is that you ask in advance if there is any construction going on. On our last day we had intended to sleep in before our long drive home. We were suddenly awoken just before 8 am by the most horribly loud, rattling noise that made the floors shake. Scared, I called the front desk and was told by Melissa that it was construction. This extremely loud drilling sound continued the rest of the morning as well. It was not however audible on the Mezzanine level while we were eating breakfast, so I am certain there are rooms in the building that are safe from this. Just ask ahead of time to avoid this, and I guarantee you too will love this place!

Room Tip: Ask ahead to avoid construction noise, especially on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganP1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was lovely inside for the price we paid. The neighborhood was a little sketchy but there were always people around. We travelled back to the hotel at about 4am and were able to take the subway which is only a block from the hotel. The area was not bad at night. The inside of the hotel is very nice. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly. There are only 4 spots to park your car but we were able to find free street parking a block away. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronx
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 14 in Bronx
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Umbrella Hotel
#8 of 14 in Bronx
17 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#83 of 471 in New York City
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera House Hotel

Address: 436 E 149th St, Bronx, NY 10455-1304
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range: $110 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opera House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera House Hotel is an intimate and inviting boutique hotel located in a lively neighborhood in the Bronx. Complete with 60 non-smoking guest rooms of varying sizes and styles, the Opera House Hotel provides amenities to meet the individual needs of each visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Opera House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing