We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ghetto” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seafood City

Seafood City
Ranked #116 of 1,209 Restaurants in Bronx
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ghetto”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting high quality seafood as its a busy restaurant in City Island, but it was very disappointing.

Their broiled king crab was super salty. Not only was the meat salty but the seafood seasoning they put over the cracked meat makes it even more salty. I ended up getting a lot if butter and rinsing the meat in it to dilute the saltiness. The snow crab $27 was not as salty as it doesn't come cracked so the seasoning is only on the shell and not the meat.
Most time come with baked potato, super slim fries, or flavorless and hard rice pillaf- all just bland.
The broiled shrimp also came with the salty seasoning and the portion and shrimp size was very small for $18 over rice.

The cashiers and employees are always screwing around and absolutely rude to customers.

After visiting this place I realize how much location means to a business. You can serve bad tasting seafood but as long as you are at a good location, people will flock in. Absolutely ridiculous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeriousTravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Used to come here all the time...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

But we stopped frequenting this spot. It's basically a large galvanized steel structure with tables, juke box machine and video games. Menu is up high on a board. You order at the cashier and they call your number and pick up food. Drinks are strong and served in plastic cups. They make no attempt explain preparation food except to say fried, baked or broiled. Drink menu also no explanation of ingredients. Drink lines can get crazy long weekend/summer nights. Not so cheap anymore for what it is. The crowd has become too ghetto and loud. Just too Bronxy. Food quanity is too low for the increasing prices. For the money, you can get better seafood elsewhere with a better crowd and drinks that dont like straight alcohol. Just not worth it anymore. We no longer spend money here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SBFINCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“OK for lunch on a sunny day:”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were in City Island and it was time for lunch. After looking at a few restaurants we decided to have lunch at Seafood City where the prices were reasonable. They had a lot of selections posted on the overhead menu board and we decided to order the Halibut which came with a baked potato and veggies. It was actually very good.

The restaurant is large and you have to wait on line to order; then once they have the order they give you a number and you have to wait until your number is called. It can be quite noisy because there’s room for a lot of people in an open environment and there’s an arcade at one end where children can play. So, if you go there on a nice day you may want to sit outside and look at the Bay.

If you decide to go there, and use the Cross Bronx Expwy please check the traffic flow. There’s construction on the Alexander Hamilton Bridge and that causes a major backup. Also, you should get to the restaurant before 11:30 AM. We did and were able to park close to the entrance. If you get there later, it gets crowded.

I have no idea how this place would be for dinner, but lunch was good and the price was reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If your trying to impress your date this aint that kinda place, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

...if you want good food, noisy, park your own car (no valet service), casual attire, reasonable price, then this your spot. Food is fresh. There's something on the menu for everyone. You place your order and wait for your number to be called. Then you seat yourself (or have your family/friends hold a table). All in all my family likes this place. When we want a fancy meal then we check out some of the other restaurants on City Island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SmithsMt_Vernon_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city island, new york
Level Contributor
252 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“good value for your money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

this is the best seafood at the most affordable place you can get on city island--it's a fast food style ordering --the food is fresh and they're always busy--you can eat outside and see the water--they also have a bar and an arcade for the kids

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank toni175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seafood City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing