We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Reviewed April 27, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 369 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Next to the train...literally the train is a couple of meters from the room... every 5-10 mins a loud train goes through... it is impossible to sleep here!
What is the point of booking a hotel if you can't sleep?
Rooms were big but need cleaning and updating. Bathroom ok...
I booked two non-smoking rooms and they say they didn 't have non-smoking rooms available at the check in.
WiFi doesn't work.
The only good thing is that I booked it only for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hello,
Firstly, thank you so much for writing a review of the happy Howard Johnson. I would like to extend my apologies for the inconvenience that you had faced during your stay. I appreciate your honest input and will make sure that your next stay with us is more of a pleasant one. After you make your reservation, you can always call in to confirm your room type. Also, you can add a note to your reservation or give us a call and let us know that you would like a room away from the train station. We love to do anything and everything it takes to make our guests’ stay as pleasant as possible. Again, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience. I really do look forward to seeing you again. Please do give us another chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Koji Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Elliott G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pros : Very near to west farms-Tremont subway station making it easier to travel to downtown.Rooms are clean.Value for money

Cons:Worst breakfast if you want to call it breakfast at all.. and that too the bread they give are stale.I know the hotel is cheap but the breakfast can still be better.
There is not a single water filter or a fountain in the hotel and you always have to buy water from a vending machine in the hotel.So if you are going to stay there but some crate of water along with you and take it.Another thing I found strange was they will charge the full amount of your entire stay as soon as you check in so that you cannot cut short your stay if you liked to.



  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Nytraveller681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hello valued guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you so much for taking our your valuable time to write a review of our hotel. One of the many reasons why guests like to stay with us is because of our convenient location near most public transportation. I would like to extend my apologies for the inconvenience you faced regarding the breakfast. I am very sorry that the accommodations did not meet your needs and expectations. We are working on adding new items to the breakfast menu. We appreciate and welcome every suggestions of our guests in order to improve the services of our hotel. Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience. I really do hope you give us another chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

While the hotel itself was ok the location was awful and the noise from the road and el was unbearable. I changed room to a smoking room at the rear of the hotel which was a bit better and less noisy but had to put up with the smell of smoke.
Noel.


  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Noel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hello Noel,
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had to face during your stay. Please note that we greatly appreciate your feedback in regards to your experience with us. Before checking in your room, you can always confirm with the front desk staff if your room is on the back side of the hotel. We love to accommodate our guests in every way possible. Please do stay with us in the near future. Hope to see you soon, Noel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is a good hotel if you're looking to not get gouged by Manhattan prices.

While located in the Bronx, they are just a block (or less) from the subway station West Farms Road/East Tremont Square, where you can access the 2 and 5 trains into the city.

The place is minimal, being a Howard Johnson Express, but they do offer continental breakfast, a minifridge, a microwave and comfortable rooms. If you're allergic to smoke smells, some of the rooms have been smoked in, so you may want to look elsewhere.

The service was quite nice, and the front desk even called me up when I arrived and asked me if I needed any assistance after I arrived.

The main reservation I would add is that this place is in the Bronx and not the most sightly part of it.

Also, if you're a light sleeper, don't come here, as you will hear the Metro crossing the tracks just outside your window at all hours of the night. I, on the other hand, am not bothered by trains, planes, cars or whatever other city 'white noise' outside the window, so this did not affect me. Just be aware of it if you come.

Overall, my stay here was comfortable and I am grateful to the staff for doing there part to providing good service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landonroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you, Mr. Roussel, for taking out your valuable time and writing a wonderful review of our hotel. It is really exciting for my staff and I to know that we are able to reach your expectations. We strive to ensure that each and every guest has a pleasant experience while staying at our hotel. If it was not for pleasant guests like you, we would not have been ranked amongst the 8 best hotels in the Bronx. We are working on improving our breakfast area and also adding new items to the breakfast menu. Thank you very much for the positive rating. It is always a motivating feeling to receive positive feedback for our guests. I hope to see you soon, Mr. Roussel. Please do stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bronx hotels
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 14 in Bronx
67 reviews
2.5 mi away
Opera House Hotel
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
648 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott New York The Bronx at Metro Center Atrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Super 8 Bronx
Super 8 Bronx
#4 of 14 in Bronx
136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Bronx Near Stadium
2.3 mi away
Umbrella Hotel
Umbrella Hotel
#8 of 14 in Bronx
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx

Address: 1922 Boston Rd, I-95 Exit 4B, Bronx, NY 10460-4423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range: $131 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx Hotel Bronx
Howard Johnson Bronx
Bronx Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing