We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst in NY Bronx - Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the worst in NY Bronx - Stay Away”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Dirty, filthy, ugly, unsanitary, noisy place
Next door gangsters fighting and throwing each other against wall and floor at 3 AM
Staff is rude, inresponsive and useless
If you have car, drive to Manhattan or Yonkers, but stay away from this hotel that is below 1 star and expensive at $ 129/night

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeusaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    52
    50
    41
    117
See reviews for
87
92
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Given the bed bug infestation that was rampant in New York at the time, I was leery about staying anywhere! We had stayed here two years prior, so decided to book again. Not much has changed. I never see the hookers or drug dealers. I do see people outside the hotel a lot- waiting for the bus. The bed was comfortable, with the exception of the pillow. The shower was incredible! Hot, powerful and lots of settings to choose from. Our neighbors in the next room were a little loud, but quieted down pretty early. Breakfast is still a little scant, but enough till I get to the city. I never felt unsafe, my room was clean to the point of being spotless, and staff was friendly. The neighborhood did add a grocery store so that was new, other than that, the same neighborhood. Considering the Bronx Zoo is a half mile away, some restaurants would be welcome. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salchow88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

If you dont mind the constant rumble of trains, then I recommend this neighborhood. If not, try to get a room overlooking the freeway, little to no noise from the trains at all if you keep the windows closed. This would be my third time staying at this hotel. I particularly like it because of the close proximity it is to the subway and the bus routes that go by...and the large room space. I had no booking problems with this hotel. Only problem I encountered were roaches hanging around the Continental Breakfast counter &, although its heresay, some lady on the first floor came out here room terrified when she encountered a rat. Hotel staff, whom showed little remorse offered to get the rat and then showed it to the lady, making here even more scarred. You get pretty good WiFi signal downstairs in the lobby. If you dont mind trains this is a good spot. If you like peace and quiet, get a room on the opposite side overlooking the highway.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

I'm soo dissapointed with the way this hotel has no consideration and just takes your money unfairly I made reservations for 1 day and i was coming down from richmond va I got snowed in with a bad snow storm and called them told them i wouldn't be able to make it . I called 14 hours in advance and because it wasn't 24 hrs like the policy said they charged me full price for the room and didn't let me speak to hotel management and told me there was nothing they could do for me. I asked if my reservation could be changed for another date they still wouldn't agree and to know that this hotel is such a ripp off and the staff are so unproffessional doesn't surprise me at all don't stay here for nothing in the world ! I greww up in the area and know that it must be full of prostitutes and drugs just like what people were saying. I don't regret not making it there with my children...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboo4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My girlfriend and I came to NY to hang with mutual friends. We get to this hotel. Everything was fine till the last day. We paid for 4 nights. They call our room and tell us we owe them more money for the last night cause we didnt pay. The receipt I made them produce all of the sudden was missing the top sheet and you can see the torn paper that once was attached to the staple that is holding these other two sheets. This people argued us down. We paid and decided to waited to the next morning to talk with the manager who conviently left his daughter in charge who all the sudden barely spoke English vs ArabIc. After a long battle we got our money back, but learned a hard lesson. We would never stay their again. AND YES IT IS TRUE ABOUT THE PROSTITUES, AND DRUGS FLOWING THROUGH THAT FACILITY. Some of the prostitues left because we was making such a fuss over our bill. Hell No would never recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth,nh.03862
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Not good for family with children.Very unprofessional, drugs and prostitution throughout their facility and neighborhood. There was a bloody syringe in the hallway. Customer service desk was incompetent. I have stayed at numerous hotels and have never had the experience I had with your establishment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mtabaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

I stayed here one night, the last Saturday in August '08, due to other hotels being booked. Anyways, the location is not as bad if you're fimilar with the Bronx. Many people are scared of the area, but really, its not all that bad. Just stay out of trouble and you're good to go.

Now as for the room. That's something you should be afraid of. The place smelled weird. The bathroom door wouldn't close, the bathroom itself was filty and appliances were worn. As for the bed, it was comfortable but the sheets had stains on them. I didn't watch much TV, being, I was horrified of the creatures I was sharing my room with. The room was infested with giant-sized cockroaches. And I'm not talking about the types that crawls on the floor. These were beetle-sized cockroaches that also flew. Yuck! Just writing this makes my stomach turn. It was horrible. Imagine, I was even afraid to get my stuff together because I thought one of them would have landed on me or something.

What I did end up doing is run, pick up my stuff, threw my shoes on and left. I didn't even stick around to complain to the manager or anything. I just exited the hotel and after a block, I placed my shirt and other articles I had in my hand, in my luggage. That's how disgusted I was.

Bottom Line: Don't listen to reviews that boasts about this place. Just do yourself a favor and don't stay here, especially if you don't like the feel of cockroaches.

  • Liked — The Vacancy
  • Disliked — Everything Else-Cockroaches
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Kris043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bronx hotels
2.5 mi away
Opera House Hotel
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 14 in Bronx
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheridan Hotel
Sheridan Hotel
#13 of 14 in Bronx
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Stadium
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Bronx Near Stadium
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott New York The Bronx at Metro Center Atrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
Address: 1922 Boston Rd, I-95 Exit 4B, Bronx, NY 10460-4423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx Hotel Bronx
Howard Johnson Bronx
Bronx Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing