We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A glimpse of real Mexican food”

Estrellita Poblana III
Ranked #74 of 1,216 Restaurants in Bronx
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A glimpse of real Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This gem is already known to the students at nearby Fordham University, who flock to there. On Arthur Avenue, the famous restaurant row in Belmont (the Bronx's Little Italy), it stands out for authentic dishes, reasonable prices and student-appetite pleasing servings. The menu does list a few gringo-friendly items -- heck, it even lists chicken fingers for kids too young to be adventurous -- but it also offers real Mexican cooking, including house-made mole sauces and salsas, and (in season) delicate specials of squash blossoms (stuffed, in enchiladas, and other preparations). The restaurant is tiny -- maybe 50 seats at 8 or 9 tables -- but service is swift and business is lively. There are enough things on the menu to feed a vegetarian well (though vegans will have a slimmer selection) -- on a recent visit, one offering was pototo croquettes in a spicy red adobo sauce. Usually, when a (typically gringo-friendly) Mexican restaurant says "spicy" I know it is manageable. When Estrellita says "spicy," believe it. It was delicious, but it was authentically potent. The chicken in another dish -- an enchilada suiza -- was a little dry, but the sauce was astounding. The side rice and beans were home-cooked tasty, and on each table there is a four-part server with add-ons: a cilantro-based sauce, one that seemed to be a thinned red chili mayo, a container of sliced radishes and lime wedges, and another of pickled red onions and pepper slivers. On other visits, we tried a chicken and shrimp special, and a house-special assortments of meats and sausages; both diners were pleased. And, a lovely bonus, the minute you sit down you are offered a basket of freshly cooked chips and really good, spicy salsa. THEN they ask you what you would like to order. Warm. Welcoming, Worthwhile. Winner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Everything was so good: burrito, mole, enchiladas suizas with squash blossoms, tamales. We knew we were on to a winner from the minute we sat down and were served the best salsa I have ever eaten. Only downside was we were too full for dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soloadelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Flavor for days!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I really enjoy Mexican food and living in the Bronx a lot of the Restaurants I come across are just average, thankfully this place was anything but . I had the Enchilada verde, and it was great, very spicy and not watered down at all. In addition to the food the service was pretty good for a mid day meal. I plan on going back the next time I crave some flavor!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Homesh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I come from Arizona and came to New York expecting to be able to find Mexican food as great as I can find near the border. Traveling through out the burroughs at high end restaurants to street vendors, I had yet to satisfying the taste of home until I looked on Arthur Ave and found this place!

This place is not fancy at all - jeans and a t-shirt kind of place - and in that respect, isn't that expensive which is great for anyone in college or on a budget! The waiters speak a combination of English and Spanish adding to the atmosphere. While this is the best Mexican food I have found in New York, it has different levels of spiciness as each table is given four different containers of sauces to add to their meal if it isn't spicy enough.

The meals are pretty well portioned as they come with beans and rice on the side. If you eat in the restaurant (as opposed to take out) you also receive chips and salsa to munch on. The service is good enough to keep my water filled and they answer all my questions very well.

I love that this place is open pretty late (9 o clock I believe) and you can order take out online.

Side note, for all horchata lovers, they serve a great one!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ruralowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mexican is the Best Affordable Choice on Arthur Avenue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have been to Estrellita a number of times, and it keeps getting better. This past trip, I ordered chicken croquettes. I like the diner version of minced and seasoned. But this was three meaty disks of chicken breast, well seasoned, sauteed, and sauced. Rice and tortillas were both well above expectations. My partner had really good enchiladas. Past meals have included chicken mole and specials.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardNYCChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estrellita Poblana III also viewed

 

Been to Estrellita Poblana III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing