We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Me Shatter the Arthur Avenue Mystique”
Review of Gerbasi Ristorante

Gerbasi Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Gerbasi Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,225 Restaurants in Bronx
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
new jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Let Me Shatter the Arthur Avenue Mystique”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

While there are those who under the strange assumption that only in a Bronx neighborhood can you get the”best” Italian food. Do you really think a chicken or a sausage changes its flavor when it is cooked in one of those overpriced city restaurants? On a recent trip to the so called Meca of Italian taste I was dragged to the Gerbasi. With the word out that this place was the eatery of eateries you would expect a line of hungry looking folks. Well no folks at this joint, there were three people there. The bread was excellent and the anti pasta superior. The dipping sauce was a mixture of Smuckers jelly and water. The salad was superior .The curly macaroni was watery and the red sauce lacked any flavor .The chicken dish was mediocre and what was the great mystery of serving some sausage with it. The fried calamari was rubbery and the red sauce that goes on it was supposed to be spicy .It resembled a mixture of ketchup and chef Boyardee caned spaghetti sauce. The fish was dull .The drinks were expensive. For the hundred people the place would sit when full there was one male female bathroom. Good food is where you find it, and you won’t find it at Gerbasi

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank keyasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely EXCELLENT”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went into Gerbasi for drinks before heading off to Dominick's for the meal. I only wish we had have stayed at Gerbasi. The service was amazing. First of all they brought out a basked of beautiful fresh bread with a red dipping sauce. We then had martini's while we were waiting for other to arrive. The quality of the food that was coming out looked fantastic and I cant wait to go back there again, for dinner this time. If you are a coffee lover, like I am, you have to have the coffee martini. I have never even heard of one before but it was fantastic, more like a cappuccino martini, you just have to have one. Oh and don't be fooled by the front of the place, there is a great open area out the back which is just perfect for fantastic weather. Would I go back again? Definitely YES.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like eating at your favorite aunts house!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The owner, servers, food and prices are consistently great. Try the duck ragu or chicken martini when offered on the specials menu. Original compared to the other Arthur Ave. originals. Give it a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Huge Dissappointment”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were very excited to give this restaurant a try, though having someone outside trying to lure you in should have been our warning. The pasta was overlooked and the veggies were burnt. The sauce was if out of a jar and just doctored up abit. The service was fine but the lack of real quality food was totally surprising and disappointing. You can do much better elsewhere on Arthur Avenue,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gojets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Arthur Avenue's best!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

From the minute we entered the restaurant until the moment we left the experience was awesome. The food was to die for and the service was outstanding.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerbasi Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Gerbasi Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing