We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent even in the winter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bronx Zoo

Bronx Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Hidden Treasures of the Bronx Tour by Bus with Lunch at City Island
Ranked #3 of 60 things to do in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest urban zoo in the U.S., with over 6,000 animals within its 265 acres of parks, woods and streams.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent even in the winter!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I visit a zoo in every country I go to and the Bronx zoo is by far the best zoo I have been to. The animals are in large stimulating enclosures and there is so much to see. If you go I the winter/sub zero don't expect to see any of the African animals as they are all shut away for winter however this didn't detract from my visit? The jungle world (which you pay an extra $4 for) was fantastic, so magical to see such amazing animals in a really natural setting. We thought the animals seemed very "happy" and we're displaying natural behaviours. We were even lucky enough to see the snow leopards playing. At 3pm we saw the sea lions being fed, this was a really fun experience that you should try to see. Overall I would highly recommend this zoo and it was lovely to see conservation in action!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Carebear333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,377
    651
    167
    74
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but not in winter”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Took the kids today to bronx zoo - we enjoyed our time but many animals were not out because they said temperature was kind of low to them - would not recommend it in march - parking was easy and costs $15 - for a family of 4 we paid online $67 plus parking - it definitely worth to get the membership for $189 and can access 5 zoos including the Aquarium and free parking even though we are visiting from canada -- spent 45 min in line to purchase food - recommend to get your own lunch to avoid the time wasted to order.

Helpful?
Thank Moe576Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Obviously Care About the Animals”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This zoo obviously cares about its animals - the enclosures not only look spacious, but stimulating for the animals. It maybe wasn't the best time of the year to go (Feb!), but there were actually things to see. And the polar bear looked super happy with the snow!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magsotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Zoo in the Bronx!...ok, only Zoo in the Bronx but still!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have gone to this zoo, probably 20 times. My daughter, niece and nephew grew up coming to this zoo. We love that is soo big and with many activities year around. The animals are well taken care off and although food is pricey, still can have a good time with family and friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Not good in winter”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visited in mid-February and it felt like the whole place was in hibernation. Admittedly the daytime temperature was around -6C and there was snow everywhere. However the majority of the large animals were shut away the winter. I'm sure the experience would be considerably better in the Summer. For instance the whole large ape enclosure looked stunning, very spacious and enjoyable for the animals. However when we visited the apes were kept indoors (obviously) but also they were hidden away in their private accommodation. The same was true for the jungle animals including lions, tigers etc.

Even the cold-weather animals were underwhelming including the penguins and polar bears.

The zoo is very spread out with lots and lots of walking between exhibits. This is good as you feel like you're enjoying the outdoor space on top of the actual animals. But some people may find the walk quite lengthy.

Of course the majority of the food outlets were closed. The main cafe was open and we had two cups of hot tea. However the same dispenser had obviously been used for coffee recently as the tea was overlaid with a faint coffee taste, not very nice.

Don't bother when it's cold and snowy, the entrance fee was still around $25/person.

We travelled to the Zoo on the subway from Manhattan. On the way there we took a Number 2 and alighted at Bronx Park East and from there it was about a 15 min walk through the slippery snow. It is well sign-posted so you should find your way ok. On the return we exited the Zoo at the other end, ie at Asia Gate, and got the No. 2 Subway from East Fremont Avenue. The subway here is elevated and sits on a rickety steel and wood construction. While waiting for our train, it was quite fun to experience the slight wobbling of the entire platform and structure every time a train rolled in!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cyprusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bronx Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Bronx Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing