We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Affordable Gem In The Bronx”
Review of Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
“An Affordable Gem In The Bronx”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed for three days and was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and staff attention to detail. The neighborhood did not present a problem for me, I saw no hulking figures in the dark and the parking lot is well lit. I would recommend this hotel for short stays and overnighters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    16
    11
    53
See reviews for
33
26
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend and wasn't wow'd. The room is a decent size but the bathroom is small. The room we stayed had just a shower but no tub and the was no room to place items so we had to store our toothbrushes and hair products in the room. The wi-fi is ok, it would keep kicking us off. The walls are thin so we heard everyone talking in the hall and the neighboring rooms. We stayed in a room that faced the expressway so there was noise from that but wasn't too bad. There was a few decor issue with the room. The shower was surrounded by wallpaper that was peeling from the steam of the shower. The floors had dips and I would always trip when I walked on it. The carpet was ok, some parts were patched. The TV didn't have basic cable and select DirectTV channels which was disappointing. The bed was extra firm so I always woke up with a aching neck and back.

I gave this hotel 2 stars out of 5 simply because the price is reasonable but the customer service SUCKS! The woman at the desk rolled her eyes whenever we asked a question and gave us attitude when she asked us for a credit card to charge up front.

I would not recommend this hotel because I felt I did not get my money worth given the location and size of the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unknown745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012 with my wife, daughter and Mother-In-Law. We had two rooms on the 2nd floor.
The good points were free parking with plenty of spaces, free Wi-Fi and the rooms were relatively spacious.
Bad points as a previous reviewer stated the edge of the carpets have not been cleaned for months, possibly years. There is a large built up of dust that could be cleaned with the correct nozzle for the hoover.
Noise: Although the area is not too noisy the other guests are extremely selfish. Returning from nights out at 3:30am slamming doors and talking loudly as they roam the corridors looking for their rooms. We even had a family opposite cooking a family meal for 10 in their room that left the whole floor smelling strongly of curry, didn't help that they left their door open to share the delights with everyone.
All-in-all though we stayed a week and we got what we paid for, the beds were comfortable and the maid service efficient. And I suppose it's pot luck with other guests.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor, First and forth suffer the most from noise from late night parties in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zerovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Room was clean & seemed to be recently renovated. Sheets were nice and bed was comfortable. Strong WiFi signal throughout my 2 night stay. Common areas of the hotel seemed somewhat beat-up, but that doesn't really concern me. The biggest drawback was the area. Located in a low-income urban neighborhood. I personally never once feared for my safety, but I would not have stayed at this hotel with my family. Overall I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had Room 115 where the check-in desk clerk can observe through a hallway door when I enter and exit my room. I and the clerk exchanged glances when I came out of my room to get something from my car. When I retuned from my car, the clerk was engaged with a guest so he did not see me return. Five minutes after entering my room, the clerk used a special key to also enter my room, presumably thinking that I was still out. when I came out of the bathroom and aked him why he was entered my room without my permission he said he was very sorry and was just inspecting the room. The clerk, an Indian Guy who said his name was "Z", had obviously tried to burglarize my room

Room Tip: I had Room 115 where the check in desk clerk can observe when I enter and exit my room. I and the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Unclewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I recently visited nyc and was lucky to come across The Sheridan Hotel. I read numerous reviews about this hotel and to me all the negative reviews werent true. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel the staff was truly helpful and answered ever question I asked with honesty(considering this was my first visit to The Bronx I had alot of questions). I didnt really know the area so I stayed in at night(which the hotel staff advised me to do so),i had my food delivered to the hotel,the room was perfect nice and clean,the king bed was amazing and comfortable,the linens and towels were crisp clean,the bathroom was nice and clean and I loved the wall mounted flat screen t.v with direct.v. I will be in NYC again and this hotel is definently where I will be staying....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lala212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Let me say first, if I visit The Bronx, New York again, I would stay here again. 5 minute walk to subway station. 5 minute walk to small commercial district. Mostly clean, new fixtures and furniture. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker in room. Responsive staff. Very good breakfast selection. The hotel appears to have been remodeled by an unlicensed contractor or something. It lacks any sound proofing, and there is water hammer whenever someone flushes the toilet or takes a shower (this almost made me deduct another point). Nice clean rooms, but they need to get an edge cleaning vacuum tool for the carpet, and steam clean the hallways. Everything worked, new sheets and towels.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any quiet rooms without the sound of water-hammer from the plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treborsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry B, General Manager at Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We appreciate your positive commentss about your stay at our property. We constantly strive to make sure our guests are happy and come back to stay with us. Thank you, and we hope that you will come and stay with us on your next visit to Bronx.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bronx hotels
2.0 mi away
Opera House Hotel
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
601 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#7 of 14 in Bronx
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott New York The Bronx at Metro Center Atrium
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Bronx Near Stadium
1.8 mi away
Umbrella Hotel
Umbrella Hotel
#8 of 14 in Bronx
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Hotel

Property: Sheridan Hotel
Address: 1440 Sheridan Expy, Bronx, NY 10459-2106 (Formerly Bronx Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sheridan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, eye-catching, new 4-stoy building perched along the Bronx River in quiet neighbourhood of the Bronx, the Sheridan Hotel offers a truly unique experience and environment. You will feel welcome the moment you arrive. Parking is always free, a rarity for New York City hotels. The hotel is simple yet elegant, with front desk agents who will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing