We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weathered the storm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Island

City Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Hidden Treasures of the Bronx Tour by Bus with Lunch at City Island
Ranked #4 of 60 things to do in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island off the east coast of the Bronx that transforms into a seaside resort on weekends during the summer.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Weathered the storm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Still love the food there. There was a tornando brewing, but that didnt stop us from venturing to the island. Not that busy, great food, great night altogether.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    122
    35
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“City Island...Unique,fun, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Many great places to eat on City Island...enjoy the atmosphere, the people are friendly...love it here! Like being on a mini-vacation!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cgendalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not worth the Trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I received a Groupon for a restaurant in City Island. So we decided to leave early so we could walk around. Needless to say there was nothing to see. We ended up walking for an hour and a half up and down the streets until our dinner reservation. Except for a small park like area to walk across and a tiny bridge there was really nothing to see. The shirtless man laying on the bench was not an attractive sight, park was not clean and I didn't even want to sit on the bench. City Island is surrounded by water but all the waterfront areas are in front of private houses, so there was really nothing to see. There is no shopping, it just seems like a nieghborhood street with a few restaurants, no tourist attractions or shops to walk around. Sorry we got there so early. We will not be returning to City Island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great fun in the summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

A fun place to hang out. It can almost feel like New England, but the vision of the Manhattan skyline reminds you that you're in a borough.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRNYSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“love seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

seafood and pina colada the best. original and classic. old favorite neighborhood. Jimmys is the best original spot.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fredelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Island also viewed

 

Been to City Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing