We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Good as it Once Was”
Review of Garland House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Garland House
Restaurant details
Brockport
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not as Good as it Once Was”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Although once a family favorite, now a disappointing and dreary place to eat. My wife and I our two daughters went out recently for a dinner. We waited to be seated even though dining room was moostly empty. Througout the evening service was slow and intermittently attentive. My shrimp tasted as if they had been frozen. thawed and refrozen. Totally bland. Rolls were cold -not room temperature but cold. Salad was sparse, dry and somewhat withered. Rest of the story much the same. Sorry but there are many better restaurants in the area so we bid a once enjoyable spot a sad farewell.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

staff is ok but went last mother's day and was very happy with my meal. some things are a bit pricey

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank thinkagain1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Repeat customers”
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

When we visit Rochester, we make a point of having dinner at the Garland House. We had a large party on Mother's Day and had a great experience. We are big fans of the veal and artichoke French. The steaks were cooked perfectly too. It's a little small but definitely a good choice.

Helpful?
Thank minmib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
1 review
“What happened?!?”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Food and service was the worst ever. We used to go often and food was good, maybe they have a new chef or owners? The interior was decorated differently, service was poor (and it was not even busy) Order the special of the day, something with shrimp and chicken, smelled horrible and chicken was so over cooked it was more like chicken rawhide. First time in 40 years I ever complained about food and sent it back to the kitchen. I will never go there again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing to look at but food delicious”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Fell upon this place by accident and was a lucky find. From the outside and entrance looked like a local tavern/bar... Nothing fancy inside either EXCEPT the menu.... food was a little pricey, but you get what you play for. Good quality food and lots of it. Staff was friendly and nice drink menu. All in all, a great place to dine.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MacKanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garland House also viewed

Brockport, Finger Lakes
 
Brockport, Finger Lakes
Brockport, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing