We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food - lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Almond

Almond
Reserve with OpenTable
Almond is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $51
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montauk Highway
Description: In 2001 Jason Weiner and Eric Lemonides opened Almond. Almond quickly became the "un-Hamptons" restaurant the Hamptons desperately needed. Jason's commitment to straight forward, locally sourced cuisine and Eric's commitment to being nice to people soon garnered a fiercely loyal following for the restaurant. Almond quickly became a go-to spot in the Hamptons for locals, celebrities, tourists, and fellow restaurateurs. The critics caught on as well. Almond garnered accolades from such esteemed publications as Wine Spectator and the New York Times. Fast-forward 10 years and the iconic Hamptons French bistro enters a new era in a new location in downtown Bridgehampton. Almonds new home is a historic space with 100-year-old tin ceilings, hand carved bar and classic white subway tile. Jason continues to cook good food and Eric is still nice to people. They also haven't lost their knack for sucking up to food journalists. Peter Gianotti of Newsday awarded the new spot three stars and named Almond the Best New Restaurant of 2011
Southport CT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food - lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

On a weekend trip to the Hamptons we decided to try Almond. Reviews on line said it was consistently good. The food is excellent, but the night we were there the service seemed a little off. We made a reservation and were seated right away, but it took at least 15 minutes before our waiter even took our order for drinks. It was like this all night long. Luckily we were not in any hurry and would have enjoyed our leisurely meal, but the noise in this restaurant makes it almost impossible to have a conversation. Everyone seems to be shouting and the acoustics are awful (high tin ceiling). But it is a lively crowd and people keep coming all night long. We had no complaints about the food though, the cheese plate appetizer is enormous, delicious and should be shared. Clams on the half shell were also excellent. We had the hangar steak and scallops, also both excellent. Brussels sprouts were exceptional and leave room for dessert - it is well worth it. Would definitely come back again for the food. A table outside might be better for conversation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    14
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
497 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Always good always friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

One of the more consistently better Hamptons restaurants with very well prepared bistro cusine in a pleasantly friendly setting. Service is very good. Some of the better cocktails to be had. Be sure to make reservations. Good bar scene too. Please please bring back the lardon salad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgehampton, NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best bet in the Hamptons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We come here often. This time we on Restaurant Week. Started with one of my wife's favorites Caesar Salad with Brussels sprouts two ways, and I had a delicately balanced arugula salad with beets and barely candied walnuts. They were out of rib of lamb, so my wife had the "best roast chicken." she'd ever had. I had Striped Bass with scallops in a corn and pepper melange. I've had it here before in other variations. I preferred it with some of the chef's more delicate vegetable pairings, but it was excellent. The contrast with East Hampton's 1770 house meal at twice the price was dramatic. This was much better, right down to the chocolatey dessert. Note: they offer a nice selection of beers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LSDArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best cheeseburger and fries around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Dining at Almond is always wonderful. The crowds are great - friendly, attractive and out to enjoy their evening. The bar is always packed and makes a great martini in a very retro glass. If they switched it out with a cold one when yours warms, (like East Hampton Grill) this would be great.... Dinner is always delicious. The appetizers are always varied and the entrees too, but for some reason, I have trouble resisting ( and rarely do) the cheeseburger and fries. There are always enough fries to share, but, honestly, I don't.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to eat great food and receive great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I took a mini vacation for my birthday and we stayed at MYC in Montauk. On our way back home to NYC, we really wanted to have a great local lunch. So we noticed Almond in Bridgehampton and decided to have a meal there. We came at 12 pm, there were no customers and they only had a brunch menu. But we asked for dinner menu and the manager despite early time accommodated us and we could pick from the dinner menu. Long story short, the food was amazing, fish (Bass and Fluke) were amazing. I recommend. Staff is great, very professional. It was my first time, but I definitely will come back. They also have locations in NYC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mernacaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almond also viewed

Bridgehampton, Hamptons
 
Bridgehampton, Hamptons
Bridgehampton, Hamptons
 
Bridgehampton, Hamptons
Sag Harbor, Hamptons
 

Been to Almond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing