We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular Pub”
Review of Squires Restaurant

Squires Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Popular Pub”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Always a line to get a table, we like to go before a movie in Elmsford so we leave ourselves plenty of time. The food is very well prepared, service with a smile, and lovely, kid friendly atmosphere. Something for everyone on the menu, too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“go for the burgers”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

excellent burgers, fries and onion rings and french onion soup
- too cramped for a leisurely meal
-crowds illustrate its success

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Les1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best Burger”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Who doesn't love a good burger? I am always on a quest for the perfect cheeseburger. I have tried them all...fried, steamed, broiled,turkey(not a real burger). A friend asked me out for an impromptu dinner and brought me to Squires with the promise of a great burger. Squires is a typical neighborhood pub. Bar in the front, small dining room in the back. It has typical 70's polished timber decor; Dimly lit and a little crowded with tables fairly close to eachother. The thing that draws you in, is the delectable aroma of grilled beef. The charming waitress Debbie, immediately took our order and within minutes we were served. I ordered my burger with fried onions cooked medium. The onions were cooked well done, just the way I like them and the burger was perfectly cooked to a nice pink medium. American cheese and a good dose of ketchp and I was in burger heaven. To make things even better, the burgers were served with possibly the best french fries I have ever had. They were hot and crisp and grease free. The insides were nice and creamy and they stayed hot throughout the whole meal. I could not have asked for anything more. My rating is based solely on the burger. I cannot speak for the rest of the menu. I will most definely be back for the burger. If anyone remembers the now extinct Buffalo Roadhouse in NYC's east village (my all time favorite burger joint)they will appreciate Squires burger. It is almost as good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Lisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Local comfort food, friendly service”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't have tried this place if I hadn't been told to go by a friend. I also would have been likely to walk out on arrival were i not meeting a friend who was already seated, largely due to the dark and very old fashioned atmosphere and unfriendly older lady at the bar. However, try the food and stay I did and it was fine. Our server was very friendly and our burgers were cooked as requested. Little old fashioned and grungy for me, too dingy for the summer months, good prices, average overall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank likestotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“comfort food”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

another neiborhood gem freindly wholesome food always crowded and a great place hang out at the bar for dinner and watch a game.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gturco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squires Restaurant also viewed

Briarcliff Manor, Westchester County
Briarcliff Manor, Westchester County
 
Briarcliff Manor, Westchester County
Ossining, Westchester County
 

Been to Squires Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing