We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burgers in Westchester”
Review of Squires Restaurant

Squires Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
White Plains, New York
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Best burgers in Westchester”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Squires is a great spot if you are in the mood for an excellent, big, juicy burger. They make the best ones around and the prices are great. The place has been here for almost 50 years so they are doing something right. The meat is good. You can have a burger with everything or nothing, they are all great. Add sweet potatoe fries. Have a cold beer. What could be better?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never do a take out here”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

McDonalds has better burgers than this place. However, note that i am talking only about take out food quality

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mightymogwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Small, out of the way place. You could drive right by it and not notice it is there. Burgers are great. Prices are reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyMetroNYCarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, some attention needed”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

After hearing much about Squire's, I finally had the chance to go on a Wednesday night. To their credit, there was a good crowd in the place at 8pm. My wife and I were seated quickly and our order taken soon after. We both opted for burgers; hers with onion & cheddar, cooked "as rare as possible" with regular fries. Mine was the Smothered Burger with Worcestershire sauce & onions cooked medium, and sweet potato fries on the side.

The burgers arrived with generous amounts of fries and a sadly soggy pickle. Each was cooked as requested and really tasty - there was that good "grilled meat" taste - you can see the flames of the grill from the dining room. However the burgers cried out for a more substantial bun. In my case especially, the smothering of onions & sauce left the bun a soggy mess that did not stand up to the girth of the burger. A hearty kaiser or sourdough option would further enhance these burgers. Fresher pickles, and perhaps a small side of fresh coleslaw would put this plate over the top.

The dining room itself has seen better days - dark, worn carpets that weren't swept well between diners. A table or two too many crammed in for my comfort. Had the place been more full, I would have had someone's elbow in my side. Luckily there was breathing room.

There is an ample beer selection for those inclined, and specials available that night included a dozen littleneck steamers.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RP_ResearchGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Freydo's Favorite”
Reviewed July 31, 2009

I have been going to this restaurant since it opened over 40 years ago. I have had everything on the menu and NEVER had a bad meal. Great staff, friendly customers, warm and friendly atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Freydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squires Restaurant also viewed

Briarcliff Manor, Westchester County
Briarcliff Manor, Westchester County
 
Briarcliff Manor, Westchester County
Ossining, Westchester County
 

Been to Squires Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing