We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work retreat at Edith Macy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edith Macy Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Work retreat at Edith Macy”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The staff were extremely accomodating. It's a perfect location for a work function. The food was delicious!

Room Tip: Book a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Lindsay F,
Thank you for the note and I'm glad you enjoyed the service and the food. I hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
2
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The facilities were nothing fancy but were clean and met our needs, and the grounds are beautiful. The food is nicely prepared and plentiful. Most importantly, the customer service is top notch.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Michelle D,
Thank you for the comments on the food and service. We'll see you again soon, I hope.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The Edith Macy Conference Center is our organization's first choice for external events. primarily because of the excellent customer service consistently rendered by the entire staff. They take extremely good care of us and always accommodate every request. They have built a trusted relationship with our organization by regularly exceeding our expectations...and that means everything!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear John H,
Thank you for the nice words in your posting. We appreciate your business very much and I hope you have a great Holiday season.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We held a 2 day staff meeting here, and we were very pleased with our meeting space and the food served, and the overall conference center and staff. We did not require overnight lodging for our group, so I can't speak to how the guest rooms are. Our meeting rooms were nice and comfortable and set up for our use as previously arranged. Our meals were good and served on time. The staff was nice and helpful. They even arranged a small, special dessert for one of our staff celebrating a birthday when we asked for it that day (it was not pre-arranged). The setting is also very nice since it is out in the woods. It is a different atmosphere from a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Alisia L,
Thank you for the great feedback. Enjoy the holidays and we'll see you again in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

If you are looking for a seamless process from start to finish, and a company who knows and meets your every need, Edith Macy is the answer!

We have been working with Sherri Hoy and her exceptionally warm and professional staff (to include upward management and event staff) for over 10 years. Our relationship started with the coordination and execution of a 2-week Executive Leadership Program and has grown into our hosting nearly every off-site event at Edith Macy.

The Guest Services staff, Catering, Bartending & Wait staff, Housekeeping staff, A/V staff, Grounds staff and most notably the Event Planning Staff are naturals when it comes to meeting our needs and making us feel welcomed from start to finish. As for the location and setting, it doesn't get any better!

Take it from a company that strives for perfection and is customer-focused, you're experience will be the same!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Stephanie R,
Thank you very much for the comments! I'll pass them along to the team. Looking forward to another 10 years at least. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The staff at Edith Macy is above and beyond amazing! The staff is professional and accommodating both before, during and after the event. They worked with us to make our business meeting a great experience. The food was fantastic (great options and took any special order/dietary requests we had). The staff was so tentative and friendly. They took care of all our needs. The technical support staff made sure the room was setup to our specifications. The facilities are beautiful--wilderness ambiance mixed with business functionality. Thank you for a great event and we'll be sure to come back in the future!!

Room Tip: You can request pictures of the room for business meeting setup options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear P H,
I'm happy your team enjoyed their event with us. I was glad to see your comments about accomodating dietary requests. Our culinary staff works very hard to provide delicious options for everyone and just because someone has dietary restriction, that doesn't mean they have to sacrifice taste or selection. Hope to see you again soon.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stay away. Use your money at oufits who embrace customer service and excellence. Go to the Tarrytown House.

We have coordinated numerous vists to Edith Macy. Each time the nasty staff have something to say to make our event sour. Despite the fact that we take great care with their property they always seem to have staff that need to nickel and dime our outfit.

Customer service is not something the Edith Macy management embraces. The manager will always play off her direct report when her staff drops the ball. My staff are made to feel like the planning conversations they had prior to the event never took place. Is it a good idea for folks in the hospitality industry to make their customers feel uncomfortable and upset during an event they are paying for to feel uplifted when they leave? We are talking thousands of dollars spent at each event.

Taking our money elsewhere. Come here if you are looking for a venue staffed with individuals who are experts at being, rude; enjoy arguing and upsetting their clients and strive to ruin your event.




We have also stayed in rooms throughout the property. The rooms are over-priced, needing updating to the worn out carpet and dingy tiling in the bathroom.

Room Tip: stay any where else. Even your car would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear John H,
Thank you for your comments. I am familiar with the situation that prompted your posting and I have spoken with the leaders of this particular group to get a complete understanding of what happened. It goes without saying, but I'll say it anyway, that we should never leave anyone with an impression like the one you have. It is obvious that we failed in this instance and I apologize. We have a dedicated team of professionals here and we could have done much better in handling this situation. Unfortunately, our communication was not what it should have been and a relatively small problem got away from us and got larger. I have worked with this team for many years and I know that this isn't how we approach our relationships.

Again, thank you for speaking your mind. We will be better for the criticism, no matter how harsh. Please consider contacting me directly if you would like to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Briarcliff Manor
8.1 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawthorne
142 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
6.8 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
169 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Armonk Westchester Cnty Apt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edith Macy Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edith Macy Conference Center

Property: Edith Macy Conference Center
Address: 550 Chappaqua Rd, Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510-1504
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Briarcliff Manor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Briarcliff Manor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edith Macy Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Edith Macy Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edith Macy Hotel Briarcliff Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing