We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst in all ways”
Review of Guadalajara

Guadalajara
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worst in all ways”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Took a friend for a birthday lunch to this restaurant today. It was practically empty and now I know why - service awful, food awful and customer service awful. I ordered a #2 combination which was a beef taco and a chicken chimichanga. The chimechanga was dry, doughy and tasteless and the beef taco was not served but rather in spite of what the menu said a greasy, tasteless cheesy tostada was substituted without even asking or telling me. The waitress made some lame excuse that this was a lunch menu - NO, they did not have a lunch menu and when asked for one she pointed to the children's menu! Someone who seemed to be the manager offered coffee and dessert on him but the bottom line is that the food was awful, it made me sick and there should have been some effort to at least comp one lunch. I indicated that I would never go back there and that seemed to be met with sarcasm. Now, I ate at this restaurant many years ago and it was good but I would not send my worst enemy there now. It was awful on ALL counts and to think I had to pay for this kind of lunch is an outrage. Frankly, my rice smelled like insecticide so maybe DOH should pay them a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    22
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The food was very good I thought it was overpriced though. Overall it nice location, good service just a bit pricey.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bunnylu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun, easy and Festive”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

great fresh guacamole made at the table, festive atmosphere, good drinks, and nice selection of entrees, including tamales, and dishes with green sauce

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Okay Generic Mexican”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Guadalajara really tries to please. The service is attentive and they make really good guacamole to order at the table and serve a decent margarita. But the food falls short. The tex-mex dishes taste like any other standard "authentic" Mexican place and show little imagination. You can guess exactly what it will taste like. The seafood specials are overpriced. A little searching up and down Route 9 will find much more interesting Mexican with real soul.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank atravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From begining to end the service was not good. We were told our party of 9 had no reservation but then staff found it after a few minutes. One person with a cheese alergy, specifically ordered a dish minus cheese then was given the wrong dish with cheese in it, we caught the mistake before there was an issue. The refried beans were not delivered on a tray and then distributed instead they were delivered in such a way the waiter had no choice but to put at least one finger in each dish to hold them and pass them out. GROSS!! The final wait staff mishap was probably the worst: one person in our group asked the waitress to wrap her leftovers to go, then another waiter came by picked up her dishes and stacked them on top of food that was to be taken out. Then the waitstaff denied it!! Double GROSS!! The guacamole is very good. The rest of the food is OK. I think it was better before the fire.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelersLandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guadalajara also viewed

Briarcliff Manor, Westchester County
Ossining, Westchester County
 
Briarcliff Manor, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Irvington, Westchester County
Briarcliff Manor, Westchester County
 

Been to Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing