We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stop on a Road Trip.... Especially if traveling with a dog”

Red Rooster Drive-In
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Brewster
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stop on a Road Trip.... Especially if traveling with a dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Our family loves Red Rooster. Smiling, efficient, friendly staff at the counter. Great grilled cheese sandwiches and milk shakes. Super clean bathrooms.
They will package either 'to go' in a paper bag or in a takeout paper tray. Or if you want to stretch for a few minutes take your food on the plastic red trays around back and enjoy the popular and clean picnic area with umbrellas and benches.

Dogs on leashes are welcome. There's a dog walk area in far back of property and the staff are gracious and smile when you order water in a bowl for the dog.

Yummy soft serve ice cream (twist with hard chocolate dip is our favorite), mini-golf, and plenty of parking make Red Rooster A 'Must' stop for all of our trips up to Kent, Litchfield, Tanglewood, etc.

There's a reason that this place is packed....lines move quickly and it's worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HaverfordColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    44
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A classic place to stop for a meal on the road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Red Rooster in Brewster has been a favorite roadhouse for New Yorkers traveling on Route 22 between their homes in the City and their vacation spots Upstate, in the Berkshires, and beyond for over 50 years. It is on Route 22, a busy two-lane highway with cross traffic and red lights that was one of the tradition roads to take into New England before the interstates were built.

I've been stopping here once or twice a year for more than 25 years myself. It is a classic hamburger and hot dog stand, with extremely limited indoor seating in a small lobby that is fronted by the busy counter. The food was always excellent, and I usually had 4 all-beef hot dogs, onion rings, and a soft drink. There is also soft-serve ice cream, friend chicken, and a few other items.

As noted by some of the other reviewers here, the quality of the food and service seems to have slipped a it since the latter quarter of the last century. But I think the food is still above average, and this is still a place that I like to stop.

The outdoor seating area in the back is well maintained. The picnic tables are clean, and the grassy area is clean and attractive. The bathrooms are clean.

On a visit here this week, the service seemed a little disorganized (as it always was) and unenthusiastic (an unfortunate falling off). The franks were well grilled, but the buns were not toasted, and the sauerkraut was undercooked and not hot enough.

Overall, I would say this is an above average place to stop. Over the years, we have seen many celebrities and prominent people stopping in on their way to or from their vacation retreats. I think that the Red Rooster will continue to be a busy and fun place to stop on one of the older highways going north. But I wouldn't want you to expect too much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cincinnati-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Level Contributor
496 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A real destintation favorite for travelers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

After eating here for many years, we find the quality not up to what it used to be. This is favorite for many families with its distinctive red roof and sign. They do burgers, fries and chicken. Soft serve ice cream is also a favorite. Pricing has crept up, so it can get pricey for a family They have picnic tables, and a miniature golf course too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank daylilly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bad fast food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Everything you eat here tastes like fish, including hamburgers, chicken and fries. I don't know why it is so crowded. Probably because it is on the way to ski resorts and scenic drives not because off the food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clyde5149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Area icon pricing out its loyal customers.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have been going to Red Rooster since I was a little kid and love the hamburgers. My usual order is a cheeseburger deluxe which used to be a great value at about $2.50. But now at well over 4 bucks for basically a quarter lb burger with lettuce and tomato... the size of which an average adult will want to eat two of them and a hearty appetite will demand three... its just too much money. Add a "family" sized fried for another 5 bucks which is basically the size and quality of a mcdonalds mid size fries which is a little over a dollar, a fountain soda at almost 3 bucks and an ice cream at between 3 and 4 for a small and you're spending entry level fine dining prices for burgers and fries. And they don't even offer any kind of combo deal. To serve 4 people and have them come out full you would need to spend upwards of 75 bucks. I really wish this place would get a little more realistic with the prices (maybe 30% less... or at least offer some combo deals) because I'd hate to add it to my places that are just too much of a rip off to go anymore since I do like their burgers. But I guess there are enough rich people in the area who just don't care since they always seem somewhat busy (not like they used to be... but steady).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastbeast77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rooster Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Red Rooster Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing