We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LIKE STEPPING BACK IN THE 50's”

Red Rooster Drive-In
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Montefiascone, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“LIKE STEPPING BACK IN THE 50's”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great place - Malts are out of this world. I was a little disappointed in the burgers - much better last time I stepped by. The help seemed like they were in a coma and since we were the only customers - they were definitely not on their game - forgot the onion rings even though I had ordered and paid for them. But, I guess I will forgive them - as I said the malt was wonderful!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yankeerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    47
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Even us locals love this place!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

You KNOW this place is legit when Tim and Tina Zagat are standing behind you in line!!! I swear to you -- this happened to me not 6 months ago! When I asked Tim what his fav. was he said that they always stop at Red Rooster on the way to their weekend home in Millbrook and they always order 2 hot dogs, fries and malteds! How cool is THAT?!?! The Red Rooster is an iconic place for ANYONE living near Brewster, NY and a tradition that stretches over generations of families traveling up and down RT 22 for their weekend forays into the country and to the skiing resorts. It's the destination after our local football games, HS plays, school concerts, confirmations/communions, etc. It offers you classic 1950's drive-in fare and they do it well! The burgers, fries, onion rings, shakes, sundaes, hot dogs, etc. are quintessentially flavorful, a bit greasy, and served simply with a smile from an amazing cadre of workers who really know how to hussle and work well together! Add the family style setting (dog friendly walking area for those traveling distances), and the kitchy/wonderful miniature golf course, and the have all the makings for a wonderful evening of fun for all! Their ice cream is AMAZING! And, they one of the last places still adding REAL MALT to their malteds! Highly recommended == Great value for your dollar == CLeAN == great vibe!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“You want a good Burger Red Rooster is a must.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It gets packed but the line moves fast and its worth the wait. Food was great and close to Heidis Inn were we stayed

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Classic American Drive-In!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Burgers, Fries, or Hot Dogs, this is THE place.
If you wanted to show an Eastern European the American dream, this is THAT place. Food's Good, people are perfect, the crowd is Biker-lite. Its pretty cheap and Jillion times better than the Burger King up the street.

You might be able to talk some anti-democrat biker, redneck, gun lover, tailgate party, Patriot fan stuff HERE about Obama and the congress, but you would never, ever, in a BILLION, trillion, Jillion, quadrillion, years, epochs, or eras, bump into Mitt here..well MAYBE... if his dog fell off the roof on 22 ...NAW

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OkieinParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
588 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“A Cult Unto Itself”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Not sure about the high ratings other have given this roadside stop. It's an okay place to stop and pick up fried chicken (sometimes over cooked) and hamburgers. Often a line and a wait to get your food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank damg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rooster Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Red Rooster Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing