We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, horrible acoustics!”
Review of Las Mananitas

Las Mananitas
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Brewster
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, horrible acoustics!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was my second time at this restaurant. The first time we sat outside and enjoyed a beautiful view. The second time was a Saturday night and we were inside. We were a party of 6. We found it impossible to be heard unless you shouted. The food was excellent. The service was great, and unfortunately we will not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BambiNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    64
    27
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the motel next door on a Friday night, the restaurant was very busy so we decided to get take out and go back to the motel. It was delicious! there where people who had driven over an hour to try this place because of the good recommendations!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzystick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The food was delicious. We ate there 3 days in a row, it was so good. The restaurant was very nice inside but there was a lovely patio area outside that overlooked a large lake. The patio sat on a large hill. It was just gorgeous and the service was excellent also.The food was better than anything I have ever had in NYC, hands down!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
“A fesrive, fun restaurant”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Las Mananitas' parking lot was full the Sat pm we went. The guacamole was teriffic. The review below that says they added oil to the avocados was just plain wrong. The server added lime juice from a squeeze bottle, which is commonly added to make guacamole yummy.

The food is not Mark Miller exotic Southwestern cuisine...it's just sturdy, reliable, Mexican fare, just like in Mexico (we ate tons of Mexican food in SoCal for many years and spent lots of time eating south of the border, too) Prices are reasonable, margaritas are tasty. The atmosphere is festive and noisy, and the weekend mariachi are jovial and talented. The views of the reservoir are lovely, but it's the easy, rambunctious, relaxed ambience that makes this eatery fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good view, bland food.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We just chanced upon this restaurant driving through the area. The place itself is very nice and has the added bonus of dining on the patio with a nice view. The parking lot was full - I figured the locals must know something. Unfortunately, they didn't. Dinner proved to be a real disappointment. Bland is the best way to describe it. Very little flavor at all. They may have been understaffed as well - it was hard to get our waiter's attention and the wait was extremely long to receive our entrees. Next time we'll keep driving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitanaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Mananitas also viewed

 

Been to Las Mananitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing