We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay, try the Sagamore Sailing School”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sagamore Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay, try the Sagamore Sailing School”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Definitely go to the tea room, it is fabulous. If you get a chance go to the Sagamore Sailing school you will have an absolute blast! We went twice and had two different instructors. We have sailed all of our lives and really didn't need instruction but the instructors furthered out sailing skills and they were so much fun! The Sagamore Hotel used our photos from that beautiful day on Lake George in their sailing school brochures, and a few items found in the gift shop. I truly feel as though we are now a part of the Sagamore Hotel history! How incredible is that?

I have been to the Sagamore many times over the years and always in the fall, the grounds of the Hotel are beautiful. I stay in the Lodges, not the main building. I have always been impressed with the Lodge suites. They are larger and have a fireplace, couch, small kitchen and bedroom. You need to be specific when calling to make sure you have a view of the water - if you look at a map of the property, you may think you are right on the water, but there are no windows in the room with a view of the lake.

The last time I was there the staff made a point to tell us the hotel was purchased by a new owner - and the staff was nearly cut in half. Maybe that was why the service was not as perfect this time as in the past.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    356
    223
    171
    112
See reviews for
539
547
20
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Went there in October with hubby. Purpose of trip- to relax after a grueling summer of work in our family business. We don't require too much to do, just wanted to relax, however, during that time of year most of the businesses in the area are closed down for the season. There is some nice shopping at the outlets and a few restaurants are open in the area. The resort is nice. We had to move rooms because our first room, which was supposed to be a suite, had a sitting room with a couch and that's it. No tv, no table- kinda weird. We moved to another room, which was very nice. Had a few meals in the pub and the food was very good. Upon talking to the staff, we learned there is some grumbling among the ranks because the resort has just been taken over by a corporation and about 150 were let go- not great for morale. We wanted to go out on their boat, but for some reason it wasn't running. The food in the larger restaurant was also very good. Overall, a nice, relaxing trip. Also, visited the spa, which was nice. The property does need some work.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aktlwer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

First of all, let me say that the location of the Sagamore -- the view and the pool area overlooking the lake -- are so incredibly beautful and breathtaking that they almost overshadow any negative I might have to say.
BUT I agree with other posters that the "townhomes" are nasty, dark and shabby. Really surprising given the price of the place, and how nice the main hotel is. I would not stay in these rooms again. Food was fine, but nothing amazing. Also, the clientele is a odd mix of people 50+ and rich families and their kids, who tend to sort of stick to themselves. It was summer, and you just didn't get the sense that anyone was having fun. I think my kids (ages 9 and 11) would have had more fun at a cheaper motel along the strip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamik27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Our recent 3 day/2 night business conference at the Sagamore was very well received. Virtually every attendee that I spoke to felt that the service/rooms/food/entertainment were outstanding! There had been some talk of moving the Sagamore out of our conference rotation, but I believe that our experence in November will end those discussions. Kudos to the staff and management at the Sagamore.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

In the defense of the Sagamore, I was visiting on the off season. This can either mean you are innondated with the staff or there is not one to be found. Mine was more the latter. Although the young man who checked us in was very nice and helpful, when we approached him with 'credit card to hold the room' issues he said he took care of it and clearly didnt.

We were given two suites in the 'lodge' section both on the bottom floor and both with two full size beds. Not condusive to a romantic getaway. We called the front desk and they promptly moved us into a king bed suite, no problem (except the credit card issue again-never resolved). All three of the rooms are misleading from the pictures on the website. Never having been there before, the pictures look as though they are individual bldgs that house2-4 suites when in fact they are 5 huge bldgs that house, maybe 80 rooms/suites each? Each bldg faces the water but there are so many trees you cant actually see the water (even without a single leaf on them!). The kingbed suite itself was nice enough; kitchen (coffee pot, no toaster, tiny fridge, dont remember if there was an oven, two stovetop heater coils), pull out couch, gas fireplace, small balcony, huge flat screen tvs in both the living room and bed room, the bathroom was nice enough. The bed was very comfy but a big pet peeve of mine is no fitted sheet. This allows the flat sheet that is on the bed to come undone in two sconds flat and wake up on a bare mattress. As others have pointed out they were lucky enough to get a bathrobe, we were not. Nothing was available to us.

The offer a shuttle service from the lodges to the main hotel and as this was very off season, there was only two restaurants open at the hotel. We had rented a car and the town of Bolton landing as well as the town of Lake Geoge was compeletly closed. Even the McDonalds had a sign "see you in Spring 2010" - no lie. No place to eat lunch, no place to shop for even souvenigner gifts, nothing. We had to drive another 30 mins down the road to the next town for lunch and to shop for anything we had forgotten.

Another poster mentioned the staff being somewhat rude - we had that too in the restaurant. We were one of about 5 couples, with two waitresses and a bartender and it was as if we were interrupting their day to bring us a drink.

Outdoor pool looks small (it was covered), the indoor pool is relatively small, and the hot tub says it fits 8 but thats a stretch. The workout area was new and very nice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglander040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Just spent a long weekend at The Sagamore and if there was only one word to describe it, "Wonderful!". Rather than staying at the main hotel, we decided to stay at their Lodges that they have available on the property. I wanted something different from the average hotel stay, something more rustic but with the amenities of a resort. We booked the suite room and it was just spectacular! It was separate from the other lodges which made it much more private. The room in itself was simple, kitchen, small dining area, living room with L shaped couch with a gas fireplace and 42 inch flat screen. The bedroom also had a 32 inch flat screen and great views of the lake. We also had a balcony overlooking the lake but didn't spend time on it. It was chilly but warmed up towards the end of our stay. The bathroom was very nice. Walk in shower and separate bath tub. Some people might find the furnishings dated but we thought it was cute and charming for a lodge suite. We booked the Rekindle Romance Package so even though the rooms were very expensive ($500+), the package included breakfast daily and one dinner for 2. Only had to pay for tax/gratuity. Also spa credit worth up to $200 each so we booked massages at their spa. The massage was simple, nice. My wife really enjoyed hers. The indoor pool was tiny. We only used it one day for like an hour, mostly in the hot tub! The new outdoor pool is very large and very nice! They finally finished the construction everyone was complaining about over the summer. The grounds were so beautiful. The food was very good. We ate at La Bella Vita the first night. I had mentioned that we were celebrating our first year wedding anniversary so they arranged something nice for us. They brought us complimentary champagne and wrote Happy Anniversary on our dessert. The service and friendliness of the staff far exceeded my expectations. On the day before we left, we took The Morgan cruise that goes up and down the lake for an 1 1/2 hour. We were lucky because the captain told us tomorrow (10/20) was the last day of the cruise before they shut down until next year. The day we went, it was the perfect day. Not a cloud in the sky and the sun shining! The fall foliage was amazing. Most leaves were at their peak. It was a picture perfect day! I couldn't have had a better time during my short 4 day visit. It was off season and most of town was shut down which made our stay so peaceful! This town must be mobbed during the summer months! I normally don't go back to the same place more than once but I really might consider returning when the weather is warmer! Thank you Sagamore staff! You made my wife and I very happy! We are going to bring our families here next time!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blades01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains,ny
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Visited the Lake George,NY region during the off season to avoid the crowds and was pleasantly surprised by how relaxed I became during my short 3 night stay.....thanks largely to the idealic view of the lake. Our room was a basic hotel room but they had nice fluffy robes for us and the nightly turn down service included a chocolate on your pillow.
They have a few restaurants on the property but the only one I attended was the one off the main lobby....we didn't have to enter the main dining room to enjoy the great food and drinks. And finally the view.....you must sit outside in the Adironack chairs and have a drink....one in the afternoon and one in the late evening....each experience will be different and unforgetable. Don't forget the outdoor pool...it will feel like your almost in the lake.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
7.7 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#24 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sagamore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore Resort

Property: The Sagamore Resort
Address: 110 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-7735
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Sagamore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Resort Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing