We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Historic Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sagamore Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Historic Resort”
Reviewed September 28, 2008

I just got back from the Sagamore and was impressed with the resort in many ways, but disappointed in a few ways as well. Overall, the property is amazing! Very well-maintained and clean. Appropriately decorated at registration, in the main hotel as well as the lodge rooms, where we stayed. The views from the veranda and patio areas are amazing, especially with the start of foliage season. I do have to complain about the service in two areas. Upon arrival (we asked for a early check-in prior to our arrival) our room was not ready, which was fine since we had not eaten lunch yet. We chose to eat and take advantage of the beautiful veranda area. Lunch on the veranda was delicious (just a field green salad with grilled chicken), but service was slow. We ordered cocktails from the bar which took 5-10 minutes to be delivered. I probably could've picked them up from the bar area on my own since the veranda tables are so close to the bar. Our salads were delivered with no dressing on the salad itself nor on the side. We let the waitress know of this and again, it took a good 5 or more minutes just to get salad dressing.
After lunch, our room was ready which was great timing since we had to get ready for a wedding, which was not on the Sagamore property. When opening the door to our room we were shocked to find that it was occupied by other people. I found a housekeeper who phoned the front desk who then told us we needed to go back to registration to get a new room assignment. At this point we did not have time to waste by going back to registration which would have consumed another 15-20 minutes. We had to quickly use a family member's room (they were staying in the next building over) to get ready. Once all the room confusion was taken care of, all the staff could say was, "sorry." We were not compensated in ANY way for their mishap! Then, on our return from the wedding, our room key did not work in the door. We had to call security to open our room at midnight(supposedly the room keys get deactivated if near a cell phone, which mine was), again, all they could say was, "sorry."
Despite these areas of disapproval, the hotel itself is a grand place for the Lake George area. I would like to stay there again, especially to explore the grounds and facilities more and to give it another chance. I just felt that a hotel of this caliber would have treated their customers a bit better especially when it was their fault.

  • Liked — location of resort, views, cleanliness
  • Disliked — slow service on the veranda
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeleebeanCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    366
    227
    175
    115
See reviews for
553
559
20
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We decided to go here for a small getaway from the city. It is about 5 hours from NYC and by the lake so we thought it would be perfect for us. The Hotel is very grand with great architecture and landscaping but i think its more of a hotel where you go to have a family reunion or a wedding. Besides renting a boat and riding along the water there was not much else for us to do. We were surrounded by large groups celebrating, so we felt a bit out of place. Taking the boat out to restaurants was the best part of the trip. Next time I would either rent a house for the weekend or get a smaller more quaint hotel.

  • Liked — Location near lake
  • Disliked — Not very intimate
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NSL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Expensive for the average....but even if you can save up and afford twoi nights...well worth the pampering. Or stay in Lake George (nearby) and just come to the Sagamore to eat dinner at Trilium bis or sit on the Verandah terrace and order a drink or two...

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JESFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

First let me tell you my job is to rate hotels they get a F
DONT STAY AT THE SAGAMORE

This trip was for my fiancé for her birthday....
I hated every minute i stayed at the Sagamore.....
My car got hit in the parking lot ($1,200.00 in damage there response was we are not responsible)... I had a flat tire with a mark going down my car door. I called security numerous times and they never came. I had to fix my flat with no help from the hotel they couldn’t even tell me where i could get it fixed. The rooms where horrible we checked in at 12am went to the room and people where in our room we called the front desk nobody helped us. The room was filled with smoke, tv didn't work, the room was dirty, You can hear everything, the list can go on and on. When you make reservations for the restaurants and go to the restaurants they never have the reservation. They look at you like you have twelve heads.. Nobody knows what they are doing.... You can't get relax because you are always having problems... Management should get fired because they never have answers.. They drop you off in town and they will never pick you up they will tell you to take a cab or they will tell you that they will send someone to get you and no one will come... I had the worst experience staying at the sagamore and will never stay there again....
This was the biggest mistake I have ever made
Don’t make the mistake I made
They need new management fast

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything was horrible... Do not go
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank TripmanNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Having held our daughter's wedding reception at The Sagamore nearly 2 years ago, we knew that the setting, service and ambiance of this Adirondack landmark on beautiful Lake George is first class. What we weren't sure of, however, was whether we could secure a reservation for the busy Labor Day weekend on short notice. We called Rebecca Smith LaVallee, Sales Manager, who was able to book us into the last available lodge room on the property. Upon check-in, we were pleasently surprised to learn we'd been upgraded to a larger room in the main building - overlooking the water! Not long after getting settled in, we were treated to chocolate dipped strawberries delivered to our room - compliments of Ms. LaVallee. What a thoughtful touch! After a great meal in Mr. Brown's Pub, we enjoyed after dinner drinks while listening to the evening's musical entertainer in the Veranda Room. Lunch the next day, in the Pavilion waterside restaurant was tasty and relaxing, and gave us the opportunity to take in the spectacular mountain views.
The Sagamore Resort is an excellent destination for both a wedding reception and a weekend getaway - we know from having experienced both.

  • Liked — overall service
  • Disliked — crowded parking lot
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swaggerman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We had a lovely 3 day stay at the magnificent Sagamore on Lake
George N.Y. The accomodations are many and varied. We stayed in a nice size hotel room. The service was excellent and all the dining rooms and restaurants had fabulous food.

We booked our reservations through Whatahotel, which enabled us to receive a discounted rate and included breakfast, which was a real treat !

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PANana17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We wanted to get away close by (within a few hours drive) with the family for a short trip up to Lake George. We've stayed in nearby hotels in the village but decided to splurge at the Sagamore.

Bolton Landing is about 10-15 mins by driving, north of Lake George Village so it was further away than we thought and that kept us from visiting the village as often as we would have if we stayed closer but Bolton Landing has a nice small area with some decent restaurants and shops. The Sagamore is little bit hard to find but once you get the hang of it, its fine. You drive up this road, across a bridge onto the island. You register in a building in the front and then drive to the back. We stayed at the hotel proper but you can also stay in the Lodges which are separate buildings along the property.

The hotel is luxurious in a old style way but the rooms were a bit small compared to hotel 4 and 5 star hotels that we stayed at. The quality was fine, just a little more cramped. The bathrooms were a bit small as well but there is a nice big walk in closet in the room as well. We stayed in the Garden View side which basically means any part of the property that does NOT overlook the lake. We were told that in the evenings, adults had to wear classier clothing so no flip-flops and shorts. We didn't venture out to the restaurants and bars in the hotel to test this but we recommend you read the instructions and prepare in case.

There is a spa and pool in the hotel. The pool is a smaller one but it suited our family fine and we did not use the spa. There is a nice atrium in the lobby facing the outdoor terrace. We had breakfast there every morning which is was just buying bagels and pastries at the counter and eating them at our table. They have restaurants in the hotel but we chose to eat in Lake George or Bolton Landing mostly.

There are a lot of amenities on the island. With small children, we didn't partake but you can rent bikes and boats and we saw other families doing that. There is a small sandy area near the docks called the beach. Look for our photos. Its not much of a real beach but somewhere close by to relax and still fun for small children. There is a horse drawn carriage as well but we didn't ride that either. The island is worth exploring to see if there are other fun things to do.

Overall, we did have a nice stay and the staff was very friendly. We read some reviews about rude staff but did not encounter that at all. However, you can tell that we were not blown away by anything and the rates are pricey. Compared to the standard hotels in Lake George, it is nicer and if you do want to get away, use a spa, rent a boat, play some golf, it may be the right resort for you. However, if you are just looking for a nice play to stay and plan to spend most of your time in and around Lake George Village, you could look elsewhere and then decide if its worth the price.

  • Liked — Luxurious, nice staff and good amenitites
  • Disliked — Rooms and bathroom were smaller than expected
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnasty71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
1.4 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
203 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 89 in Lake George
133 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#10 of 89 in Lake George
163 reviews
9.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sagamore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore Resort

Property: The Sagamore Resort
Address: 110 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-7735
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sagamore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Resort Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing