We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“misleading advertisement” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sagamore Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“misleading advertisement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

this hotel advertises packages such as their "family vacation packages." pay 3 nights get a 4th night free for sunday and monday night arrivals in july and august. starting early march, despite plenty of availability, they kept saying they package is not availabilible. I went thru every sunday and monday night the entire summer and I think it was available one time late august. it should say "family package only available after kids go back to school." by the way, when i made the manager aware that they package is no longer available and they should take it off their website - they refused. by the way, it was the same for their book early and save 15 percent. also, not available all summer. beware.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank musicmuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    340
    208
    166
    110
See reviews for
511
502
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Historical hotel right by the Lake George. We were expecting more out of this hotel and we were somewhat disappointed. The suite that we've got was okay, the furniture was old and not very comfortable. The first suite we've got had AC problem, after trying to fix it for 3 hours, they moved us to another suite which had a better layout. The bathroom is just horrible, it felt like it was 20 square feet. Old and crowded.

The restaurant was strange, we felt like we bothered the many servers which were gang up next to the kitchen door, I think there was only one other party in the restaurant at the same time. The food was very good and tasteful.

We were there in May so the little town seemed a little bit like a ghost town, I imagine it is better during peak season.

We found this hotel by booking thru American Express Platinum Fine Hotels and Resorts program. We were surprised that a hotel like this is listed under this program, we are not usually disappointed with hotels in that program.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martinbutler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you ware coming to Lake George, and looking for a top shelf hotel experience...this is your place. Don't even bother thinking it over, the Sagamore is known far and wide as THE place to stay on the lake. The accommodations are top notch, the service is perfection, and the views are wonderful. Add many great dining options, a Donald Ross golf course, great pool area, tons of on lake activities to partake of, fun things fo the kids, an amazing spa, and the quaint village of Bolton right within a short walk...and you have your perfect upstate Lake George getaway.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel, get a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellofrontdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'd planned a special 3 day surprise birthday getaway last October and I must say I picked the perfect resort. The Sagamore enjoys a stunning location on Lake George. We stayed in a one bedroom suite located in a building closer to the entrance to the resort but with beautiful lake views. The entire resort is amazing and we also loved learning about the history. We went out on their private boat and again, we were so impressed with the stunning scenery and the beauty of the entire area, especially as they were experiencing the legendary Fall colors. The resort is also located very close to the main village of Bolton Landing and we could easily walk into the village in 5 minutes. We can't wait to return to The Sagamore and we highly recommend to anyone wishing to have an incredible getaway for complete rest and relaxation as well as lake and boating activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Big hotel overlooking the lake. the most luxurious that we could find on short notice during the off season. Big lobby, many of the guests were older set. Relatively small room but nice bathrooms, and such. Romantic boat dock, empty at night, well positioned lounge chairs right on the deck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikez1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I traveled here for our one year wedding anniversary. I could not have been more happy with our choice! We were treated extremely well by every staff member from the front desk to the bartender in Caldwells. I truly cannot say enough good things about it.

We dined in each restaurant during our stay and the food was perfect every time!!! Both the downstairs bar and the fine dining restaurant have very distinct atmospheres but we loved having a casual and upscale option.

We stayed in one of the lodges and though I read mixed reviews about them on Trip Advisor, we really loved it. It was very cozy and had a lovely fireplace. The bathroom was gorgeous (not sure if it had been renovated recently) but it was really great. The views from our room were spectacular!

The location was perfect - we walked from the Hotel over the short bridge to the downtown area of Bolton Landing and went into some wonderful local shops; found some great Christmas gifts!

Overall, I give this five stars! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was my third stay. 10 year wedding anniversary. Place is one of a kind. Rooms may be small, but not for lack of attention to details, just the way they were made way back when. They are super clean and modern with enough details to make you think you are 1800s big-wigs. Just no steamboats!

Every meal we ate there was top notch. The view and the pools were excellent. Pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: Get lakeside for super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooter12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
10.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.3 mi away
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
7.7 mi away
Lodges at Cresthaven
Lodges at Cresthaven
#27 of 90 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sagamore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore Resort

Property: The Sagamore Resort
Address: 110 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-7735
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sagamore Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sagamore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Resort Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing