We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Incredible 3 days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sagamore Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Incredible 3 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'd planned a special 3 day surprise birthday getaway last October and I must say I picked the perfect resort. The Sagamore enjoys a stunning location on Lake George. We stayed in a one bedroom suite located in a building closer to the entrance to the resort but with beautiful lake views. The entire resort is amazing and we also loved learning about the history. We went out on their private boat and again, we were so impressed with the stunning scenery and the beauty of the entire area, especially as they were experiencing the legendary Fall colors. The resort is also located very close to the main village of Bolton Landing and we could easily walk into the village in 5 minutes. We can't wait to return to The Sagamore and we highly recommend to anyone wishing to have an incredible getaway for complete rest and relaxation as well as lake and boating activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    341
    208
    166
    110
See reviews for
513
502
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Big hotel overlooking the lake. the most luxurious that we could find on short notice during the off season. Big lobby, many of the guests were older set. Relatively small room but nice bathrooms, and such. Romantic boat dock, empty at night, well positioned lounge chairs right on the deck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikez1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I traveled here for our one year wedding anniversary. I could not have been more happy with our choice! We were treated extremely well by every staff member from the front desk to the bartender in Caldwells. I truly cannot say enough good things about it.

We dined in each restaurant during our stay and the food was perfect every time!!! Both the downstairs bar and the fine dining restaurant have very distinct atmospheres but we loved having a casual and upscale option.

We stayed in one of the lodges and though I read mixed reviews about them on Trip Advisor, we really loved it. It was very cozy and had a lovely fireplace. The bathroom was gorgeous (not sure if it had been renovated recently) but it was really great. The views from our room were spectacular!

The location was perfect - we walked from the Hotel over the short bridge to the downtown area of Bolton Landing and went into some wonderful local shops; found some great Christmas gifts!

Overall, I give this five stars! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was my third stay. 10 year wedding anniversary. Place is one of a kind. Rooms may be small, but not for lack of attention to details, just the way they were made way back when. They are super clean and modern with enough details to make you think you are 1800s big-wigs. Just no steamboats!

Every meal we ate there was top notch. The view and the pools were excellent. Pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: Get lakeside for super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooter12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have been to the Sagamore a dozen times for both business and pleasure. With one caveat, it will not fail to please.

The location on a penninsula on the West side of Lake George, is stunning. The hotel is now nicely maintained (a change from fifteen years ago when it had fallen into disrepair). There is a wealth of things to do in the area with water sports and fishing high on the list. My family loved it.

It is also a SPECTACULAR place for modest sized business meetings (maybe 300 tops) and the staff is quite adept at putting meetings together.

Caveat: You MUST get a room with a lake view ... or at least a room in the main hotel. The lodges are a walk and have no view at all ... or much charm. They are NOT worth the expense.

Room Tip: Lake view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwcaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here mid October 2012 and had a great experience. Staff were very accommodating and the food was excellent. The grounds are beautiful and it's a short mile walk to the quaint town of Bolton. The Sagamore is a first class resort in a serene setting. There are plenty of activities for any age right on the property. The fitness center and spa are top notch. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge with a balcony view. We were on the third floor near the main staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed here in October for one night on our way up to Montreal. the hotel itself was very impressive, but it transpired we were not in the main hotel, but in one of their lodges. Also we did not have a view of the lake but a view of the car park! however we did have a basic room so we were not really surprised, but when we booked it did show a terrace area with chairs, again we did not have this! Now the room, it was very acceptable, there was a lovely bed with the most comfortable mattress and topper and the bathroom had very good quality bath essentials. There was a coffee/tea maker, and a flat screen tv. breakfast was not included in the price, so we ate later en route, but we did explore the hotel in the morning before leaving, although it was very quiet, as it was low season, it looked as if they really pack them in on Loungers by the lake! we were also charged a "resort tax" although why they couldn't just put it in with the room price I have no idea as there was no choice in the matter. reception was good and quite friendly on check out.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake ( though it will be more expensive, for quite an expensive hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroleNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
10.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
9.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sagamore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore Resort

Property: The Sagamore Resort
Address: 110 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-7735
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sagamore Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Sagamore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Resort Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing