We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sagamore sags a little”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sagamore Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had not been to the Sagamore since the multimillion renovation several years ago. Most of the money it appeared has been spent on the waterfront. The views are fabulous and I imagine even better in the summer when you could boat or sail. They've even created a beach where there was none!

The rooms were lovely and large (not sure they were part of the update). The main restaurant has been completely redone and is now more 'family friendly.' The orginal was more elegant and 'adult only' but this was fine. Food was good - I would not say great.

My only complaint was at the check out. We had booked the dining package at a particular rate but were charged a different rate ($150 more). Breakfast was included (along with dinner) but we were charged for that as well. We called when we arrived home and the correction was made. The person in the business office said that the rate had 'gone up' since we booked (this was a holiday weekend). Still, it was not a happy ending to our stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a room with the 'lake view.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lake George is simply a clean, large, beautiful lake and The Sagamore is a great place to enjoy all that the area has to offer. I was there for a conference and it was very nice. The lodges can be a little far from the main building, which wasn't conducive to easy room stops for a conference. Although the shuttle service travels frequently (actually on-demand), and the parking seemed to be ample, if you don't or can;t walk a lot, you might want to consider spending the extra money and staying in the hotel itself (although the lodge rooms were much larger). One other observation is that the hotel didn;t appear to be very handicap friendly. There were an abundance of steps (a few here, a few there) and it looked like accessibiility could be a problem. The food was very good and the property is definitely pretty.

Room Tip: lodges can be quite a walk away, but are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYDiverAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is a beautiful place located a few miles from Lake George Village and in Bolton Landing. It is right on Lakr George itself and the views are amazing. We went when the leaves were changing and it was fantastic.

The breakfast buffet was $22 per person but worth it. However, there are places to eat in Bolton Landing or Lake George. If you do eat the buffet, sit outside for the view while you eat. It is the same place for the dinner restaurant. Again, worth it.

The concierge knew everything and everywhere to go. They had events going on at the hotel and S'Mores at the fire pit at night.

We had an issue in a room and they immediately upgraded us.

The price may be a little pricey, but in this case yoi are paying for quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Came in the autumn for a family (sisters) vacation. The grounds and hotel are gorgeous. We stayed in the lodges, which we a little less pricey. There was a mix up with our room (we wanted two beds instead of a king), and they upgraded us for the second night. Awesome. The food was marvelous. The restaurant service terrific. My only hesitation (which hasn't affected my ranking) is the lodge rooms are definitely "lodgey", so if that's not your preference try to stay in the hotel itself. My spa visit was also excellent--great massage, good ambience. Finally, take them up on the cruise around the lake on the Morgan. It was fun. This isn't a budget inn, but for a first-class stay it's worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveller300072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I took my daughter here over xmas break for 4 days about 5 years ago. It was VERY expensive but honestly the hotel was amazing. Nothing was included, your hotel rate just paid for the room, use of the grounds and the pool and parking. Food, spa, child programs ect were all additional but in this case- I WAS HAPPY ANYWAY. This is truly a first class hotel and everything is exceptional. I wish it was a little less expensive, maybe we could stay more often.

Room Tip: standard rooms have 2 double beds.. all of the rooms are immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethT163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

When we made our reservation online, the confirmation screen at the end reflected the rate as $50 more/night before taxes and fees than what was shown on the reservation screen. Called them and had it fixed. No apologies.

The package we booked included a free breakfast each morning. They ended up billing us for 2 out of 5 breakfasts, one of which we had corrected at check-out. The other one was charged to our credit card following check-out. Called their Billing department and they did end up crediting the charge. No apologies.

As for our condo, the space was what we expected but one of the ceiling fans was broken with a part hanging off the ceiling supported by exposed wires. Also, the blanket in the master bedroom and the floor mat in the bathroom had red/dark red stains.

Other aspects: The grounds were well-kept. We encountered some helpful staff but also some unhelpful/unfriendly staff. Overall, we expected better in light of what we paid for our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I attended a business function and was able to stay here for 2 nights in early October. Beautiful property, extremely clean, restaurants were great, beds were really comfortable. Try takaing the lake dinner cruise, really shows how large Lake George is.

Room Tip: Stay in the mail property, not in the "suites".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffLowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
1.4 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
8.6 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
9.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sagamore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore Resort

Address: 110 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-7735
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range: $168 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sagamore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Resort Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing