We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,874)
Filter reviews
1,874 results
Traveler rating
807
456
268
208
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
807
456
268
208
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel rec center lake george la bella beautiful resort lake view brown's pub kids club tennis courts outdoor pool lobster roll family resort lounge chairs shuttle service this past weekend long weekend suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,597 - 1,602 of 1,874 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I was initially apprehensive...concerned that I may have made a mistake booking this trip for the Memorial Day weekend after having read a few of the reviews on Tripadvisor. I even tried to cancel my booking. I am glad that I went ahead despite a review that suggested bedbugs.
NOTHING of that sort.
The hotel was impressive given extensive renovations including a pool by the lake, outdoor armchairs and patio seats. The staff is upbeat about all the new positive changes. We encountered at least three chatty waiters who could not contain their thrill and excitement...and suggested things to do during the weekend. The hotel room was as good as any Ritz Carlton we have stayed in.
Our children enjoyed the kids' club activities - miniature golf, pingpong, nature walk, Wii, movie night - plus a campfire complete with Smores and singing.
Most delightful of all was the quality of the food - a true testament to the skills many of these chefs picked up at the nearby Culinary Institute of America.
The hotel offered a complimentary 1.5 hour boatride around the lake, with guides on board who gave very intimate narrations about an area they grew up in.
Set in very spectacular mountains and water, this trip was very relaxing and a good break from New York City without having to hop on a plane. We are glad we made it.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonW70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We went for a weekend getaway. We stayed in one of the lodge rooms. It did not have a view, but we were only there in the evening when it didn't matter. The room was fine for two people, clean and tastefully furnished. The main building is beautiful, and the setting is truly magnificent. We spent many restful hours reading, knitting, and relaxing on the comfy chairs overlooking the lake. In the morning we took our coffee outside, and in the evening we watched the sunset from the dock. The new outdoor pool is lovely, big enough to do laps in. The fitness center is well-equipped, and I took a zumba class and a yoga class, both excellent. We ate dinner twice in the restaurant, it was excellent, and while not inexpensive, worth every penny. We found the staff extremely efficient and friendly. There are several homey diners in the nearby town for breakfast or brunch. On Saturday night there was a bonfire with a fun, funny, talented guitar player, who took requests and encouraged us to sing along. We are thinking about going back in the fall....the views would be breathtaking. They were still doing some work around the property, but it did not affect my happiness quotient.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We have stayed at the Sagamore in the past because it was family friendly. That policy appears to be changing. We were just informed that although there will supposedly be an exception made for Memorial Day weekend, the indoor pool will no longer be available to children. Lake George is pretty cold in May and June, and if you have children they'll be relegated to the outdoor pools. In addition, according to the reservations office, the recreation building will not be open until late June, in time for the summer season, and it's unclear whether the waterfront will be open on Memorial Day weekend. If a resort considers itself a summer destination, why wouldn't all facilities be available by Memorial Day? This is an expensive facitlity, and there should be more accomodations made to famiies, and the website should accurately represent the new limitations imposed on prospective guests.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoeZ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matttobin, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to see that you had stayed with us in the past and appreciate your business. Over the past three seasons we have worked very hard to bring positive upgrades for both families and couples. To speak specifically about this Memorial Day weekend, our waterfront is currently open and has been for the past three weeks. I do agree that the temperature of Lake George is cold, however our main outdoor pool is heated and has been for the past three weeks and our indoor pool will be available to guests of all ages. Our warming pool is also open for our guests to enjoy too.

Over the Memorial Day weekend we will have full operation of the resort to include several dining options, the Morgan cruise, bonfires with s,mores and a guitar player for all to enjoy along with a recreation area complete with Wii and Xbox stations, pool, ping pong and much more. In addition we will have culinary tours of our kitchens and chef’s demonstrations and a history tour. Memorial day weekend is the unofficial kick off to our summer season and we welcome the opportunity to create remarkable guest experiences every day. Thank you again for your review and we do look forward to welcoming your back to the Sagamore soon.

Sincerely,

Tom Guay,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The hotel was undergoing a huge renovation. There was dust all around, it was noisy the whole day. People were walking around our room and making too much of noise making us regret staying at the hotel. The rooms are very dated and the furniture is very cottage like.
However the location was wonderful. The island itself is very beautiful and peaceful making it comfortable for couples.
I hope the renovation gets complete and the rooms get better.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_feather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The property is beautiful, the restaurants are expensive but excellent, but unfortunately the hotel room had bedbugs. I woke up with welts on my legs so unfortunately, we won't go back. I did try to report it to the front desk, but they were always too busy registering guests to speak to me.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sha8524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matttobin, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

To Our Sagamore Guests:

We want to thank all of our past and future guests that utilize Trip Advisor in an effort to not only share the many wonderful experiences and memories made at the resort, but also illustrate certain instances where we have not met your expectations. We assure you that the management team at the resort read and react to every review and utilize the positive confirmations and constructive criticisms to help us improve our product and enhance the guest experience.

With that said we wanted to take a moment and respond to the most recent review regarding bed bugs in one of our rooms. I have personally been with the resort for 8 years and during my tenure we have never experienced any confirmed cases of bed bugs throughout the property. Furthermore our housekeeping department inspects every unit on a daily basis in order to maintain the highest quality and cleanliness standards in the industry. We understand the heightened sensitivity to this issue and go above and beyond to ensure that every accommodation is bed bug free.

We have contacted this customer specifically to learn more about their specific isolated experience.

Sincerely,

Tyler Herrick
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews