We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce and Clean Country Cabins”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
NYC
1 review
“NIce and Clean Country Cabins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

We found the cabins clean and tidy. The grounds are kept clean. The view of the lake from all areas of the property was excellent. A short walk to town. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCRecharged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    39
    4
    6
    27
See reviews for
83
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa fe, NM
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Bolton Landing is a beautiful spot, with less bustle than the town of Lake George. Contessa Resort was lovely, and clean, the perfect spot for a family. We traveled with our toddler who loved the pool and the playground. There are also picnic tables right on the lake, as well as free canoes for guests. We also found Bob Parrotta, the owner very helpful with information about the area, and restaurant advice. We stayed in the penthouse suite with gorgeous views from the deck.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelladysantafe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

We just got back from spending two weeks at the Contessa Resort on Lake George. I have to tell you that I miss the place - it was fantastic.! My family stayed in several units at the resort and made it an extended family vacation. I had my wife and 4 kids in my unit and everything worked great. The maid service was so attentive and always went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Since we also rented a dock slip for our boat, the maid's even made sure we had spare towels to wipe down the boat the morning after a rain shower. Captain Bob (aka Bob Parotta) is great. He's taken on a new venture of renting Pontoon boats at the Contessa. If you've never been on the Lake, a pontoon boat is probably the best way to get started and he has a fleet of brand new boats that were always in use. We probably saw Bob 4 times a day as he was always running from one issue to another, but he always stopped to make sure we had everything we needed. He really made us feel welcome and relaxed at his place. It was very clean. The staff was constantly tending to the grounds and taking care of the landscaping. It was very clean and well maintained.

As for the resort - it is a real find. Lake George is 32 miles long, and it splits right at the infamous "Narrows", where the lake is at its widest point before snaking up between the interesting little islands that make the narrows. It is hear, that the lake is at its widest point, with Black Mountain in the backdrop literally falling into the water that the Contessa calls its home. It is by far the most beautiful view on the lake! Sitting on my own deck (each unit has its own well sized deck), I could stare at that view for hours.

I strongly recommend the Contessa to any families looking for a way to get the best out of Lake George. If you've got your own boat - get a dock from Capt Bob - if you don't, get one of his Pontoons and get out on the lake. It's the best way to experience this Adirondack Treasure!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhopki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Contessa Resort. The pool overlooks Lake George with amazing views of the Adirondack Mtns. and there is a playground for the kids. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated, comfortable and cozy. The owner is personable and went out of his way to make sure our stay was enjoyable and he recommended a great place to eat that was a short distance from the resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpsangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

The Resort is centrally located on Lake George just outside the town of Bolton Landing. The town has all you need, restaurants, shops and a Supermarket. A ten-fifteen minute car ride brings you into Lake George Village. All the cabins have been recently renovated and improved. My whole family has been coming to this resort for over thirty years now and we rent several cabins. Cabins all have a private deck with great views of the lake. Dock space is available at an additional cost - bring your boat or you can now rent a pontoon boat on the premises or use the resorts canoes for free. Gas grills are outside every cabin and there is daily maid service. My kids are college age now and still enjoy their week at the Contessa.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgiamb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

I went here with my family - sisters, brothers, and their spouses and kids ranging from ages 8 to 21. It's a great place to get away for a weekend or week. The lake is beautiful and the views from the rooms are awesome. There is a homey feeling at the Contessa and in Bolton Landing. Also there's a diner just up the hill that is great for breakfast. Locals are there every morning at the counter. It's a perfect scene. The Contessa would also be a good place to stay for single or married couples of any age. It is a welcome change from big city or crowded and touristy vacations.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleAgedCityChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

We had a group of 18 staying in multiple cabins and motel rooms. Each type of accomodation has its own deck to relax and enjoy the lake view. And the views of the lake are EVERYWHERE at Contessa. The pool area is large, plenty of lounge chairs. There is a playground for the kids, it was even big enough for our makeshift whiffle ball game. We rented a boat for our week's stay and docked it right at the resort (yes, there is an extra charge for that). There are lounges down at dock area too. Our group had kids ranging from 8-19. We fished, played basketball, hung out at our deck and the pool. The town of Bolton Landing is a short walk or drive, although I wouldn't walk with small children. We ate dinners in town and enjoyed some great BBQs on our own deck (each large unit has its own gas grill and full kitchen) Contessa is a casual comfortable place to stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldsib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.2 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#22 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#7 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
10.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort

Property: Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort
Address: 5102 Route 9N, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Contessa Lake George Motel And Resort
Contessa Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing