We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice setting, good service, food was nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algonquin Restaurant

Algonquin Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The algonquin re-opens spring 2016
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good service, food was nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

First time back since the 1970's when we used to boat in for lunch. Still a great setting, but dinner was nothing special. My wife had sole almondine which was ok, my son had some overlooked chicken tenders and I had filet mignon that was good given that it was choice, not prime meat. The service was friendly and attentive, perhaps better than other reviews here. Bottom line- come for lunch and the setting, and you will leave with a pleasant experience- look elsewhere for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lmb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    118
    81
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best on Lake George”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place can not be beat for great snacks, appetizers, food and drink... great service and great attitudes..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The view is the best aspect of The Algonquin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is where you stop for lunch on a glorious day and you want to stare at boats (first) and eat (second). The Algonquin has a decent, diverse menu, with service better than the food. But there's something for every member of your family here, from salads with edamame (I added some grilled chicken to bolster the protein component) to burgers and even potstickers to start. On a beautiful day, this is a great place to stare into Lake George's waters and boats that arrive at the Algonquin dock-side to grab a bite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BotticelliDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Needs a Hard Look by Management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had dinner here over the 4th of July weekend. We made our reservation one (1) month in advance in their upstairs dining room and requested a table by the window as it was my mates Birthday. I even reconfirmed my reservation 3 days prior to make certain everything was correct and in order which I was assured it was. We arrived on July 5th and we were given in table so far in the back from a window, that it was almost in the kitchen. When I mentioned it to the owner and said that what was the point of my booking a month in advance, her attitude was either take this table or you have to wait another hour, that would have been 9:00 p.m. We sat at this awful table in what is supposed to be their better dining room, which was nothing special at all; in fact, it was tacky. We sat there for about 15 minutes before anyone came over or acknowledged us. During this time, we saw two (2) tables by the window open up. No one else was waiting, so we asked the owner if we could be moved especially since no one even came over to our table as yet. She said, once it is made up, I guess it will be ok. Not very pleasant or accommodating. If it hadn't started to rain, we would have left. We don't mind spending, so we can eat anywhere. After another 10 minutes, finally a waiter came over. and we told him that we asked to be moved by the table by the window. Since at this point, the owner made no attempt to get that table re-set for us, I have to say that the waiter did, and he politely moved us over. By this time, it was getting dark and the view of the Lake was getting less and less.

The waiter, who was very nice, finally took our drink order and gave us menus. When we saw this menu, we looked at each other and said, we should have left. We did order and the food was just ok. The selections, quality and preparation left a lot to be desired. Definitely not worth the prices they had the audacity to charge. In addition, you wait so long for your order, that when you get it, it is luke warm. The only thing this restaurant has is the atmosphere of Lake George other than that, their fine dining is a dive.

I would recommend going here for a drink to enjoy the view of the Lake and the boats---eat somewhere else as there are lots of really great restaurants in Bolton and Lake George than the Algonquin. Don't bother to make a reservation as that doesn't seem to matter either. They did have a very nice lady singing and playing piano in the upstairs dining room, but by 9:00 p.m. when we finally got some attention, she was leaving. You can pass on this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank janie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Bar view on Lake George”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Algonquin has a terrific setting right at the waters edge. We sat outside and watched all the people coming to the restaurant on their boats. The food was good but it was the setting that made the evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonquin Restaurant also viewed

 
Bolton Landing, NY
 

Been to Algonquin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing