We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a blast”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adirondack Park Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We had a blast”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend of Aug 25,2012. The owners are very pleasant and accomodating. Rented a cottage which was simple and efficient. The walk to the lake was a little long but, worth it. We were pleasantly suprised when we were taken on a one hour boat ride on the lake(provided by the owner.) Nice and quiet, it was a great place to enjoy Lake George. We will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently stayed at this motel and will not be going back. Our biggest complaint is that no one told us about the" VERY STEEP HILL" when we made our reservation and you clearly can't see it from the pictures posted on their website. You will only go down to the lake once a day after climbing those stairs and there is no beach area, just a dock to sit on. Thank god for the pool area which was very nice. The beds were quite uncomfortable and the brown blankets need to be replaced. The carpet is dirty as the bottoms of our feet needed to be cleaned before we went to bed. The breakfast is minimal so if you like a big breakfast you should go into town. The owners were nice and gave us suggestions on resturants which were nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sugarheart84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just returned from a long weekend at the motel. We rented two of rooms and found the accommodations clean and simple as we expected for this property. The property owners and the beauty of the location exceeded our expectations. We gained insights on dining, boat rentals and raining day activities from the owners and enjoyed the lake docks. canoes, kayaks and quiet! The breakfast treats whipped up by the owner are delightful along with what seemed to be a bottomless coffee pot! We hope to return to this paradise on the lake!!

Room Tip: Motel rooms with a 'lake view' feel more open than those without the back doors to the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PEKCIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

When we first walked into our room at the motel part of this place it smelled very fresh and clean, looked very clean as well so that was a plus but it was very small, two beds which we needed a room with 2 beds so that was no surprise but there wasnt much room for anything else, or to even really walk without squeeing by one another.. we took a walk down to the boat house and lake that the women at front desk told us about where there were free boat rentals and a dock, swimming or relaxing on the chairs they have down there, it was A LOT of stairs to get there and they were very slippery due to the recent rain that day it seemed pretty dangerous so if your older or have trouble with stairs i wouldnt suggest it.. but once we got down there it was BEAUTIFUL,.. Going back up the stairs is for sure a workout and something your not going to want to do more than once unless u plan on reallly sore legs.. the inground pool looked nice and clean but we didnt get to use due to the rain. We didnt spend too much time in our room other than sleeping and that was the worst part.. the beds were extreamly uncomfortble.. hard mattresses and one of the bed sheets had brown stains all over. We walked over to office to get new sheets but the office was closed it was late. I know that the sheets were washed but it was just kinda gross seeing the stains.. we all didnt sleep very well due to the not so comfy beds woke up with sore backs and sore necks. check out time is 1030, most motels are 11.. shower is very small and there is hardly any water preasure.. air conditiner in room worked great which was a plus! Continental breakfast had muffins and some other items. Not too much,but did the job. .. for the price we paid for this hotel room i was a bit dissapointed, the biggest issue were the beds and how uncomfortble they were..sleep is very important esp. On a weekend getaway after walking around lake george all day and we def.didnt get the rest we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lifeISGood4268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham, nj
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The motel owner was very pleasant and helpful when we needed a place to stay for the night at the last minute. The motel room had all the basics and it was clean. (So clean that the odor of the cleaning products lingered.) There was a generous and tasty continental breakfast in the morning. However, the biggest "plus" was the use of the boat house right on the lake. There were several docks and plenty of canoes. We really enjoyed taking a canoe ride in the evening and on the morning we left, savoring the quiet beauty of the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachwalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a simple, nice place for people who love the woods, boats and water. We have stayed in the motel but much prefer the cabins out in the back. We bring a sailboat, and often rent a power boat. The docks, boathouse and lake swimming are the best anywhere! All the docks and boating accommodations are no extra charge. There are free canoes and rowboats to use. The boathouse is a stone and wood structure about 80-90 years old. The lake water is deep and very clean for swimming right off the docks, but there is also a new pool up at the top of the property near the motel. Jan and Gena have become our friends and have watched our kids grow up every summer. They are both very knowledgable about the lake, camping, hiking, activities etc. Jan is an experienced boater, and Gena knows everything about the local town. Yes the walk down to the lake is steep (100 steps) but you get in better shape after a few days. Check out the lake house; it is rustic but very nice. We think the negative review of this house is very inaccurate.

Room Tip: The motel is basic; go for the suites, or even better the cabins or the lake house;
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeFrederickMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The best thing about this motel is the lake that it sits on. Nice dock. Nice place to hang out. Nice location on the lake away from the large boat traffic. If you have elderly people they will not be able to climb up and down to the dock. Everything else is dated. The "large" house that is for ten guests is one step up from camping. The pots, pans, dishes and utensils are a hodge podge of mixed matched Walmart rejects. The furniture may have been designed by a sadist. The living room could be nice in a rustic way. But the stuff in there may have been collected at the side of the road right before the garbage truck got there. The furniture was inadequate for the number of guests. The kitchen faucet had a broken sprayer which was needed. The fridge leaked water on the bottom all the time. 2nd floor basin clogged up, shower leaked through into kitchen. The shower was so small if you dropped anything you hit your head on the wall before you could pick it up. Ceiling fans in all the rooms, but some of them vibrated making sleep difficult. You trade in you old towels and toilet paper rolls for new ones by leaving it in the basket on the table off the kitchen. Screens didn't fit tightly on the windows allowing bugs to enter the cabin. We had a little pet mouse that lived where the fireplace met the ceiling. What's with the old aluminum ladder attached to the shed roof ?? Fire escape?? Old, lumpy pillows, old worn out mattresses.
I didn't expect the Hilton here, but this cabin should be upgraded and improved. Colonel Klink (our nickname), the proprietor of this motel, seemed friendly to some of the quests but I found he had a problem with communication. I know it's not an easy busy business. I know what kind of hard work goes into a business like this. You do have to put a percentage back into the buildings and grounds.

Room Tip: Go down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelCity60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveLakeGeorge_12, Owner at Adirondack Park Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
We first want like to thank travelCity60763 for his/her complements and appreciation for our location and waterfront facilities that he/she apparently enjoyed at Adirondack Park Motel. It is our primary objective to provide vacations for guests who are looking for a full waterfront experience (lake and pool swimming, fishing, complementary canoes, kayaks, rowboats, lake cruises, docking for customer boats) at one of the best waterfront locations on what is thought by many to be the Queen of American lakes.
Our property is on a hillside which can be seen in our web and brochure photos. The closest rental unit to the water (the Lake House) is over 100 feet away and uphill from the waterfront. While the hill may be an obstacle to those who have difficulty with stairs, it provides unmatched privacy for those at the waterfront and in the Lake House. Additionally, we do make a positive effort to discuss our hillside location with those who call for reservations.
We’d also like to sincerely apologize to travelCity60763 for failing to meet his/her expectations about the rest of our facility. Vacations are important for everyone and it is unfortunate we were unable to resolve travelCity70763’s difficulty with the pots and pans, kitchen sink sprayer, vibrating ceiling fan, clogged sink, and even the mouse, all of which are easily fixable and are some of the types of maintenance issues we handle on a regular basis. If he/she had chosen to speak to one of the owners, the office staff or even one of the housekeepers we would have promptly addressed and fixed any or all of them.
In fact, the refrigerator issue was brought to our attention on the date of arrival by the individual who rented the Lake House. We responded and apparently fixed the problem to her satisfaction. We also followed up the next day and were thanked for the follow-up and assured that the refrigerator was working satisfactorily. Additionally, we followed up two additional times later in the week with the person who negotiated the rental and were not made aware of any of the issues reported above by travelCity 60763.
With respect to some of the other items:
• The two showers are standard 30” wide fiberglass showers with shower curtains. When the shower curtains are not tucked in, water may get on the floor and in the case of the 2nd floor shower, may leak into the kitchen near the refrigerator. If the showers were too small for travelCity60763 we could have offered him/her a motel room, all of which have 48” wide fiberglass showers.
• Our mattresses are all purchased new from Serta. We do replace a portion of our mattresses on a scheduled basis. I’m sorry that travelCity60763 found them less than satisfactory, but we have no old or lumpy mattresses.
• The aluminum ladder on the side of the Lake House is a New York State Department of Health mandated fire escape and is permanently installed.
• The lake House is a 5 bedroom 2 bath facilities which is ideal for up to 8 people which is how we advertise it. To meet customer requirements we will permit up to 10 people because we recognize and respect that some family groups wish to stay together. Indeed we have had as few as 2-3 people rent the unit and frequently have parties as large as 10.
As travelCity60763 correctly observed, we are not a Hilton resort. We are an Adirondack summer seasonal property. We know we are not for everyone. We strive to present our property as it really is by keeping our pictures and literature accurate and up to date. We try to answer inquiries openly and do encourage potential customers to look elsewhere if we feel we cannot meet their needs. We try to offer a quality waterfront experience and a comfortable facility and hospitality to families at modest cost. We strive to meet our guest’s expectations and to provide friendly and responsive service. Once again we apologize to travelCity60763 for not being able to meet his/her expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
13.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,537 reviews
8.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
237 reviews
12.3 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#10 of 88 in Lake George
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adirondack Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adirondack Park Motel

Property: Adirondack Park Motel
Address: 5680 Lake Shore Dr, Box 81, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-4513
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Adirondack Park Hotel Bolton Landing
Adirondack Park Motel Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing