We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We come back year after year....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adirondack Park Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Frederick MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We come back year after year....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a simple, nice place for people who love the woods, boats and water. We have stayed in the motel but much prefer the cabins out in the back. We bring a sailboat, and often rent a power boat. The docks, boathouse and lake swimming are the best anywhere! All the docks and boating accommodations are no extra charge. There are free canoes and rowboats to use. The boathouse is a stone and wood structure about 80-90 years old. The lake water is deep and very clean for swimming right off the docks, but there is also a new pool up at the top of the property near the motel. Jan and Gena have become our friends and have watched our kids grow up every summer. They are both very knowledgable about the lake, camping, hiking, activities etc. Jan is an experienced boater, and Gena knows everything about the local town. Yes the walk down to the lake is steep (100 steps) but you get in better shape after a few days. Check out the lake house; it is rustic but very nice. We think the negative review of this house is very inaccurate.

Room Tip: The motel is basic; go for the suites, or even better the cabins or the lake house;
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeFrederickMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

The best thing about this motel is the lake that it sits on. Nice dock. Nice place to hang out. Nice location on the lake away from the large boat traffic. If you have elderly people they will not be able to climb up and down to the dock. Everything else is dated. The "large" house that is for ten guests is one step up from camping. The pots, pans, dishes and utensils are a hodge podge of mixed matched Walmart rejects. The furniture may have been designed by a sadist. The living room could be nice in a rustic way. But the stuff in there may have been collected at the side of the road right before the garbage truck got there. The furniture was inadequate for the number of guests. The kitchen faucet had a broken sprayer which was needed. The fridge leaked water on the bottom all the time. 2nd floor basin clogged up, shower leaked through into kitchen. The shower was so small if you dropped anything you hit your head on the wall before you could pick it up. Ceiling fans in all the rooms, but some of them vibrated making sleep difficult. You trade in you old towels and toilet paper rolls for new ones by leaving it in the basket on the table off the kitchen. Screens didn't fit tightly on the windows allowing bugs to enter the cabin. We had a little pet mouse that lived where the fireplace met the ceiling. What's with the old aluminum ladder attached to the shed roof ?? Fire escape?? Old, lumpy pillows, old worn out mattresses.
I didn't expect the Hilton here, but this cabin should be upgraded and improved. Colonel Klink (our nickname), the proprietor of this motel, seemed friendly to some of the quests but I found he had a problem with communication. I know it's not an easy busy business. I know what kind of hard work goes into a business like this. You do have to put a percentage back into the buildings and grounds.

Room Tip: Go down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelCity60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveLakeGeorge_12, Owner at Adirondack Park Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
We first want like to thank travelCity60763 for his/her complements and appreciation for our location and waterfront facilities that he/she apparently enjoyed at Adirondack Park Motel. It is our primary objective to provide vacations for guests who are looking for a full waterfront experience (lake and pool swimming, fishing, complementary canoes, kayaks, rowboats, lake cruises, docking for customer boats) at one of the best waterfront locations on what is thought by many to be the Queen of American lakes.
Our property is on a hillside which can be seen in our web and brochure photos. The closest rental unit to the water (the Lake House) is over 100 feet away and uphill from the waterfront. While the hill may be an obstacle to those who have difficulty with stairs, it provides unmatched privacy for those at the waterfront and in the Lake House. Additionally, we do make a positive effort to discuss our hillside location with those who call for reservations.
We’d also like to sincerely apologize to travelCity60763 for failing to meet his/her expectations about the rest of our facility. Vacations are important for everyone and it is unfortunate we were unable to resolve travelCity70763’s difficulty with the pots and pans, kitchen sink sprayer, vibrating ceiling fan, clogged sink, and even the mouse, all of which are easily fixable and are some of the types of maintenance issues we handle on a regular basis. If he/she had chosen to speak to one of the owners, the office staff or even one of the housekeepers we would have promptly addressed and fixed any or all of them.
In fact, the refrigerator issue was brought to our attention on the date of arrival by the individual who rented the Lake House. We responded and apparently fixed the problem to her satisfaction. We also followed up the next day and were thanked for the follow-up and assured that the refrigerator was working satisfactorily. Additionally, we followed up two additional times later in the week with the person who negotiated the rental and were not made aware of any of the issues reported above by travelCity 60763.
With respect to some of the other items:
• The two showers are standard 30” wide fiberglass showers with shower curtains. When the shower curtains are not tucked in, water may get on the floor and in the case of the 2nd floor shower, may leak into the kitchen near the refrigerator. If the showers were too small for travelCity60763 we could have offered him/her a motel room, all of which have 48” wide fiberglass showers.
• Our mattresses are all purchased new from Serta. We do replace a portion of our mattresses on a scheduled basis. I’m sorry that travelCity60763 found them less than satisfactory, but we have no old or lumpy mattresses.
• The aluminum ladder on the side of the Lake House is a New York State Department of Health mandated fire escape and is permanently installed.
• The lake House is a 5 bedroom 2 bath facilities which is ideal for up to 8 people which is how we advertise it. To meet customer requirements we will permit up to 10 people because we recognize and respect that some family groups wish to stay together. Indeed we have had as few as 2-3 people rent the unit and frequently have parties as large as 10.
As travelCity60763 correctly observed, we are not a Hilton resort. We are an Adirondack summer seasonal property. We know we are not for everyone. We strive to present our property as it really is by keeping our pictures and literature accurate and up to date. We try to answer inquiries openly and do encourage potential customers to look elsewhere if we feel we cannot meet their needs. We try to offer a quality waterfront experience and a comfortable facility and hospitality to families at modest cost. We strive to meet our guest’s expectations and to provide friendly and responsive service. Once again we apologize to travelCity60763 for not being able to meet his/her expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We go every year. The rooms are not glamorous but they are neat and clean. The view of the lake is magnificant, the dock is a great place to hang out and talk, relax or fish. Jan and Gena are the warmest, most caring people you ever want to meet. They are incredibly helpful when it comes to asking about places to see and go to and they know everything there is to know about the Adirondacks.

If you're looking for Lake George action and loud parties, don't come here. Go to Lake George Village and hang out at a honky tonk hotel.

If you're looking for peace, quiet, relaxation with great people, come to this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bicyclemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

I really liked it . We arrived just after Labor Day and the place was very quite and peaceful (and cheap). A extra few dollars for a cottage was differently worth it.

There was canoes and Kayaks that you could use and the swimming in the lake was wonderful. There was also a free bar-be-que and a ping pong table that we enjoyed.

The owners and Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

I spent a few hours just sitting by the lake watching and listing to the nature around me

A great place to recharge

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wes_Phtttttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

stayed for a few days to unwind. quiet and clean but nothing special. no tubs if you want to soak & bathrooms too small. Only VHS players in the motel units but a decent library. Continental breakfast okay but very limited... however, there are some nice places to get a real breakfast in town. Don't drive by fast or you'll miss it, it comes up quickly as the property is small but runs down the length of the steep lakeside. Difficult to walk if you are elderly, very steep stairs. I think somewhat overpriced for what they offer. The "Mrs" is sweet but her husband is unfriendly and not at all welcoming. On a whole it isn't a bad place, but I would not return if we should decide to go to this region again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mintsnapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

When you first see Adirondack Park Motel you think it is a run of the mill motel. Not bad looking but average.
My wife and i spent one night there in July 2007 and stayed in the one bedroom, queen room.
They also have cabins and 2 bedrooms as well. Plus a very large lake front cabin.
Our room was average. The construction and furniture in the room seemed to be on the cheap end but i would guess that is average for a motel. There was also an odd smell, not particularly bad just peculiar in the room. My guess was that it was from a septic system, but i honestly don't even know if they use a septic system.
We had a queen sized bed, cable TV, VCR and mini fridge. Overall the room was pretty much what you would expect from a motel, at least what I expected from a motel.

The great thing though was the outside ammenities. First off they have a very clean pool. It isn't that big but a decent size and very clean and nice looking with lounge chairs etc.

The property was much larger than i thought. It goes all the way to the lake front. As we walked to the back, past the other rooms and cottages. You follow a nicely landscaped trail downhill towards the lake. Down there you see the large cabin as well as a beautiful boat house and dock. The boat house is available to all and we ate the continental breakfast provided to us down there. Beautiful. There are chairs, couch and fireplace.
On the floating docks are various things, kayaks, jet skis. I'm not sure if those items are extra money to use. Although you can swim from the docks!

I would recommend this motel.

  • Liked — The boat house and pool
  • Disliked — The hollow sounding floor and peculiar smell
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rman114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
13.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
3.0 mi away
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
12.3 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#14 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adirondack Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adirondack Park Motel

Property: Adirondack Park Motel
Address: 5680 Lake Shore Dr, Box 81, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-4513
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Adirondack Park Hotel Bolton Landing
Adirondack Park Motel Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing